We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my best experience here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cozy Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurmont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cozy Country Inn
103 Frederick Rd - Route 806, Thurmont, MD 21788   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Thurmont B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Not my best experience here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I love to hike around the Catoctin area and we use the Cozy as a base for our adventure filled weekends. We had a great experience at the Cozy last year when we stayed in the Reagan Cottage. We found it clean and comfortable. However, after our experience this past weekend we may think twice about booking here again. We stayed in the Clinton suite which is the only room without a shower (didn't know this until we were informed upon check in). No shower wouldn't have been so bad if the jacuzzi tub would have had a faucet, but with only jets it was kind of impossible to wash up without actually filling up the tub. I found several hairs on my pillow which meant that the sheets probably had not been washed. There was also an overwhelming smell of mold. My boyfriend said it just smelled old and musty but I think it was definitely some kind of mold. Also, the stopper in the bathroom sink was broke so I had to remove it from the sink to drain the water. I'm not really a germ-a-phobe so things like hair and the sink drain I can live with...but the moldy smell was unacceptable. I really hope the owners fix this problem so that we can stay here again.

Room Tip: Reagan Cottage was wonderful! No shower in Clinton suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    7
    5
    17
See reviews for
16
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Cozy Country Inn for 1 night, this past weekend. Upon check- in the woman at the desk was not at all helpful and way less than friendly. She acted as if she was doing us a big favor by checking us in. When we entered the room, we felt like we were hit in the face with the smell of mold. We turned on the window AC unit and tried to air the room out, to no avail.
There was only one small lamp in our room and it barely gave enough light to dress by. At first this disturbed us, but after a while we decided that maybe this was a blessing as it hid things that we might not have wanted to see. The television did not work and the bathroom was barely large enough to turn around in. I honestly do not know how this place stays in business.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a wedding in Thurmont this past weekend and our family rented four rooms at the Cozy Country Inn. Dissapointment is an understatement. For starters the woman at the front desk was very snippy bordering on being rude. the hotel provided us one small bar of soap for three people When I asked for more it was like asking for the moon. She finally relented and gave us more soap. This is not the way to treat a hotel guest who you want to pay a return visit and recommend the establishment to others.

The room we stayed in which was a one room cottage smelled from mold. There was hole or deep depression beneath the carpet in the middle of the room. It was an accident waiting to happen. Two of my other relatives had other bad experiences with their rooms. One cousin had an near asthmatic attack from the mold and when she told them she had to leave, for health reasons, they would not refund her money. She left anyway.

What is very strange about this inn is that they have a restaurant right next door. It is clean, nice looking with historic ambiance and offers a buffet with 30 choices. The help in the restaurant are all nice and so eager to be pleasing . Its like day versus night compared to the Inn.

My recommendation is that if you have to stay in Thurmont, by all means go to the Cozy Country Inn restaurant for any of its meals but avoid the hotel at all costs until the owners decide to make the necessary repairs, upgrades and train their front desk help to be nice to the customers. .

Room Tip: Our family rented four rooms and no had a good thing to say about any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling, va
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Cozy Inn is nestled at the foot of the Catoctin Mountains in Thurmont, Maryland. It is near Camp David and political dignitaries have visited the Cozy in the past. The Rooms all named for Presidents or news media. My wife and I stayed in the Kennedy Room. A very very nice room. It has a huge king sized bed. My wife said it was the best bed she had ever slept in. The rooms also has a wet bar; a full size TV with all the cable channels;heated towel rack;Coffee maker;small refrigerator;fireplace(that we did not use since it was about 90 degress that day) and a nice big jacuzzi for two that we took full advantage. The rooms was very clean and not trace of anyone staying there before us. It was quiet area too and couldn't hear much of anything outside. It was such a nice getaway for us that we will probably go back quite a bit. Also is very affordable for what you get in return. Highly recommend for a nice couples getaway.

Room Tip: Choose the Kennedy Room or any room on the first floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a unique hotel in a beautiful part of the Maryland countryside near Camp David. Many rooms are designated to many past presidents and other dignitaries & press groups that visit the area. We stayed in the Rueter's Room. It was roomy & a close walk to the fine restaurant on the grounds. Great bed, & nice comfortable chair with automan. Gas fireplace was cozy & took the chill off on a spring evening. Nice breakfast included. Camp David Museum was interesting feature at restaurant.

Near enough to visit Gettysburg & Cunningham State park.

Room Tip: Look online to choose a presidential or specialty room that has peanuts for Carter room etc. Ours h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic weekend getaway. We were not expecting much due to the totally affordable rooms, but we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the Kennedy Suite and it was wonderful! The room was beautiful and the fireplace was visible from 3 sides so wherever you were in the room you could see it. The jacuzzi tub was awesome too! We also went to the fondue restaurant and were treated great and had a blast. Never thought I would want to go back to this area, but would just to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurmont
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

Stay somewhere else.Vicky aint got a clue on running a business.She wrote all the good reviews.Here reviews sound like commercials

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cozy Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cozy Country Inn

Also Known As:
The Cozy Country Hotel Thurmont
The Cozy Country Hotel
Thurmont Country Inn
Country Inn Thurmont
Address: 103 Frederick Rd - Route 806, Thurmont, MD 21788
Location: United States > Maryland > Thurmont
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thurmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cozy Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Cozy Country Inn to your Saves list