We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #347 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed in the cozy double double room with my mom and sister and it was nice! The room was a tad small but we really only used it to sleep, which was fine. The location is awesome! It's only about a 5 minute walk to Times Square and other places. The service was very nice too. Wendy at the front desk was awesome and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious and had many different options. The rooms were small, but very clean. If you are staying in NYC for a short period of time, I would definitely stay at the Roosevelt.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very pleased to hear that your NYC experience was made even more memorable by Wendy. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    2,105
    1,275
    624
    420
See reviews for
1,313
1,611
233
743
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed at Roosevelt from 13th - 17th March 2014, on arrival cannot help being blown away by entrance hall, is truly magnificent. But found the rooms to be a big let down, no fridge or tea/coffee facilities, paint peeling off woodwork, tiles cracked in bathroom, all internal doors in corridors seen many a better day, Check in staff found to be rude on every occasion we had to talk to them, it was my daughters 13th birthday and we travelled at great expense to Carlo's Bakery in NJ to collect a cake for a special dinner, reception staff refused to refrigerate for us, on check in they tutted when we asked for adjoining rooms (something we had tried to pre-arrange and been refused), any contact with front desk you get the impression it is a chore for them. Perhaps due to old style of building but the noise at night from the street is unbearable, stayed in new york before and never had this noise issue. Main lobby bar food and drinks good but very pricey for what you get but this is the same all over new york - big thank you to doorman Al who did respond to our plight of a fridge for the cake and took it to the main kitchen for us, not hard considering the bar and front desk had refused, in this establishment the customer is treated as if the hotel are doing you a favour by letting you stay - wrong people we pay for this hotel to stay in business - will not be returning

Room Tip: Cannot comment - both rooms we had were miles apart and both poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry to say that with the sheer volume of arrivals and departures we can never guarantee room/floor placement or close proximity. However, if the room request is available upon arrival we are more than happy to honor your requests. We are happy to hear that you were assisted in storage of your cake, however, storage, freezing, or reheating of out side food by hotel staff is prohibited due to the possibilities of food contamination. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Shabby, dirty rooms in a depressingly unrenovated, run down hotel with terrible service. Ancient and slow elevators, long lines to check in, busy signals for the front desk and room service, all at ridiculously inflated prices. Historic lobby and a good location but a nightmare in every other respect.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. ALL of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My work colleague and I spent 4 days in New York City and decided this time to stay at a midtown hotel with some vintage charm and character. The Roosevelt looked good online and had a great location. It was, however, disappointing in a number of ways. I will never again trade modern convenience for the "grandeur" of an old hotel. For example, all the "newer" hotels today offer free wi-fi in the rooms. Heck, you can get free wi-fi everywhere. We all expect it. But at the Roosevelt you pay something like $14 per day (per day!!!) for in-room wi-fi. Our TV was big and new...but it didn't work. They were having problems with their cable. The bathroom was small and tiled with discolored grout, but otherwise clean. Problem was, the shower water turned ice cold all of a sudden mid-shower, and then was warm again 10 minutes later. But then it turned ice cold again. Front desk help was not as cheerful as in most other hotels. On the plus side, the lobby was lovely and the hallways are wide. Breakfast buffet for $28 per person was worth it. We will not stay at the Roosevelt on future business trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. Regarding wifi fees, we do frequently shop other mid-town hotels to ensure that we remain competitive with our pricing. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just stayed at The Roosevelt hotel for 3 nights. On arrival have to say that the entrance hall is magnificent and holding onto a grander tradition of times gone by. The location for our visit was ideal, the service provided by the reception and bar staff was perfect, the UK could learn a lot.......however how often have we been seduced by a wonderful reception, only to be let down by the rooms.......ours, whilst adequate was old and tired, but the bathroom was the real let down, very small with a broken toilet seat, a bath that was chipped and an OK shower, and the loss of cable meant we had no TV for 2 days. Frankly a UK premier Inn room at £60.00 a night would have been better value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our lost sincere apologies for any issues you experienced regarding your room. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. However, we are happy to hear that your overall stay was good. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Roosevelt for my kids spring Break for 5 days. The location was perfect for our itinerary of things to do in New York. We got our room right away and it was very nice, decent size and view. This is a classic New York hotel, not the Ritz Carlton. They gave us great service and we felt very comfortable with our selection and would stay there again all things considered.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very happy to hear that your stay was great and that you would return. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Roosevelt is a great hotel for the price, many comments made have alluded to small rooms, rude staff, dilapidated room conditions, but I have to say we never experienced this at all. The rooms are being updated, slowly, which is to be expected for a working hotel in the busiest city in the world, the receptionists were efficient, the hotel porters are polite and helpful and to be honest we are very happy with our stay here.
The TV didn't work for the last 2 days of our trip as there was a central issue, which they left us a voicemail about, but we really didn't need this, I just enjoy American morning news shows while getting ready.
The bathrooms could do with updating but they were clean which is the most important thing.
The foyer is amazing, possibly the best we saw, we even had a walk into the Plaza at Central Park which the Roosevelt match for grandeur.
There have been comments also about the noise, but come on, really, you are just off Madison avenue, right in the heart of the action, of course it will be noisy!
The location is amazing, 15 minutes walk to Times square, the same to The Empire State Building, and just round the corner from the Grand Central Terminal which you can use to get subway lines 4,5,6 to most places in New York or to a Subway Station within walking distance of what you want to see like the Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Wall St.
I have to agree that to charge what they do for wifi is ridiculous, but with a Starbucks or a McDonalds around every corner, this didn't cause an issue as all we were doing was checking facebook!
For what we paid, the location, and the fact that there were no issues at all that we experienced, I would recommend this for anyone visiting this amazing city without the cost of staying at one of the more 'upmarket' hotels.

Room Tip: Book a king sized bedroom. Ask when booking for a good view. If you want it to be quiet don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very pleased to hear that your NYC experienced was made even more memorable by your stay here at the Roosevelt. You are correct, our central location can be beat and is perfect for anything you want to do while in our great city. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.