We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #347 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It is rather boring to keep giving the same review. Oh well. Yes, the lobby is gorgeous and the bar brings back the spirits of old NYC. However, the elevators are over taxed and you have to wait ages to get upstairs to your room and forget about it if you have large suitcases. Yes, the rooms are small, but not so bad for NYC. It would have been nice to have a coffee pot in the room, but Starbucks is in the lobby so it wasn't so terrible. The decor is 80's and the bathrooms are small, but the hotel is very convenient to Times Square.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    2,109
    1,279
    625
    420
See reviews for
1,318
1,614
233
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here in march for 6 nights. Beautiful hotel. Staff all very pleasant. Hotel situated not far from all local attractions I can't fault this hotel at all. This was my 3rd visit to New York and this was definitely the best hotel we have stayed in. Would stay here again hopefully either next year or 2016.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Spent two nights at the Roosevelt. Checking in included no conversation whatsoever. The receptionist handed over the keys and I didn't even know whether we were finished checking in or not? The room was narrow and out-dated. The beds on the other-hand were fantastic, really good sleep in them. The bathroom was disgusting, old and worn.
I think I counted waiting six minutes for an elevator once. There were at least five elevators and I was late for a reservation because of them. The lobby is grand and impressive but small. If you look in passing by the hotel looks amazing but its the wrong impression. I would definitely not recommend staying here. It's overpriced and I stayed somewhere else during my visit for cheaper which was a lot better too.

Room Tip: A refurbished room maybe? I would not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very impressive lobby, you are greeted by steps and have to go around the side to elevator to get suitcases up to reception we gave up waiting and ended up lugging ours up the steps, checked in hotel was very very busy and noisy; took 3 attempts to get in lift. Room had a very comfy bed, no fridge or tea/coffee facilities, bathroom could do with a deep clean tiles very mouldy in places. The hotel is in a good location, did a bus tour with Grayline queue was very long when we got there but all credit to them they got 3 more buses in about 5 mins so we all got on no problem!.... but I won't be going back to New York anytime soon I'm afraid.. too noisy, too dirty, glad I took ear plugs!!....
I have read the previous comments about the reception staff, we were checked in by a young guy and he was very polite. Not impressed with the $14.95 per day Wi-Fi ...we didn't use it, went round the corner to Starbucks!

Room Tip: Try and get help if you cannot get up the steps INSIDE the hotel with your luggage or use elevator o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After doing hours and hours of research on finding a reasonable priced with great location hotel in NYC.. I came across a great price on Expedia.
Upon arrival, the lady at the front desk gave us the impression that 'we were not good enough to be staying here' and was not very helpful however the location of this Hotel was perfect - between Grand Central and Time Square. You are hardly at your hotel but the rooms are good for when you are there.
Definatly book this Hotel based on its location :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any issues you experienced at the front front desk. Your concerns are distressing and will be immediately addressed with the front office director. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stopped at this hotel as part of a trip and then stayed on a few extra days. I read the reviews and tried to go there with an open mind but everything people are saying was true. Some of the staff were very nice, others were down right rude. We witnessed a few arguments between staff and clients while on our visit. We found our room open on our return from a day out and reported it, expecting some explanation but none came so the next day we asked at reception so as not to have a repeat of the incident. Not a sorry or anything in fact it was a case of please move along we are busy, we have spoken to the maid. Once we had booked out and was waiting for a shuttle bus which was late the staff were not interested in our problem, they would not phone up for us and just told us to get a cab. The location was excellent and helped the holiday. I was our first visit to New York for our wedding anniversary but we did get a card and some fruit from the staff for that so not all bad and New York is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addresses with the rooms manager. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Large, grand and slightly faded, the Roosevelt is conveniently located close to Grand Central. Rooms tend to be small and the decor isn't modern. Fitness center is better equipped than most so that's a plus. Had dismal experience in their rooftop lounge, with expensive drinks and bad service. Lobby bar and front desk staff were more professional and helpful. Happy to stay here with a good rate ($200 or less) but would be bummed if paid full rack rate expecting something special. Overall, a good deal in a nicely located hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Yes our affordable room rates and central location con not be beat. Our apologies for any issues you experienced at MAD46. We will certainly address this with the lounge manager immediately. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.