We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lobby.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #347 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Pensacola, FL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great lobby.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

To be fair, the location is great, the lobby is great, the bar is great, the staff is friendly, but the rooms are not great. We had three rooms, one was fine, one was small, and one was tiny. The rooms were clean and properly furnished, but some of the electrical outlets did not work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any issues you experienced with-in your three rooms. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and we do hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    2,107
    1,275
    624
    420
See reviews for
1,314
1,611
233
744
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I travel to New York for business often and by far this is the worst hotel. Staff was rude and terrible. Rooms were fair. Hear and air made horrible noises. Updates are needed. I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you want to be in a good location and are never in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our deepest apologies that we did not meet your expectations. Rest assure, ALL of your concerns will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thanks for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulberry, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel lobby was pretty, bar area was good, room fair-some condition issues. The bed however was excellent. Location was convenient. Overall acceptable but not overwhelming. Wifi isn't free if you want to use you laptop. Breakfast buffet was pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was good. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We booked this hotel through Priceline and paid a very low rate. The lobby is grand and ornately decorated. The rooms are sparsely furnished but clean. This is a large hotel and the staff were professional and courteous. Despite its size there was never a wait for an elevator. We had a king bed that was quite comfortable. The TV in the room was new. The heating unit was rather loud so we just turned it off. The temperature in the room was fine even with the unit off. This is located very near to Grand Central and within short walking distance to Fifth Avenue, Times Square and Rockefeller Center. The subway lines at Grand Central make it easy to access the east side of the city as well as the Bronx and Brooklyn. If you were going to a Yankees game or to a show at the Barclays Center you could get to them quite easily making this a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that our central location, friendly staff, and comfy beds made your NYC experience even more memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Mold in the shower grout- shower head separated from the wall, and the tub had no stopper so no bath for my small son. The wallpaper was peeling in the room. Room had no mini fridge or coffee pot. And $15-$20 wifi. The Marriot Courtyard around the block- cleaner, newer, mini-fridge and coffee pot and FREE WiFi... Oh and it's cheaper!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. All of your concerns have been noted and will be addressed. Again our apologies and thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

After a horrible experience at The Doubletree Suites in Times Square, Hotwire switched our hotel out and booked us into The Roosevelt. We were very pleased overall. We received 2 rooms on the 7th floor. One was near the elevators, so had some noise throughout the night. The other was farther away and pretty quiet. Comfortable beds. Good bar area for hanging out. Great location. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that the Roosevelt saved your NYC vacation. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at the Roosevelt for 5 nights 28.11.13 - 3.12.13. Not to far from the airport (when its not peak travelling time). The hotel had a good location a few mins walk to Times Square and also 5th avenue. The hotel itself was clean and very busy bar staff did serve promptly. The hotel is old fashioned new york so the decor in the rooms was very old, bathrooms could do with a smarten up. Loved that they sold Starbucks early in the morning so always a coffee and a muffin. The hotel did what it needed for me, I was there to shop and see New York so didnt spend much time in the hotel only to sleep.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room not on the front of the hotel!! New york never sleeps so cars always go by pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that your NYC experienced was memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.