We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth price they charging” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Special
Ranked #343 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth price they charging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel lobby is beautiful and hallways. But that's when it stops when you get into room. Bathroom is way to old, shower head was spitting water in all directions but you, bathtub was painted over and paint was peeling off. Tile and trim have seen Great Depression no doubt. Room does not have minibar nor coffeemaker, which was a big surprise for hotel of this class. Prices in bar were way too much. No free wi-fi. And the suckiest part of all is valet parking, 1st you wait to get into parking space to unload and there's not much room, everybody double parked for whole block, and then upon check out, if they bring your car in less than 60 minutes you are very lucky. I wasn't.
Location is good though. Time square, Rockefeller center, 5th ave, grand central terminal and countless others are within very short walking distance. Don't get breakfast at hotel either, right outside you can find better variety and price definitely not gonna be 27$ per person. Not gonna come back to this hotel. Once is more than enough. For 340$ a night there a way much better deals to be found.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    1,943
    1,164
    580
    399
See reviews for
1,197
1,494
219
681
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend in December to see NYC. Location is fantastic, just a few minutes from time square and Grand Central station. The hotel staff were nice and helpful and the lobby/bar and restaurant were the best part of the hotel, especially being christmas, they were decorated beautifully. The other services were great too like the free printing of boarding passes and bag storage. The only negative thing I would say is the rooms are on the small side although we only used the rooms to sleep in and the bathrooms are in serious need of updating however this didn't really bother is because of the fact we spent so little time in our rooms. Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having walked by the Roosevelt many times when we lived in The City, I thought of it as old and run down (dark exterior, scaffolding). Well the street appeal hasn't changed, but the hotel was a pleasant surprise. We decided to give it a try after reading Trip Advisor reviews. Highlights: right near Grand Central, old elegance, lovely lobby, quiet rooms, comfortable bed, great staff, mostly very clean (lingering dust in high places in our room), all at a terrific price. (We paid $200 a night for 4 of the 5 nights we were there, Sat was pricier). Definitely recommended if you want to be in Mid-town.

Downside: Internet is pricey so we were glad to have our iPhone built-in hotspot!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my 2nd stay here. Very comfortable room and most enjoyable stay. A very warm place during a very cold weekend. Thank you to helpful staff who made the stay most pleasant. Public areas are spectacular.

Room Tip: Try rooms away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel lobby is old and beautiful, but the class definitely stops as soon as you enter the elevator. The hotel is large, old, and hasn't been upgraded in many years. Although our room was clean, it was very small and slightly musty. Our room was located directly across from the elevators and I am certainly glad we brought ear plugs as every time the doors opened the bing of the elevator was heard and the guests unloading tended to be noisy in the evening. It is in a great location, less than a block from Grand Central Station, which allowed for easy access to the metro and a quick trip to nearly every sight in the city. You get what you pay for and if you want a classy NY experience, pick an upgraded hotel like the Marriott or Hilton nearby.

Room Tip: Ask to stay far away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We splurged a little and stayed at this historic hotel in New York City. We usually try to find a room for under $300/night but we had heard about The Roosevelt from a friend and since we were celebrating a special occasion, we decided to give it a try. It was beautiful, and it was a pretty good location - only a few blocks from the theatre where we would be seeing a show. Also, only a few blocks walk to Time Square and Rockefeller Center. The down side was that for the price we paid it was still a small room, and with absolutely NO extras. Not only no breakfast, but not even coffee or tea in the room, not even a microwave so we could make a cup of tea. Wifi was not free, in fact was quite pricey. There were computers downstairs, but again, nothing without a price! It was .37/minute! Which added up very quickly! The bed was comfortable enough, but other than that ... well, we were not very impressed! We will definitely not be staying at the Roosevelt on our next trip to New York!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12th floor, it was quiet enough, but the elevators were very slow and it had a funk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, New Jersy U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Not plush, not charming, but reliable, and great location for visitors to New York. Have your breakfast out of hotel and eateries all over, and save $.Walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller Center,etc.
Near subways.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.