We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Manhattan to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Manhattan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Scary location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Although this hotel is relatively close to some great sights I would not go back there because it is in a very dirty and sketchy area, although the hotel itself was decent, the front staff was rude and the "breakfast" was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Richard A,
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is located in Little Korea on 32nd Street, which is convenient to many other sights and subway lines. Unfortunately, we have no control over how dirty the sidewalks may appear. However, we can assure you that the area is not sketchy and is in fact very safe. It is a vibrant street where many of the restaurants are open 24/7.
Our front desk staff is trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible, but we are sorry you found them rude. We will continue to work with them to better our guests’ experiences. We also continually reevaluate our free breakfast to make improvements there as well.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    680
    248
    85
    113
See reviews for
331
478
131
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We didn't arrive to NYC until Saturday night so decided to stay somewhere on the cheaper side since we weren't going to be there long. This hotel does not even justify as a cheap hotel, it was downright awful. From the minute we walked in the door we had a horrible experience. The lady at the front desk was completely rude, we asked to have an extra room key, they told us that an additional fee. I have never had to pay for an additional room key. The elevators are beyond slow, so once we finally got to our room, it was another disappointment. The lady at the front desk told us we had one of their nicer rooms, needless to say, let's hope she was lying. Our room was so small we could barely roll in our suitcases. There was minimal space to walk if you had luggage and the air-conditioning made horrible noises. We decided to clean up, another mistake, the shower pressure was awful. We tried to go up to the rooftop bar because we had heard great things about it, once we finally got on the elevator to go up there it was so small there were no places to sit and we stood at the bar waiting to be served for over 15 minutes before we left. When finally got a few hours of sleep but woke up in the morning with bites all over our legs. We decided to call our other hotel and get an early check in so that we could start enjoying our time in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear IM1315,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you were not happy with your stay. Our staff is trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible and we will continue to work with them to ensure that all guests receive excellent customer service. All of our guest rooms were recently renovated. Our rooms vary in size somewhat, but most are pretty typical of hotel room sizes found in Manhattan. We apologize for any inconvenience. Our rooftop bar is popular with guests and locals alike and offer stunning views of the Empire State Building.
We have not received any recent complaint from guests about bites and we wish you had told us. We take any suspicions of bed bugs very seriously and always investigate a room that could possibly be infected.
We hope you will give us another chance in the future to impress you.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I will start by saying that usually I have nothing but love for La Quinta hotels in general. I have stayed in a few and am usually happy with the place. Which is why when my parents and I were looking for a place to stay in NYC I suggested this hotel. BIG MISTAKE.
It started the day of arrival, July 8. We were coming into town after a 9 hour drive from Maine. We were exhausted and were looking forward to a comfortable room and bed. We knew that NYC would be busy and were somewhat unsure of what to expect when we arrived at the hotel. When we found the hotel, we were surprised that there was no place for patrons checking in to park and unload. We dropped my dad off to go in and check in while I drove around the block (which is no easy feat in NYC). When I came back around, my dad was out and already upset. Apparently, we were directed to park in the Public Parking garage and we would have to unload there. This garage was not across from the hotel and not convenient for we had to drive around the block AGAIN. My mother is not ambulatory and has to use a wheelchair, so we had to push her as well as all our luggage from the garage to the hotel. We were told that a handicapped room was not immediately available, but that if we wanted to change rooms the next day we could. Mind you, we made these room reservations over a month in advance. My dad told them there were 3 people occupying the room and was then told that the room only had a King bed but that we could add a roll away bed for an extra charge. We declined
Our room was on the second floor. It was a closet! Very small, especially for someone who has limited mobility and must use a wheelchair. If this was the size of the room with 2 beds, we figured the handicapped room with one bed would be the same and then where would the roll away bed go??
The next day, we were going to sightsee. The bellman was very helpful when it came to using the motorized lift for the wheelchair. Everything was fine. We came back around 3pm and pulled up to the lift where we were told it had been disabled by another patron. The bellman and maintenance were accommodating and provided a portable ramp. They helped push the chair up and it was fine. However, we got up to our room and it had not been cleaned! We were gone for 8 and a half hours. We were too tired to move out for the cleaning lady when she did show up, around 3:30, so we just asked her to leave us towels and toilet paper. Which she did.
On our last day, we had another day of sightseeing planned. The automatic lift still had not been repaired, so they had to use the portable ramp again. Again, we were gone all day (8 hours) and upon our return our room had not been cleaned! We left our room and waited in the lobby for 40 minutes while our room was attended to.
On our day of checkout, was the final straw. The desk crew were very rude and unfeeling when it came time to check out. When my dad asked if they validated for the parking, he was told no that he was responsible for the $40 a day parking fee! This was NOT made clear to him when we checked in nor was it indicated on the hotel website.
On top of everything else, the A/C in the room was ridiculous. There was no happy medium. Your room had to be either too hot or too cold. The only view out the window was above the trash cans, I think, so the room was very dark even with the lights on.
This La Quinta was quite the disappointment. From the Front Desk, to the room size, to the cleaning staff, to the A/C. The only plus was the bellman (unfortunately I didn't catch his name). He went out of his way to make sure my mom was able to enter and exit the hotel as easily as she could with her wheelchair and for him, we were grateful.
I would not and will not recommend this hotel to anyone. This will not deter me from staying at other La Quintas, just not this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Heidi W.
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear about your disappointing stay. Manhattan is a busy area, so there is not much room to park on the street for long periods of time. Upon check-in, we did offer you valet parking, which would have saved you the trouble of walking from the garage with your luggage. We also offered you an accessible king bed room, which you declined. The room you were placed in is one of our larger rooms. Hotel rooms in Manhattan can run on the small side, but most of ours are about average, though they do vary somewhat in size.
We’re sorry your room was not cleaned when you came back from sightseeing. You can always request that your room be cleaned earlier and it will become a priority for the housekeeping staff. Our staff has many rooms to clean especially when we are sold out. However, we apologize for this inconvenience.
The parking rate for an SUV is $40 per day, which the guests are responsible for themselves. This is clearly stated on the website and in our welcome letter. It is a reduced rate from their typical day rates.
The majority of our guests are very happy and satisfied with their stay. We offer comfortable, clean accommodations in a great location in an expensive city. In addition, we offer free breakfast, wi-fi, and domestic phone calls, which isn’t something you’ll see in all Manhattan hotels.
We hope you will reconsider us for any future trips to New York.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

La Quinta Inn Manhattan located in the Koreatown which is very convenient. We only travelled with backpack and carry-on luggage, so we took the LIRR from Jamaica Center to Penn Station and then walk 15 minutes to the hotel. 34St-Herald Station is just around the corner with subway trains that take us to the Central Park and Time Square. We even walked back to the hotel from Time Square and from Chelsea. Macy's, H&M, Empire State Building are just behind us on 34th St.

Front desk staff are very helpful and welcoming. We were greeted by the staff in the hallway and at the entrance. Our room was clean. The lobby and breakfast area are modern and comfortable. We asked the cleaning staff not to clean our room on the second day and she even asked if we need any toilet supplies.

I have to agree with some contributors about the elevator wait especially during breakfast hours and evening when the pub opens at 5pm.

If you are AAA member, make sure to book with your special rate. The room rate that we paid is relatively less than the hotels in the same area. With free breakfast, free WIFI and central location, it is definitely a steal.

Room Tip: We heard car honking from our room at around 1am and after. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Have just left here after a 3 day stay. Cannot fault the hotel in anyway. Had a huge room on the second floor, 2 queen beds with plenty of extra room to move around. Nicely updated with a big closet and great bathroom. Hotel is in Korea Town and close to everything. Great location. Tom at the front desk was wonderful. Breakfast was good. Beautiful view from the rooftop bar. I would definitely recommend La Quinta Manhattan to anyone coming to the city, great price and again AWESOME!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first time visiting New York, and although we didn't have any trouble getting to where we thought the hotel was, it was a little hard to find because of the size and location of sign. Then parking was another adventure-as there is none downtown. The parking garage was across the street before the hotel, and of course everything goes one way. The hotel was very nice, staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was nice and clean. Very conveniently located to everything! We stayed two nights and it was perfect for what we had planned on this part of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I only stayed here one night. The person that checked us in was rude. Our room was so small you had to open your suitcases on the bed. OK for a cheap place to stay. It had a rooftop bar that had a nice view. It was crowded, loud and difficult to find a place to sit but had a nice view. The breakfast was not very appetizing. Our room was by the ice machine. The people in our hallway was using the machine and partying in the hallway until 4 am.

Room Tip: Noisy place too stay Rooms too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear 871Louise,
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you were not pleased with your stay. Our front desk staff is trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible and we will continue to work with them on making our guests feel more welcome. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by noisy guests. We encourage guests to report noise/partying to the front desk so that we can work to resolve the issue.
We are certainly more than just a cheap place to stay in the city. We provide an excellent value for our guests by including free breakfast, wi-fi, and domestic phone calls, which isn’t something you will see in all Manhattan hotel rooms. We hope you will reconsider us for your next visit to New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.