We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 4th - We stayed here when we visited Gettysburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurmont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort
Save Saved
You added Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort to your Saves list
12806 Mink Farm Rd, Thurmont, MD 21788   |  
Hotel amenities
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“July 4th - We stayed here when we visited Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our cabin, Hidden Creek, was clean and well appointed with the needed items. The resort was quiet and the scenery was beautiful. We thought we would bike around on the roads and trails, but they were too steep for us. We were only actually at the Resort for a few hours every night, but we were able to swim in the 'beach access' pool, which you would love if you have toddlers. My 10 and 12 year old kids really liked it too. The hours on the pool were told to us to be 10am to 8pm, which I was afraid would be a little limiting for us but it turned out to be ok. There is a private fishing pond off a little foot path that is marked with signs and has a little map, but we were frightened back to the beautifully manicured gardens and play areas of the Resort by a snake in the pond. The owners and staff are friendly and hard working. The yard features nice little things to do like basketball and horse shoes. It's a beautiful drive to Gettysburg, and we opted for this rather than staying in an old hotel in a town that features 'ghost stories' all over the place. Finally, I noticed that he bedrooms were dark and quiet for sleeping while the living area was bright and sunny.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oleminkfarm, Owner at Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We take pride in the appearance and maintenance of our resort, and we appreciate the kind comments. We hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages last fall for several days. The resort is nice, being a combination of cottages, long term trailer vacation homes and buildings for entertainment. The area is well maintained and our cottage was immaculate. We enjoyed relative seclusion since it was off-season. I imagine during the summer months it would be less quiet, but still a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages are more distant from the trailer vacation homes that people own, so one of tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oleminkfarm, Owner at Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We were delighted to host your fall getaway! We are pleased to hear that our facilities met your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our cabins and grounds. Thanks for noticing! We appreciate your feedback. Please let us know if we can help you with your next getaway to Ole Mink Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I wanted to take a trip with our dogs that would allow us some alone time and allow them to run and play. We found that trip at Ole Mink Farm! We booked a one bedroom cabin, but when we arrived, we were upgraded to a two bedroom (Sunny Maple) A-frame! We made an outside campfire, we hiked on the trails by the river, the dogs played in the fenced in dog-park. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed. We can't wait to go back in later in the Spring! We spent two nights there and never needed to leave the campground (we brought our own food to cook). When we go back, we are going to visit some of the MANY state parks that surround the area. Such a fun place to be and only an hour from our home in Columbia, MD!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oleminkfarm, Owner at Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our cabin with others. We appreciate your feedback! We love to hear from our guests with pets. We understand that pets are family and try to make them as welcome as our human guests. Spring and Summer are great seasons to visit our area. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in the Phenix(the way the name on the cabin is spelled on the website), for the Easter Weekend. Overall, a great stay in a nice, warm, clean cabin. There are only two things I didn't care for in this stay, which I will go over later in this review.

The Campground:
The campground is a smaller one that is a little packed. It is an RV park, and the RVs are close together on a hillside. There are several cabins from 1 to 4 bedroom. The bathroom facilities attached to the office building are clean and nice. There is a electronic keyed gate as you come into the campground making it so not just anyone can get in, but you can come and go as you please.

The Cabin:
Our Phenix cabin was very nice indeed, with attention made to the smaller details like plenty of wood for the natural, wood burnig fireplace, as well as kindling and fire starters. The entire hexegonal cabin was well setup, clean, and had everything you need. A nice large bathroom, a large shower stall that gave you a hot shower, a fully equiped kitchen with pots and pans, microwave, gas range, full size refridgerator, and picnic like dinning table.

The living room was very nicely decorated, had a nice comfortable futon with pillows and such, a smaller, flat panel tv with cable, and a wood burning fireplace.

Two smaller bedrooms that were very comfortable.

There was base board electric heat in every room of the cabin.

The cabin also had a very nice screened in porch that we didn't get to use, as well as a nice area out back with chairs and a fire ring.

The town of Thurmont:
This is a very small little town, with no really nice restaurants we could find. However, it did have a nice Weiss grocery store, as well as the standard fast food places like, McDonalds, Taco Bell, Wendys, and Roy Rogers. There are a few restaurants but they aren't much to write home about.

Catoctin Mountain Park:
This park, as well as the Frederick water shed woods that attach to Catoctin Mountain are by far some of the nicest woods within 30 miles of Westminster, MD. The Appalacian Trail runs right through the park area, and there is a nice, state run campground down Catoctin Hollow road with a big lake, the Cunningham Falls State Park, and even a Catoctin Zoo, if you get tired of hiking.

The campground is run by the owners who tell me they have had that campground for the last 48 years. The owners as well as thier sun were very nice people, and they gave us great, friendly service.

Be aware, they do take a 50 dollar refundable deposit upon checkin, which they send back to you 15 days after your stay.

All considered a very nice stay, that I would love to do again in the summer!

Check out the link below to see a vide log, and I will attach some pictures.

There were only two things I didn't care for.
1. The Drop ceilings in the bedrooms, although there was nothing wrong with them, wood would have been nicer.
2. There was a hole in the shower stall above the shower spicket, but that wasn't an issue either

The pictures are below
http://www.pbase.com/markcas/ole_mink_farm

My video review is also below
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qaUSV9nHT4&feature=youtu.be

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oleminkfarm, Owner at Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort. We are happy to hear that your stay met your expectations! We appreciate you sharing your perspective of our resort. We take pride in our Family Owned Campground and strive to provide a peaceful mountain getaway experience for all to enjoy!

We thank you for making us aware of the issue in the shower. We were unaware that the shower fixture had shifted, and that issue has already been fixed. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention!

Frederick County offers many opportunities for visitors to enjoy. We are glad that you discovered some of the many activities available to our guests! If you decide to return in the summer, you will find that the campground portion of our resort disappears behind the blanket of foliage. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

My(now)fiancé and I stayed at the Hide and Seek cabin for a weekend in September and it was absolutely lovely. He informed the owners when making the reservation that he would be proposing to me that weekend and they made sure that everything was ready for us.

The cabin was clean, very cozy, and well stocked. Everything you need for a romantic getaway. The owner was so nice, on the first night when we couldn't figure out how to get the DVD player to work he came over and got it started for us. They also give you a cute little bag of fresh homemade cookies when you first check in. We enjoy small, personal touches like that. There is a quaint little surrounding town if you would like to venture out but if you choose to stay in, this charmin little cabin has everything you need. We plan to go back every year now!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oleminkfarm, Owner at Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are always excited to be a part of a special life event, such as an engagement. Congratulations again! We are pleased to hear that your stay was a time to remember. We take pride in our clean cabins and surroundings. Thanks for noticing! We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a beautiful slice of heaven! We spent 3 days there for Christmas eve & Christmas day and enjoyed it soooo much! It's so quiet and cozy. Yeah, it was cold outside, but inside we were cozy with our fire going. Well stocked kitchen for cooking meals, cute furnishings in keeping with the "cabin" theme. We brought both our dogs and all of us had a great time. The small fenced in area for the dogs was great because it was close to our cabin (Hidden Springs) and we took them there to let them run loose. Great area for walking and close to two state parks for hiking & fun. We will be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Hidden Springs was our cabin. It's out of the way and away from other cabins. We loved it becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

After dropping my daughter off at a near by summer camp, spent a delightful weekend with girlfriends in the "Phenix" cabin. Clean, quiet, good use of space...Debbie and her family were wonderful hosts! Big pool, general store with the very basic basics. Close to Cunningham State Park and Mountain Gate Family Restaurant (save room for the pie!) if you are looking for excitement, wrong place. And regarding the campers, they are under year long leases and the campees decorate their areas with nice lighting and kitschy signage. We were sad to leave!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort

Address: 12806 Mink Farm Rd, Thurmont, MD 21788
Location: United States > Maryland > Thurmont
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Thurmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over four decades, Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort has been family owned and operated. Private luxury log cabins, log cabinettes, yearly leased campsites, and a rental hall located in the Catoctin Mountains. Seclusion so close to home! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ole Mink Farm Recreation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.