We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Manhattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Manhattan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 449 hotels in New York City
Tasmania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Location and Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Chose La Quinta for our 5 night stay in September based on location, price (on a discount website) and TA reviews and we were very happy with the choice. Although there is a lot of construction, hence scaffolding etc, in the street out front and still apparently renovations going on in the foyer, neither bothered us too much. Neither did the frequently mentioned slow lifts or crowded breakfast room - it does pay to eat early though. Breakfast was basic but quite adequate and a staff member was in attendance to replenish breakfast foods as required. Included breakfast is a bonus for a city hotel these days, I think. The lifts are small and there are busy times I'm sure - just didn't happen to be a hassle when we needed a lift.
Location is very close to the Herald Square subway station which we used as our point of entry to the subway when we weren't exploring on foot. Plenty of restaurants and fast food outlets close by, either in the Penn Station direction or round the corner on 5th Avenue. Speedy's deli is very close and a reasonable priced option for a quick meal. We also ate at Cafe Martinique, just around the corner near the subway entrance - one time was at midnight after our nighttime viewing from the Empire State Building!
The rooftop bar is a great spot for a night time glimpse of the Empire State Building although it does get very crowded and the drinks are quite expensive. We don't like cigarette smoke and there were a few smokers on the terrace when we visited but it is nice to sit out on a balmy evening.
As previously mentioned, the bedrooms and ensuites are small but have all the essentials for the short time you spend in your room. Our room was on the 6th floor and very quiet and clean with a very comfortable bed. Staff were friendly and accommodating and we could not have been happier with our stay at La Quinta.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    585
    226
    79
    109
See reviews for
293
400
123
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

On a post-retirement trip down the east of US starting off in New York last week, chose La Quinta through Tripadvisor reviews and central location. We were not disappointed. The location was perfect for our arrival and departure from Penn Station as well as walking distance to many attractions. The room was small but clean and well-appointed with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! The bathroom was also very small but well-thought out with an excellent shower. The hotel was fully booked when we were there but we never had to wait more than a few minutes for a table at breakfast and that was usually around 8.00-8.30. The rooftop bar was expensive but fun, all in all a very positive experience and one we would be happy to repeat. All I would add would be that it was very noisy at the front of the hotel due to building work which seemed to be going on all over New York while we were there but ear plugs helped!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Marketing & E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Joan F,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed New York as well as the other places you visited on your trip. We recently renovated the guest rooms and bathrooms, so we’re happy to hear that you were satisfied. Hotel rooms in New York tend to be on the smaller side, but the majority of our rooms are about average size for New York hotel rooms. We are currently in the process of expanding the lobby and breakfast room, which should be complete by January, so if you visit us again after then, you hopefully won’t have to wait at all for a table at breakfast.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our first stay at La Quinta Inn, down the block from our usual hotel at less than half the price. We were there for two nights. It's a great location, on hopping Korea Town (32nd St between Broadway and 5th Ave). The rooms have been recently renovated, and the lobby is still under renovation. Our room was an adequate size, as was the bathroom. Nothing fancy, and no view, but clean, well lit, comfortable and quiet. AC worked well. The bath amenities were basic, but the water pressure was good. Our room had 2 luggage racks (they get it!) and an in room safe. The breakfast was pretty unremarkable, but OK, and how many NYC hotels even provide breakfast? The lobby got crowded and the elevators were slow when a large tour group checked in, but at all other times there was no problem. The front desk staff and bellhop were very accommodating.

All in all, this hotel was a bargain for NYC, in a great location and more than adequate for our needs. There are lots of Korean restaurants nearby, and a great, reasonably priced little French Bistro, Petit Poulet, located in the Radisson hotel on the corner of 32nd and Broadway. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We'd read that the higher floors can be noisy due to the rooftop lounge. We asked for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed one night at the La Quinta which is an older type building that has had some remodelling.

The foyer is small and with a couple of lounges and not much else to sit on

The desk service was good ( Tom) but the elevators (2) servicing 12 floors were a bit slow especially when people were checking out, so allow time to get to the ground floors especially if you have cases.

The front room room we had was a reasonable size for New York, bathroom a bit small but not a real problem.

Probably the best thing the hotel has going for it is the position between 5th Avenue and Broadway and about 200 metres from the Empire State building and other attractions such as Madison Square Gardes and Maceys department store

Hotels are not cheap in New York we paid over $300 Aus but it was satisfactory for our short stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Awesome location. Less than 5 minutes walk to Empire State building. Almost everything that you want to see in Manhattan is just within walking distance. If you don't feel like walking, there's a nearby subway station as well. The room was clean and the bed is quite comfy. Good value for money.

The breakfast area is a bit small and it gets really crowded from 8:30- 10:00. They could also consider changing the breakfast menu as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Room size was adequate, had everything we needed. Good value for NYC. Breakfast area is too small but renovations are underway. And a good pair of ear plugs can even make NYC quiet. I don't leave home without them. If my next trip requires me to be on a similar budget I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Manhattan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LaQuinta, Tingo, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.