We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #347 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Old Luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed in the Roosevelt based on our neighbor's recommendation. We wanted an older established hotel to give our family the feel of New York from the past. The lobby was beautiful and it set the mood for our stay. The rooms were small as expected from an older hotel (2 queen beds), but our family of four didn't feel too cramped, besides in NYC, we only spent time in the room to sleep and change clothes. The only problem was that our toilet backed up each day (4 days) and over flowed twice. It drained slowly from the time we checked in. My wife and child had to go to the lobby to use the restroom as we became gun shy.The service however was prompt and courteous, but still not what you would expect from a good hotel like the Roosevelt. All in all however it was a pleasant stay. The location was perfect for all our sightseeing the Rock, Times Square, Radio City, Broadway shows and Central Park. We walked to all. The subway and Grand Central is just around the corner. It is convenient to La Guardia airport . The Cosi across the street had great breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any plumbing issues you experienced during your most recent stay. However, we are very happy to hear that your overall stay was great. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    2,106
    1,275
    624
    420
See reviews for
1,314
1,611
233
743
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Lovely hotel...food yummy...location excellent...would love to go back. Staff friendly and very helpful. The buffet breakfast was so yummy...my dad loved it. Location was excellent...so close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was great and we agree, our breakfast buffet is yummy. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A really grand foyer but the bedrooms are in desperate need of renovation. Air conditioning so loud that you have to turn off to be able to sleep. If you choose to eat at the hotel in the evening only the grille is open with seating at tables for approx 20 diners, we chose to dine at mortons grill not realising what the cost would be, exterior menu does not show prices, suggest you look elsewhere unless you can afford prices upwards of $60 plus tax and tips per main course, food was great though. Wifi in bedrooms app $16 plus tax per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Yes scaffolding is a part of life and the landscape in NYC. Our apologies for any issues you experienced during your most recent stay. All of your concerns have been noted and will be addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights sightseeing with our family. Lovely lobby but let down by surly and unhelpful staff. Our rooms were fine but our daughter's room was a much lower standard of decor and size. The bathrooms all needed updating and our bathroom door wouldn't shut properly. We didn't bother complaining because of the dreadful attitude of the desk staff. Location was excellent. Beds were comfortable. This hotel could be so much better if staff adopted a friendly and helpful manner. Windows were filthy with no soundproofing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced regarding unhelpful/rude staff. Your concerns have been noted and will be addressed with the rooms manager. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our stay at the Roosevelt Hotel in New York worked about well. Yes, the hotel needs some refurbishing in some places, but our Cozy Queen room worked out fine. We expected a smallish room so were not surprised. It was, however, clean and comfortable for our 2 night stay. And the location is just perfect. We were close to the theater district and we had booked a show. Also not that far from a Circle line cruise around Manhattan. None of our party had seen Times Square and we were just blocks away so it was a good central location. The front desk at the Roosevelt seemed crowded and at times, slow. We also found the bellhop station slow and crowded but we came over the weekend and you would expect these two areas to be crowded at those times. We allowed extra time and tried to be patient. We were especially appreciative of Tony, the door man. He recommended a great pizza place for lunch and was very helpful and cheerful. Kudos again to Tony.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that your stay was even more memorable due to the kindness of Tony our beloved doorman. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Use to be our companies "preferred" hotel. That stopped a while ago and now I remember why. Had to stay in the city the other night. Made last minute reservation. My preferred hotels were sold out. Roosevelt was only option near me so I booked it

The service is horrible. Make you stand in line when there are 3 front desk people not helping anyone, not on the phone just completely ignoring who is online. Then when you get up to the counter they are not even friendly.

Rooms are old and need updating badly. Seems clean but just old. Very old. Bathroom had cracked tiles mold stains along tub. Room was muggy. Put AC on full power at 3. When I got back after dinner not much of a change. Woke up swearing at 2 am. Called to complain. They came up to change the filter but no difference. Did someone ask how my night was upon checkout?? Of course not. Guess they know if they ask that question they will get complaints from 99% of the clients.

Would not recommend this hotel at all

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any issues you experienced especially regarding service. Your concerns will be addressed with the front office manager immediately. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Wen had stayed at this hotel a few years ago and really enjoyed it however it was not a great stay this time. Our room was in need of refurbishment. We stayed in a "superior king" room which was a good size and had a comfy bed but was it. Paper cups instead of glasses, iron which didn't work. We asked for a coffee machine which took an hour to arrive. Room keys failed every day. Just a very basic experience. Not dreadful but just okay.

Room Tip: The higher the better. The superior king room is a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that this trip did not meet your expectations. All of your concerns will be immediately addressed with the department managers. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.