We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting zoo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catoctin Wildlife Preserve and Zoo

Catoctin Wildlife Preserve and Zoo
13019 Catoctin Furnace Road, Thurmont, MD 21788
301-271-4922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 11 things to do in Thurmont
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From macaws to monkeys, boas to bears, this zoo offers visitors a chance to get up-close-and-personal with many different animals.
Newton Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited the zoo while staying in the Catoctin area. It was a morning visit, and there were not many people. the animals were relaxed and seemed to enjoy their surroundings. I was a very nice way to spend the morning.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    18
    19
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A fun day for the family! Small but diverse selection of animals to see. Seemed like it could use a renovation soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbutus, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst ZOO!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Worst zoo I have ever been too. If you like animals at all DO NOT go there it will make you sad. Animals had no water, cages very small, animals not groomed. Awful experinece they should get closed down.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonsboro, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Go to the FREE National Zoo Instead!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went in mid-March so the overall landscape was poor. Dead grass, dead plants and clogged ponds/streams. The wesite listed two animals that were still in hibernation but when we arrived and started walking through, noted over 8. :( Many unkept habitats that were abandoned. The safari was closed and large roped off contruction areas blocked the views of several areas. It is overpriced. Food areas were all closed. Bathroom were NASTY. Wrote a complaint letter to the zoo but never heard back. Would never go again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small fun zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I took my family of 5 there during the spring. My kids enjoyed it aging from 1-9. It was not cheap, but there is a 7 Eleven near there that carry coupons for the place, which can help you save some bucks. My small one enjoy the petting farm, food for that needs to be purchased at the entrance. There was a camel ride that my older boys enjoyed, of course there was a charge for that .There aren't as many animals to see as the national zoo in D.C but if you don't like large crowds or want to walk for miles this is a good place for the kids. There was a safari route ride that we didn't go o on, the fee for each person was a little too pricey for us. Fun to take a picnic basket and have lunch there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catoctin Wildlife Preserve and Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Catoctin Wildlife Preserve and Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catoctin Wildlife Preserve and Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.