We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cozy Queen was Cozy Double"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Special
Ranked #343 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Cozy Queen was Cozy Double"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel is historic and the public areas are beautiful. The lobby is nothing short of grand. The staff (except one) were helpful and friendly. Yes, the rooms are small and dated, but ours was clean. This will be rectified by the renovation. The location is excellent. *** Our major complaint (really major as it impacted our stay) was that our "Cozy Queen" was really a "Cozy Double" which meant we slept very little. The only less-than-friendly person we encountered was the man at the desk who insisted that the bed was a queen. It was not. He also informed us that there were no rooms available. We had no recourse but to remain in the double-bed room. Again, sleep was in short supply. ***See the traveler trip note below*** Would we stay here again. Probably. But only with the absolute certainty that we would have a Queen bed in a Cozy Queen room!

Room Tip: Our major concern actually impacted our three night stay at the Roosevelt. We had booked a Cozy Que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    1,931
    1,157
    579
    399
See reviews for
1,191
1,485
219
679
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Don't believe the photos and reviews! I expected to stay in an old, well kept hotel. The hotel is in need of Love and Care. The furnishings are worn down, rugs need to be stretched, bathrooms need to be updated. We were booked in room 523, the heating/air conditioning unit made terrible noise, the lamp on the dedk was falling apart, red wall paper felt like I was in a hotel you pay by the hour. They did move us to room 1124, double beds, very small room. The bath tub is peeling and the handles on the sink don't sit right. The toilet over flowed on our first flush. They were up to repair in 15 minutes, but housekeeping never showed up to clean up. Front desk staff has issues, when they moved us to new room the keys didn't work, when I went down to explain the problem I was told we must have rubbed them against our cell phones!

Positive, clean as old can be. Great location, comfortable beds and the staff is nice, with the exception of the front desk staff.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thanks for reviewing us! We are currently going through a guestroom upgrade and hope that you will be back to enjoy our new product. Please visit our website for more information and photos on what to expect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I spent 2 weeks in New York for business and stayed at the Roosevelt Hotel. While the rooms are small and old, it overall was a pleasant experience. The location is great, near Grand Central Station, 5th Avenue, Theaters and Times Square. The staff was pleasant and courteous. We even got to see them filming a movie in one of the ballrooms. The only drawback was that the hotel did not have a full service restaurant that was open later in the evening and the elevators were not air conditioned. However, the price was very good for the location. I hear they are renovating the rooms which is good thing. I would stay there again as it's 1 block from our office.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a room with 2 beds, the rooms are much more spacious. Worth the extra money i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a beautiful old hotel and a great value for New Orleans. It's located in a more family friendly part of town which is nice. The staff were all friendly, the beds were great and the rooms were clean. I would definitely recommend again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

You couldnt ask for a better placed hotel. just a step away from everything. The lobby looks just like a film set. Ok so the rest is tired but so are many hotels. They did say they were in the middle of redocoration, but we were on the 5th floor and our friends on the 12th and neither of these had been done. The beds were comfy, clean linen every day, room enough for the little time we spent there. We were out by nine in the morning and not back till much the same in the evening, so who cares we couldn't run around the room . All the staff we dealt with were very helpful. We we would go back there any time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review. As mentioned, we are currently going through an upgrade that is planned to be completed by February 2012. Please come back to stay with us for another weekend in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

foyer very grand, thought we had landed on our feet but went all down hill from the the "checking-in". check-in staff very rude and couldn't have cared less about the customer. literally threw our key across the reception. booked bedroom was a "superior" double-double. wall paper peeling off the walls, carpet worn down to the underlay in places and bathroom not touched since the seventies (at best). they offered to change the room, but this was the same...very basic and dated. offered a further two rooms but all the same...very tired, stained and worn carpets and just appeared un-clean. checked out immediately (manageress was understanding) and booked into warwick.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that your experience was not up to standard. We would like you to know that we are currently going through a guestroom upgrade and will have all guestrooms completed by February 2012. We do hope that you will come back to visit us and see our new product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This was our second time staying in this wonderful, grand old New York hotel and we loved it! While I will agree with most reviews that the rooms are a bit dated and bathrooms on small side, we were not in NYC to hang out in the room so that did not bother us. The lobby is absolutely gorgeous, the location central, and the service was professional and thoughtful. We were CT residents affected by the end of October weekend nor'easter and were guests there on Halloween. Several Roosevelt Hotel staff members were giving out candy in front of hotel and went out of there way to make sure my children got some. When I thanked them and let them know we would not be having a Halloween in CT due to the storm/lack of power, the staff went above and beyond and made sure my children got even more candy(I'm talking an unopened 3.6 pound bag of candy)! Since then, this is all my kids have been talking about to friends and family! If you are looking for a reasonably priced(we got a good last minute deal), centrally located, NYC landmark hotel, then check out(or check in) The Roosevelt!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.