We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for quick trip to NYC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Manhattan to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Manhattan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Brit Abroad
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good for quick trip to NYC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my parents- we got one room and there was plenty of space for all of us and all our luggage! We were in NYC for 3 days and this hotel suited us fine as we only needed the room. It is definitely no frills - breakfast is a help yourself affair, a bit like a very small cafeteria. It is very basic which is fine, but when you are joined by various homeless people looking for a free breakfast who get in when the bell hop guy isn't looking, it does make you wonder about the secuirty of the place.
The room itself was clean and we didn't hear anything from any other rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was all in working order. And the location is excellent.
So all in all, not bad at all for the price you pay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear JuneBaby78,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced in our breakfast room. We are aware that a person tried to sneak into the breakfast room, and in a matter of a few minutes was escorted away. While this is a rare occurrence, we are in New York City, and are prepared for any such occurrences. Further, with a view to providing the best possible security for all guests our hotel is under 24 hour video surveillance and any suspicious person can be immediately identified. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon again!
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    695
    257
    87
    113
See reviews for
334
495
132
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Stayed here 9/25-9/28 on an East Coast trip. First time for four of us in New York Ciity. We looked for something affordable our standards vs New York standards. The room was small as we expected it to be. No frills. Major job getting all the luggage to fit and us to be able to walk around. It was clean and we met the maid who was friendly. Had a view of the office building next store. They really need to clean out their storerooms. The doorman was friendly and helpful. We had a car. Only tourists have a car. Small unloading area in front. The area is Korean with food to match. A member of our party will not eat exotic food. As someone else has said, the staff could not recommend a restaurant, but I found several on the next block. Burger King, McDonalds, Wendy's, Starbucks and a restaurant I cannot remember the name. In the other direction there is a KFC and Roy Rogers. There is also a CVS pharmacy and Walgreens in the next block in the Empire State Building. We found New Yorkers are very tight with their information. The hotel is close to the Empire State building. We went up to the small bar on the roof to see it. The free breakfast is mainly bread, donuts toast, cereal and Waffles. Very small and crowded. The elevator is small and always crowded. Went sight seeing on the double decker bus and saw a show. Took taxis.. The E ticket ride. . New York City was a real culture shock. I don't know how people live in constant traffic and crowded streets at all hours. The hotel was good for tourists looking for a cheaper place to stay. We survived our first trip. I felt fairly safe here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear Phoenix52,
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience with us! While we offer a complimentary breakfast, it is Continental and consists of fresh fruits, juices, tea/coffee, oatmeal, bagels, muffins, donuts, 3 kinds of cereals, two kinds of bread, brown and white, along with yoghurt, and the necessary preserves, cream cheese and butter. The overwhelming majority of our guests consider La Quinta Manhattan to be a “great value for money” with competitive prices compared to other hotels. Also, our rooms are considered larger than most hotels in NYC. Nevertheless, if you feel the room is not big enough, for a small incremental ($15), you can upgrade from a standard room to a deluxe king, which is a substantially larger room. We apologize if you were not given the information you required regarding restaurants. However, as you noticed, we are literally surrounded by restaurants of all types in every direction. Thank you again for staying with us!
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I have to admit that I was shocked about the hotel prices (altough being used to London standards) when looking for a hotel in Manhattan and booked the La Quinta based on location and price.

Even though the hotel and the rooms are slightly dated the hotel is excellent value for money: the location is right in the middle (metro just a 2min walk away), the room and bathroom was tidy and clean and the breakfast a good start into the day.

Pick up from JFK was $17 pp and you are there within about 20mins.

I enjoyed staying in the La Quinta in and can recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

After checking out of our dodgy upper west side hotel, my partner and I walked the streets of Nyc to find a decent and reasonably priced hotel. We stumbled across la quinta! Great price for the holiday season and amazingly located, it's all we could have asked for our first time in Nyc.
Down the road from Madison square garden, round the corner from 5th ave and the empire state building and walking distance to macy's and times square.
The room it self was very comfortable and was cleaned throughly by the same girl everyday.
The staff were exteremely friendly and we didn't have any issues throughout the entire 11 day stay.
Free internet and a roof top bar to relax and have a drink with views of the empire state building and not to mention a 24 hr street (korea lane) all the restaurants stay open throughout the night for when you get the midnight muchies.
I would stay at this hotel every time I go back to Nyc and I would (and have) recommended it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear Frequent_flyer1989,
Thank you very much for your kind words! We appreciate the time you have taken to let us and other travelers about your wonderful experience at the La Quinta Manhattan. We will also pass your review on to our staff who will be thrilled to hear that they participated in making your stay a pleasant one.
Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you soon again!
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris, france
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Just for one night in NY on business I booked at La Quinta Inn as I expected a centrally-located, low-cost hotel (still, NY being NY low cost means at least $200 a night...). Well, centrally-located it is, but that's all! Greetings and smiles at reception surely come optional and staff proved totally unable to suggest a few restaurants in the neighborhood apart from the ubiquitous Korean BBQs. The room was no better: I ended up in a ridiculously tiny room where 95% of the living area was filled by the bed and which was in dire need of urgent refurbishment. I was lucky that I did not need A/C or heating as the antediluvian equipment seems essentially designed to produce noise and blowing air in the curtain above the bed. Bathroom is OK as long as you're patient enough to wait for hot water in the shower. The complimentary breakfast is in line with the rest of the hotel: in a filthy canteen downstairs you can enjoy a bowl of cornflakes and instant coffee in a styrofoam cup... This is the last time I go to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear pic68,
Thank you for your feedback! We are very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay, and that you did not inform anyone about this. As you mentioned, we are centrally located with very competitive pricing. We also offer a range of other services for free. These include Wireless internet access, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary use of business center and exercise room, complimentary kiosk for flight and hotel check in. Bar, restaurant and concierge facilities are all also available on premises. As such, an overwhelming majority of our guests finds us to be a great value for money. Nevertheless, we sincerely apologize if you felt differently. Our staff is trained to be as helpful and pleasant as possible and we are disappointed to hear that they failed you. Please feel free to contact the General Manager at the property to discuss your experience further.
Thank you!
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We arrived in New York at the end of September and took a yellow cab to La Quinta. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful concierge who took our bags in for us.
Check-in was quick and simple. The room was clean(ish) and tidy and had all the mod cons we required (tv, hairdryer, ipod dock, kettle and safe).
The carpets looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a long time but apart from that the room appeared clean and well looked after.
The breakfast supplied in the hotel was superb - the best I've experienced. You can have anything from bagels and iced donuts to yoghurts and fresh fruit. All in plentiful supply.
The location of the hotel was one of the key selling points and didn't disappoint, it is excellently located one block across from the Empire State building in Manhattan.
Another nice surprise in the hotel was the rooftop bar, upon which you sit in the shadow of the Empire State building. Incredible. There is a chilled out atmosphere in the bar and you are supplied with popcorn which is a nice extra touch.
If I'm ever lucky enough to return to New York I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed here with 3 other friends and the only thing that let this hotel down was when we came home one night we found a used syringe on our bathroom floor. I immediately went down to front reception to tell them and they came up to remove the syringe and told me to come back in the morning to speak with their general manager. When I did I was completely shocked with the way he handled the matter. He said it was highly unusual and had never happened in his 5 years at the hotel. He then proceeded to drag the cleaner into the room so we could question her to see what her reaction was to see if she was telling the truth. This in itself was very unprofessional. He basically said he could not believe it was one of his staff so when we questioned how else it could have happened his response was "well why dont you tell me". I lost all respect at this point as he was inferring that we were drug users or had planted the syringe ourselves. What sort of General Manager stands there blaming the guests of the hotel when we were clearly upset by what we had found. He then had the nerve to say "if your toilet was broken, we would fix it and in this case the syringe was removed so tell me what else would you like me to do". We responded by saying that "an apology might be nice"!! He said he had apologised to which I pointed out that his reaction to the whole situation was to tell us that it was highly unusual and had never happened before and then proceeded to blame us. He responded by saying "well I am sorry then"....a little late for that after his handeling of the situation!! The General Manager (Victor) was the rudest person I have ever dealt with and put a damper on the whole experience. How he made it to that level of management with the attitude he showed us is beyond me!! I would not recommend staying here if this is the way they treat their guests!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Dear travelnowgirlie,
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor! While we regret the incident and sincerely apologize for it, we can assure you that it is most unusual and has never happened before. However, we did respond immediately to your call, and we were able to remove and dispose of the packed, sealed, syringe securely. It was never a threat to anyone as it was unused. As yet, it remains unclear if the syringe was brought in during a prior stay or yours. Nevertheless, we are disappointed that, despite our prompt remediation of the matter without you carried out your stated intention to post poor reviews for our hotel if we did not agree to make your entire stay complimentary. We showed you our camera recordings lock reports and proved to you that no one had been in your room. Even after this, you continued to accuse the housekeeper, a long-time dedicated employee at which point our General Manager had no choice but to have her present to inform you that she had cleaned the room and there was nothing there at the time. Again, we regret that the incident occurred and as you know, we did compensate you for the inconvenience. Once again we sincerely apologize and we would be happy to discuss this matter further with you.
Thank you!
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.