We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Manhattan to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Manhattan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Browerville, MN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights here. We arrived at Penn Station, and if we'd walked out the correct exit, we would have had just a short walk to the hotel! We were on the 11th floor - great...no street noise, and it was a renovated room. They're working on the 6th floor, so ask for a room on floors 7 and above. The king-sized bed was VERY comfortable. Nice to have a free breakfast in the AM to start the sight-seeing day. There was a variety to choose from, tho, the room could fill up fast. It opens at 7 AM and we were usually there by 8:15. Staff was very courteous. Very convenient to walk to many places (why waste time in a traffic jam in a taxi!) We ate at Jack Demsey's Restaurant just around the block on 33rd st. Show your room key and get 15% off the bill. Food and service was not the best. A friend REALLY liked the bison burger, however. Hotel offers an AARP discount, has several computers in the business center in the basement. I'd probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    695
    257
    87
    113
See reviews for
334
495
132
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Flew into Newark, got off the train and a short walk we were home. Thanks to the fact they have Tempurpedic beds we now own one too. My husband had never slept better till we stayed here. The street is eclectic and very enjoyable with a great variety of dumpling houses to choose from. Why spend hundreds of dollars on a place you are only going to sleep in. I prefer to be out and about when in NYC and this place is very convienently located.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

As usual, a simple, but very clean place, helpful and friendly staff and excellent value.

Just spent an extended week end in New York with my wife (yes, Christmas shopping). La Quinta offered an excellent location for our numerous walking expeditions and we much preferred spending the money on shopping than on the hotel.

Note that this hotel is in the Korean district and that you will have to walk a few blocs for non asian restaurants. There is a good BBQ style place on 5th a couple of blocs North.

Do not miss the roof top bar with a direct view to the Empire State Building.

Only shortcoming would be the slow and intermittent wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms are fairly small, try and ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Vallès
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Room was OK, specially because the bathroom was quite new, refurbished very recently. The street was quite noise at night and you could heard some trucks playing the horn!

The worst was breakfast. Poor sitting tables, plastic clutery and a bit busy.
The best, WIFI available throughout the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Albert F,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. We do have quieter rooms that do not face the street and all our rooms have double paned windows designed to minimize noise. Nevertheless, being centrally situated street noise does get through on occasion. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast. Once again, our central location in the heart of Korea Town limits the amount of space available as a result we do not have a full pantry that will enable the use of chinaware. However, we do plan on using disposable but environmentally friendly products shortly.

The overwhelming majority of our guests are very pleased and satisfied with their stay because of the location, free breakfast and Wifi, and free domestic phone calls. We also have a business center with computers for guests to use and print boarding passes.

We hope you will reconsider us for your next trip to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I came up to New York for a concert at Madison Square Garden on a Thursday. The hotel was less than a 10 minute walk to MSG and a nice walk to Times Square with plenty of shopping in the vicinity. There is a small "rooftop bar/restaurant" that didn't have much but it was cute. Our room was one of renovated ones on the 11th floor with little view except when we looked up we could see the top of the Empire State Building. The room was nicely decorated, definitely had the "new" feel to it. We had a 1 queen bed room and probably the most comfortable bed I had ever slept on at a hotel...it was a tempurpedic one! The brightside breakfast that is included is sufficient enough off you don't want to go find a place to eat. The only issue is that there is hardly any room in the breakfast area so we had to stand for a bit eating our breakfast till someone left. So plan on getting there early before it gets busy because it does get crowded. Other than that I would book here again because the price, location, and rooms were just what we were looking for to enjoy our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed in the La Quinta for 12 nights and had an amazing experience!

First of all before i had even stayed there i contacted them via email and found they were quick to reply, very informative and extremely friendly which made me feel very comfortable about staying there. our plane was getting in late and they were very nice about letting us check in late.
We had some issues with our plans to stay there as our plane got diverted and we ended up getting there a day late but we kept in contact with the hotel and they kept our room for us and were very kind when we got in the next morning.
check in was very smooth and easy.
our room was actually not as small as i had anticipated by reading past reviews on trip advisor so we were really happy with the size. we had a twin bedroom and found that the beds were extremely comfortable, the bathroom was great and clean and everything was great. there were some good channels on the tv as well! we didn't use the coffee machine but it looked good. the alarm clock was good and reliable and there were lots of power sockets to use with my many electronics. on that note the wifi was really good and quite fast as well! Hair dryer was average.
only thing i had to say about the room was that the lighting was quite dim and it would have been nice for it to be a bit brighter.
We really really enjoyed breakfast! they had a great selection including: hard boiled eggs, assorted breads, croissants, danishes, chocolate, plain, jam filled and cinnamon donuts, cereals, milk, yoghurt, bagels, fruits etc. we filled up every day for breakfast and then skipped lunch to save money! also the orange juice was soooooo good!!!!!!
the location was really good! right near macys, 34th st shops, 5th avenue shopping, penn station and only about a 20 minute walk to times square. there was a duane reade right near the hotel which was great if we needed to buy anything. also right around the corner on 5th was a bus stop which we used to get to Soho, and on the other end of the street was a subway station.

We found that every day our room was so lovely and clean and we had the most lovely cleaner on our level who would stop and say hellp and chat with us every morning. she was just the nicest person! we stayed on level 3 which was good because we could use the stairs or take the elevators. there were 2 elevators but sometimes they were a bit slow or in the morning when everyone was leaving we could just use the stairs.

There was a little concierge store in the lobby we didn't really use that much. they advertised that they sold stamps on the window however when i inquired they did not have any. another time when i tried to buy gum they didn't have enough change so i just forgot about it.
I also used the business centre to print some things out. it was just average 3 computers and a printer. the printer was very fast which was great! there was also an atm in there which was convenient. The gym was pretty average but fun. we used a few of the equipment as we were waiting for some time to pass.

Overall i found my stay at the La Quinta to be absolutely amazing and completely worth everything we paid. it was such a great price and we had such a pleasant stay! I would recommend it to many people and anyone who is reading this and considering this hotel should totally go for it! it is a great location, good service, clean comfortable rooms, lovely staff and overall a really great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the floor for the option of the stairs as well as elevator. also breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Perfect location, nice with breakfast inkluded and kind and helpfuld staff. Manhattan is expensive, but you need no expences or time for transportation. The rooms are small, but you dont spend a lot of time there anyway. The Skybar is very cosy and with a perfect wiev to Empire State building.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.