We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Affordable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Manhattan to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Manhattan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Easthampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful and Affordable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

After cancelling some reservations at other hotels around the areas based on reviews here, I ended up picking this hotel and I am so glad I did! This hotel is located in such a perfect part of the city! Only a 5 minute walk from the subway that takes you right up to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, and Central Park or down to Chinatown! Just a 5 minute walk from the Penn Station too! There is a Hmart two stores down to pick up some cheaply priced water and other goods that are fairly priced than around the city.
I brought my mom here for her first time to NYC and we were in room 614, which was facing the road. I was a little worried about that but it was actually really quiet once I put the AC on. We got the king size bed and the room was so clean and just the perfect size for the two of us. Check in/out was super fast and we were able to store our luggage for free when we got into the city (10am) and after we checked out until we had to catch the train back home (5pm).
The staff was able to give us quick, pleasant and accurate answers and everyone we spoke to (luggage holder/house keeping) were extremely friendly and polite.
The breakfast was great and worth the 5 minutes of struggling with getting food with 20 other people. We had to eat in the lounge area because the small dinning area was full (8am) but that was alright because again, the selection and food was great! And free!
Elevators were pretty busy during the morning so we used the stairs. It's pretty expected and we were only on the sixth floor so that was alright for us! Good cardio!
My mom and I don't drink but we took advantage of going to the bar on the rooftop and saw the Empire all lit up! It was pretty amazing! We also looked at the menu and their prices are pretty amazing, cheaper than they are at home!

All in all, this was one of the best hotels I have stayed in for the price. I am totally coming back here for when my friend visits NYC for the first time this winter! Can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    695
    257
    87
    113
See reviews for
334
495
132
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was in town with my boyfriend for an overnight stay while attending the Muse concert at Madison Square Garden. Not only was the location great (Only 2 blocks from Penn Station and MSG), but upon arrival, the woman was very pleasant and welcoming. She made a great suggestion for dinner and was very personable. We got to the room, and while it was a small New York style room, it was clean, modern and functional. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor is helpful to avoid city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel was very comfortable and convenient to the Metro. The room wasn't big, but it did have 2 chairs which is more than I can say for some more upscale hotels I've stayed at. And the air conditioning worked beautifully!! Unlike some hotel A/C units that never seem to get down to the temperature you set on the thermostat at, this one did. It was loud, which doesn't bother me in the least, but you might want to keep that in mind if it is an issue for you. The elevators were relatively slow. The rooftop bar had a great view of the Empire State building ... it's literally right there.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Found a very good price on this hotel and are very pleased with our stay here! We arrived very late (had called to tell them of our late arrival) and when we checked in we were upgraded to a king bed. Nice. The room was of adequate size and the bed was so comfy.

I like La Quintas because of the free wifi and continental breakfast. The breakfast is plain and simple, but a bowl of cereal and cup of tea is enough to get me started in the morning -- quick and easy. The breakfast room was often crowded and we ended up taking breakfast back to our room when we couldn't find seats.

The location of this hotel is very good. You're 1/2 block from a subway stop that we used nearly every morning. You're close to the Empire State Building and Penn Station. There are restaurants all around, although we didn't eat in any of them.

Sometimes we had to wait for an un-full elevator. This is common when you have a lot of people staying in one place. We never had to wait more than 10 minutes (and we never took the stairs -- always grabbed an elevator).

The street noise didn't bother me even though there were people out at night and trash trucks, etc. My British neighbor was very loud and a call to the front desk helped with that. She was so loud I could hear her through my ear plugs! The next night my other neighbor just stood in the hall and screamed at her to shut up. This added a bit of amusement to our stay. Never did hear any other neighbors, just this one loud person who thankfully seemed to check out in a few days.

Overall I would say I'm very pleased with this hotel. Would recommend to others and would stay here again.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a bathtub as I had heard some rooms only have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was spacious and well equipped. The beds were exceptionally comfortable. We were in the room opposite the elevators and it was very quiet. The location is very good. It's little Korea Town, but easy to get around from there. It's at Greeley Square so you can get to 5th, 6th and Bdway in one block! The breakfast was great - surprised it was included in NYC!

Room Tip: I was opposite the elevator and it was quiet, so I think any room would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.