We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem in Utah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Inn to your Saves list
Abbey Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   940 W. 200 North, Cedar City, UT 84720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Delta, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem in Utah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My Wife and I travel a lot and we had never been to Utah before. We wanted to visit Bryce canyon and Zion National park so we were dependant upon reviews from other travels on this site. Abbey Inn got great reviews and now we know why.

First off, it is very easy to get to, and very accessable to both parks.

The hotel offered a breakfast each morning, complimentary. This was not just danish and coffee, there were scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, bagles, the works. A very nice breakfast that would have cost an easy $10 a person anywhere else.

The room was very clean, king size bed, also very comfortable. The staff recommended a local restaurant which was superb as well and very reasonable.

My only negative was their hot tub was way too hot in the pool area, but that said, I still feel it was a tremendous bargain for the price. A hot tub is not going to make me change my opinion of a place one way or the other, just wanted to mention it.

On a scale from one to ten, I would give the Abbey Inn a "10"

We will definately go back when we take the grandchildren to the parks next year

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
We like to think we are a hidden gem. We would like to get that information out there!. Your comments are so great. Thank you for helping us spread the word! We look forward to your visit with the Grandkids!
We have had some problems with the hot tub, but have them fixed now. I am happy that you haven't let that keep you from us. Sometimes there are glitches along the way. We strive to correct them so that they won't happen to you, again.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    138
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
150
226
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We found the Abbey Inn through TA and the other reviews are spot on. Stayed for three nights. Nice comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. Very friendly staff that are more than willing to help with any request. Housekeeping was great. Good breakfasts in a little house at the end of the property. Indoor pool and hot tub felt great after long days hiking. Spa jets were not working while we were there, but it felt good to sit in the hot tub anyway. Would stay here again if we are out that way!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you, for the great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself. It is such a boost to hear such positive remarks. My staff works very hard to maintain the Abbey inn, in the best possible way. Our goal is to make the Abbey Inn, your home away from home. We hope we made this happen for you.
As far as the hot tub problems, it seems things always break on holidays or weekends when no one is around to fix it. But we have the jets working now! Hurray!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Car trouble heading back to Nevada, tow truck driver recommended this place. Desk clerk was awesome, very helpful and got us checked in quickly. Rooms were beautiful, clean, great amenities like coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, huge TV.

Indoor swimming pool kept 6 kids occupied as we dealt with the car repairs. Housekeeping and Front Desk very patient and helpful as we had to ask for a later checkout waiting for car assistance.

I would definitely stay in this motel again, it was truly awesome.

Oh, and the free breakfast was a nice added bonus. And the high speed FREE internet was invaluable allowing us to continue working while waiting for help.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Our whole staff was worried about you and your family. Nothing is worse than being out of town, with a broken car, in an unfamiliar area, with only a hope and a prayer that you can get home soon. Thank you, for the kind remarks about our staff. We are very happy that we were able to help you with whatever you needed.
We hope that your next stay with us will be for pleasure, only!
It is nice that you found your way to us, even if it was for a bad situation, so we were the people that were able to take good care of you. See you again, another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

After a rather disappointing B&B stay in town this hotel was really great. We stayed for 3 nights in two different king size rooms and were very comfortable. The heated pool was great, the hot-tub needs some maintenance. The breakfast was above the run of the mill and nicely served in a separate remodeled house. The exercise room had the right equipment for us. Everything at this property was very clean and tidy, including the laundry room. We appreciated that they let us use a coupon rate for three nights.

Room Tip: Find a coupon book and try to get that rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you!!! Your comments and thoughts mean a great deal to us. We are very happy that your stay was a good one. We apologize for the problems you had with the spa. We have looked into it and are finding a solution to fix it. Please come back and see us, again. We strive to improve our property and appreciate the comments and ideas we receive from our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

This motel is walking distance to mcdonald's playplace, and village inn. Kids eat free at village inn from 4-10 pm. We took advantage of that 2 nights in a row and it was great! The pool was clean and in a separate building, so ask for a room close to it. The rooms were luxurious for motel, with a big 42 inch flat screen tv. They had bath and bodyworks ammenities. I love the scent of the coconut lime soap.
The breakfast was great, with scrambled eggs and sausage, waffles, cereal, and even bisquets and gravy! Staff was the nicest I have encountered. Great job, Abbey Inn Cedar City!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stopped here after a long day of driving. Very clean. Nice sized rooms. Very quiet. Excellent breakfast. The best coffee we had in Utah.

Room Tip: Get a room on the east side of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We rate this establishment so high for a number of reasons. After three weeks of traveling we found the value for the money the highest, the location convenient for our purposes, a big TV, the cleanliness very good, the breakfast like a darned good homemade meal, the rooms so comfortable, and the sleep quality great. The Abbey is not the fanciest, the most modern, the most recent built nor does it have a thousand amenities but as you drive out their driveway you find yourself saying, "That was well worth the money!"

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
As always, we appreciate all the great comments we receive!! Thank you for your kind words. If there are any ideas you may have, to better our property, please let us know. Your opinion is the most important to us.
We strive to stay updated and improved. We are very blessed to have owners who care about the Abbey Inn. In this day, when the economy is having such a tough time, we try to find that place, where we can add value to your dollar, but also keep things looking nice and updated.
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again, soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Address: 940 W. 200 North, Cedar City, UT 84720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.