We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking distance to from Penn Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Manhattan to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Manhattan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Custer, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“walking distance to from Penn Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

walking distance to from Penn Station; clean, relatively quiet (we wore earplugs); small but nice bathroom with tub and shower; not enough electrical outlets for grooming--have to use the two outlets in bathroom in order to style hair in front of mirror--should be an outlet near the full length mirror so someone else could be using the bathroom. With two queen size beds, you're going to have more than one person in a room. They decided to work on the hot water system from 10-5 one day. We did not know this (there was a posting in the lobby) and we "complained nicely" and were able to get them to knock off $30 for the day on our rate. After all, for the price of the room, we felt we should be able to take a shower after touring all day--maybe they could have worked on the system after midnight. But, they were very accommodating otherwise.

Room Tip: convenient, safe, comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    690
    254
    87
    113
See reviews for
334
491
132
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay. It was very clean, the staff accomodting, breakfast appreciated, slept very well on a soft mattress with air conditioner (no odor noted) and multiple pillows. Our housekeeping person dd an excellent daily room cleaning and appreciated her friendly manner. The room was small but so are the rooms at Disneyworld. You are not there to stay in the hotel room but to sight see after all. The price was good for Manhatten. The hotel is on Korean
Way or 32nd st. and there are many great restaurants and fun ambience esp. the yogert shops where we stoppped daily.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear carolk1030,
Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope you had a great time exploring New York City. Our prices are, indeed very competitive and offer great value by providing free amenities like Wi-Fi, continental breakfast, and domestic phone calls. Like most New York City hotels, our rooms vary in size, some are larger than others, but most are typical for Manhattan.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next trip to New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

La Quinta was much better than we had expected. This is a very old building, which retains some of it's character. The room had all the conveniences, including coffee maker, safe, flat screen tv, free local calls, free Wifi and hair dryer. I must admit the space was tight...but everything we needed was there. The nicest surprise was the continental breakfast....fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, cereals, along with the pastries...and decent coffee too! The staff were great...hailed us taxis and stored our baggage when we arrived at 8am. The downside was a long wait for an elevator and the rooftop patio was highly overrated...and crowded!

The best part about this hotel was definitely the neighborhood! 2 blocks from Macy's and the Empire State building, and within a few short hours we had walked through Times Square, Saks 5th Avenue, the Rockefeller Centre, the Plaza and into Central Park to name a few sights.

If you are looking for modern and spacious, La Quinta is probably not for you, but if you're looking for a good clean, pleasant hotel in a fantastic location then you've found the right place! We will definitely stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel upon the recommendation of another family member who stays here on business occasionally and we were not disappointed! We had a very positive experience at this hotel, right from arrival to departure.

We arrived to NYC at 10:30 am via train at Penn Station, which is located only a few short blocks from La Quinta. After a short walk we arrived early in the morning at La Quinta loaded down with all our luggage, far too early to check in. The lovely staff there took our luggage and stowed it safely away in a locked room for us, so we could go off and explore for the day and come back later to check in.

When we returned later on, we had a lovely room with two very comfortable beds. The room was very quiet both nights we spent there. The roof top bar was fabulous and the view of the Empire State Building was incredible! The location of the hotel is fabulous. It is close to everything and close to all the subways. The included breakfast is an unbelievable bonus for NYC. The staff was always pleasant and smiling. This hotel is a great value for Manhattan!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I needed a room for one night to attend a concert and I wasn't looking for anything fancy. This hotel was very clean - I checked for bed bugs. My only complaint was that I wasn't guaranteed a non-smoking room. I had to take a smoking room. The front desk sent someone up to open the window and he also sprayed the drapes with a deodorizer. The only problem was that the window overlooked a ventilation system which was very noisy and the room smelled of spices and food from the local restaurants. I did not sleep well. I guess it was better than stale smoke.
I did not hear noise from other guests or street noise. The shower was great and breakfast was included.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I had planned a trip a month ago as a graduation present for my granddaughter who graduated from college. I have traveled all over the world for many years and almost always choose to stay in the La Quinta Inn while in the states. So naturally, when planning this trip a month ago I chose to stay in the Manhattan La Quinta and booked my room. Upon arriving to New York and the hotel we were told by the man at the desk that our room reservation had been cancelled because they checked my card and the bank declined it. It was 10:30 at night and we were stranded with nowhere to go. The man was rude and apathetic to our situation. He called other hotels to help find a room for us but once they found us a room they were mean and not helpful as to how to get there. We were told the new hotel was 3 blocks away when it was about actually 50. We walked most of the way in the rain until we realized he lied to us. The next day I called the bank to make sure my card was working. No one called or checked my card with the bank. We were lied to, treated poorly, left stranded in the rain, and not to mention the fact that my granddaughter who has tourettes was being judged by the staff. I am appalled at this establishment and will be rethinking booking anything with La Quinta again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Narossetti,

Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you faced while trying to check in. We have looked into the situation, and it seems your credit card was declined because the wrong expiration date was provided by La Quinta. Usually, when credit cards are declined we make every attempt to contact the guest, but if we cannot do this, we unfortunately cancel the reservation. As you mentioned, we do everything we can to help guests find alternate accommodations nearby.

We can assure you that we are doing everything possible to try to remedy this situation, and hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Once again, thank you for your review and bringing this to our attention.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed there fro five nights last April,2011.
Weather was still a little cold, great to sleep, our bedroom didn't have much noise, was the number 1209, 12th floor, turned to the back street, I could see Empire State from my windows.

The hotel's staff was perfect, very attencious, everything I'd asked them, they answered in details, Directions, facilities, average prices in the city, etc.

The room was not big, but had everything we needed in good conditions. It was very clean and tidy every night when we got back to hotel.
Bathroom was always clean as well, bathtub a little old, but always very clean.

The breakfast was better than we expected before going there. Fruits, cereal, milk, coffee, donuts, yogurt, etc. Enough to begin our tourism circuit everyday.

Facilities are good, free Wifi, internet access on the lower lobby for those without a portable computer. Just the fitness center that I didn't like because of the musty smell.

I definitely recommend the hotel for those who doesn't want to spend a lot of money on a comfy hotel in Manhathan.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Manhattan

Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.