We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family tradition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzgerald's Shamrock Restaurant

Fitzgerald's Shamrock Restaurant
7701 Fitzgerald Road, Thurmont, MD 21788
301-271-2912
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Thurmont
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A family tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

It's become a family tradition for us to stop at the Shamrock on our way back from skiing at Roundtop for the day. The food is reliably good. The salad bar is fresh. The service friendly and fast. And it has a nice atmosphere. Over the years we've stopped in a lot of places along Route 15. This is the one that has stuck.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    58
    27
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Keep driving . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

After driving by the Shamrock for a decade on our way back to NOVA we finally decided to stop. What kind of Irish restaurant serves frozen french fries? Anyway, we had two average at best seafood entrees at way above average prices ($20 just for fish and chips here folks). Unimpressed at the price and don't get the fuss at all, but, as Thurmont goes, it probably is as good as it gets.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Farm to Fork Super Find Near Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

If you like to try local spots rather than do the regular chains, this is a must stop if you are near Gettysburg, PA. We just happened upon it after a day at Gettysburg and we were on the way home to Manassas. Very nice atmosphere and the impression is an Irish setting. We did not have reservations, but scored the best seat in the restaurant with no one near us. Our server knew what we needed and was very efficient about her business. Dinners include a very imaginative salad bar and fresh baked bread that you slice for yourself. for the entrees, my husband had halibut and I did fish and chips. Both were cooked well and presented nicely. The desert menu included fresh cakes and pies, but, alas, we were to full to try any. Would definitely stop there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cute stop, but crowded getting around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Cute stop, but very crowded inside. Hard to get around without bumping in to people and lot's. Too many tables too close together. Could barely get in and out of enterance. Will not go back. Salad bar was good. Our sandwiches were not, yuck. When we left we wanted to purchase an ornament. I could not find anyone willing to help us ring it up. Our waitress asked another waitress to ring us up and she said she did not have time! Really? Won't be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmitsburg, Md
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A Worthy Survivor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Today so many restaurants come and go ,open and close, It's great to see an old favorite still thriving after a half-century. A recent visit to the Shamrock reminded me of their landmark 50th. The bar and restaurant boast as unapologetic Irish atmosphere, a bit odd for very German Frederick County. They even feature all kinds of Irish imports near the cashier. Their food boasts a wonderful consistancy. Steaks are always very fresh and grilled to perfection. Cranberry Chicken is always a delight. Crabby Salad is a quirky luncheon treat. A particular feature in season is all the fresh vegetables right from the owners' garden. This Fitzgerald family is always on hand in the kitchen to see that standards are met. The fourth generation is now involved in the operation. Deserts are phenomenal; in particular the pies. Can't make it through a Winter without their mincemeat pie-clearly the best in Maryland.
Hard to find a flaw; perhaps the hostesses could be more gracious though the waitstaff is fine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzgerald's Shamrock Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fitzgerald's Shamrock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzgerald's Shamrock Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.