We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Special
Ranked #343 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Northern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in June, 2013, and I couldn't have been more pleased that we chose this property. First and foremost, the location was incredible. We were able to walk to almost everything that we wanted to see and experience. For the things that were a bit too far to walk, we simply walked the block or two to hop on the subway near Grand Central Station. The gentleman who checked us in was very kind and helpful. I had reserved a room with a queen bed, but when he saw that it was my daughter and I, he put us in a room with two beds, which we really appreciated. Our room was very clean and nice. If there was anything that I wish was different, it would be that our bathroom was a bit larger. It's pretty small, which made getting ready to go somewhere a challenge as only person could really fit in there at a time, with no real countertop to put makeup bags or hair tools on. Aside from that, we were extremely pleased and will most definitely stay here again in the future. Oh, and one thing that was nice that on a day that it was raining pretty hard, the front desk provided us with an umbrella for walking around. A happy customer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We agree, our central location is perfect for sight seeing, shopping, and of course the theatres. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was great and that you will return. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    1,938
    1,160
    580
    399
See reviews for
1,194
1,489
219
681
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Interlaken, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This regal old hotel was exactly what I had hoped for. Clean rooms, close to Central Station and great staff. No coffee maker, and yes, plastic cups. I stayed for 3 days and was given free internet. Its overpriced in comparison to other major Cities, but then welcome to NYC. The room was immaculate, cleaned daily whilst I was out seeing this remarkable City. Ground Zero, Central park, Times Square, Lady Liberty, Empire State, Harlem etc etc etc etc. And the subway was easy to navigate. Just get used to 'Uptown' and 'Downtown' and your halfway there. And you will need to buy a Metro card, then its just swipe and go ('$2.50 per swipe). Enjoy

Room Tip: I had a room with twin queens, so plenty of space for 2 people not sharing a bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that our central location, comfy rooms, and friendly staff made your NYC experience even more memorable. Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed 21st Dec - 28th Dec 2012, we are a family of 5 from Ireland and booked 2 rooms at The Roosevelt through our travel agent Tour America, after reading some of the reviews we were very nervous and decided that worst case scenario all we needed were beds and a bathroom as we would be outdoors mostly. I can honestly say the moment we entered the lobby we were blown away, it is so classy & beautiful, huge Christmas tree and friendly staff, we requested quiet rooms are they were just that, our rooms on the fifth floor were a good size and very comfortable even considering 3 teenagers sharing. The location was excellent 2 mins walk from 5th avenue, the doorman always on hand with information and in the evenings it was lovely to come back to a refreshed room. If you are in any doubt I honestly think that sometimes weather, travel companions, stresses in modern life or unhappiness can affect you're outlook on holiday and this can sometimes translate into a negative review - we hand on heart would book again.

Room Tip: ask for quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
WOW! Thank you for your great review. Yes, Christmas time at the Roosevelt and NYC is magical. Our lobby is so beautifully decorated during the holidays it looks like a movie set from yesteryear. Our guests are simply enchanted. Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel should be 2.5 stars, not sure what it's rated. It is somewhat clean, nice workout room, location is great, plastic cups in room, no coffee maker, no bathrobes, A/C rattled(loudly) all night and didn't cool the room. It's an old average hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Check your A/C right away, if it's not cooling, change rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced regarding your a/c unit. Your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. In the future, should you decide to stay again, our front desk does offer complimentary sleep kits (ear plugs and eye mask) to help easy our noise sensitive guests into sleep. Again our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Roosevelt is a traditional and really nice hotel. The location is superb, with everything right outside the hotel doors. It's basically located on 5th ave. and was the perfect choice for us.

The rooms were clean. Could be in better shape but ok. Bed was big and comfy. We didn't eat at the hotel any of the days, we went out for breakfast, lunch, and dinner so I don't know anything about the hotel restaurant(s). However, the lobby bar is as it should be.

Hotel staff was friendly. I even had pre-ordered some items from online stores sent to the hotel and everything went well.

The only thing I could put my finger on were a couple of the bellboys idle counting tips in the lobby area.

I'm going to try out a couple of other hotels in NYC too, but I have no problem giving my recommendation for The Roosevelt Hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that your NYC experience was made even more memorable by our central location, comfy beds, and friendly staff. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent as its mid-town and has easy access to all the sites of Manhattan as the Grand Central station is very close and it is an easy walk to many of the mid town sites like Top of the Rock, Empire state and Times Square.
The entrance lobby is not great if you have heavy suitcases as there is a flight of stairs to get to the check in. There is a lift to take you up to the lobby but its out of the way and to be honest why do you have a flight of steps from the entrance when almost every visitor has baggage! Just put a ramp/walk way there next to the stairs.
The check in and out experience was not great either, the staff did not react when there was a queue forming by getting more people out to assist with the process.
The room was adequate, and like most rooms in NY it was small, but then you don't go to NY to sit in your room. We had a King room the bed was very comfortable but the bathroom was small and there was no desk for working at a computer and the air conditioning unit was old and very noisy, but least it was working!
The Breakfast was SUPERB, the buffet and the chef to cook eggs to order were all excellent.
The Bar on the left as you enter the hotel was very busy on the Friday evening but we still managed to get served and then on Saturday it was much quieter and the staff were very chatty and friendly.
The hotel has its own airport limousine service which we found out about by accident when we were leaving it was excellent and recommend you book it in advance( I think we were just lucky it was available when we came out to go to the airport) it was the same price to JFK as a regular cab but far superior.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again, but I hope they do something about those steps at the entrance and the check in staff before I return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any issues your experienced during your stay. All of your concerns will be addressed. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was good and that you do plan to return. However, there are no future plans to add a ramp to our grand stair case at the entrance. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Hills
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night after a cruise trip. It was in an ideal location, not too far from Grand Central Station where you can catch any train or subway. On check in, the front desk personnel was not very friendly but weren't rude either. The rooms are very big and "roomy". Ours had 2 double beds which were a bit "lumpy" but as tired as we were from sightseeing all day and all the walking, it really didn't matter much. The rooms are very worn and could really use some updating, the sink in the bathroom had a huge crack in it. The front desk on checking out was MUCH more friendlier and provided a good start to my day. The bellman in the front "Tony" was very friendly also as it took a very very very long time for our car to come. Overall I guess it is a good place to stay but I paid less for other hotels and would probably stay at one of those instead.

Room Tip: We were put on the 6th floor and didn't hear much street noise because the air conditioner was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our deepest apologies for any issues you experienced during your most recent stay. Rest assured, your concerns will be addressed. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was good and that our central location met your needs. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.