We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable wedding in an unforgettable hotel....AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sweet Savings
Ranked #5 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An unforgettable wedding in an unforgettable hotel....AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I love this hotel, it possibly my favourite hotel in the world, although I might be biased as this was where my husband and I got married in 2010.

The rooms are excellent size, suburb quality and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The little touches make all the difference such as the turndown service, bottled water in the room etc and you are certainly made to feel most welcome.

The location is excellent and the staff were only to happy to help in any way possible from local knowledge to getting you a cab or reservation. I loved the breakfast that the hotel provides in the lobby, it has everything you need to set you up for the day (although I had to avoid the pastries until after the wedding) :-)

The cheese and wine on offer each evening (except Sunday) is a great touch and was a brilliant pre dinner treat for us and our guests.

With regards to our wedding we got married on the roof top terrace and had our “wedding breakfast” (provided by the Park Avenue Bistro next door) in the penthouse suite connected to the terrace. The hotel staff were amazing and we had a truly unforgettable day with everything we could have wished for. As we were planning the wedding from abroad (UK/Germany) we had concerns about everything going to plan, however after a meeting when we arrived at the hotel everything was confirmed and it all went without a hitch. The hotel organised the seating for the ceremony (dressed chairs), the seating for our meal (including high chairs) then cleared everything for the evening bar/dancing (amongst a million other things). For our party size the venue was amazing and even though we arranged some things ourselves (cupcakes/stand/place settings etc) the hotel was very accommodating in setting this up on our behalf/directing the deliveries that arrived.

Although the hotel is fantastic I think the staff really make the whole experience a cut above the rest. Everyone we met was polite, friendly, and knowledgeable and they cannot do enough for you. We stayed at this hotel for a week in total including our wedding night and even when we experienced a small leak in our room after heavy rain the manager came up to the room in person and we swiftly had all of our belongings moved to another room whilst we went down to breakfast.

I cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel and all of our wedding party guests stayed for at least one night at the hotel and all had only good things to say.

We also stayed at the hotel a couple of months prior to our wedding so that we could see the rooms for the ceremony/reception etc. The only negative I can say about this particular stay at the Hotel Giraffe was that we were only here for one night but it certainly made us look forward to coming back for the wedding even more!

We were grateful that the hotel allowed us use of the penthouse suite to meet with photographers etc for which they even set up a table, water, notepads, pens etc for us without being asked. Once we had seen the hotel and the excellent staff on hand we knew we had made the right choice and couldn’t wait to go back.

The Hotel Giraffe made my wedding day unforgettable, all it needs to do is just keep doing what it is doing because it really is the best place to stay in New York, I only wish I could give it more than 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    383
    60
    14
    11
See reviews for
537
859
124
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silkeborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Very nice and helpfull staff. Rooms where comfortable: no noice, had night blinds to block out daylight and climate easy to regulate. Breakfirst was standard european style. All in all recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We went to the city to visit all the museums and this hotel was in an ideal location. Since we were there during the blizzard, this hotel turned out to be perfect, as it is located close to the subway and we could get anywhere. It had very good staff who could help us get everywhere, despite the difficult time in the city. Though they have free wifi, it was not easy to use, but that was a minor problem. They had many restaurants nearby but we did not like them and ended up getting food from the Whole Foods in Union Square. It is a no nonsense hotel, very clean with excellent service, good breakfast and we loved it. The front desk staff were very helpful and took care of all our needs. When we go back to New York, we will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. It was awesome! We booked our room through their website and paid in advance. When we got there, we got a free room upgrade. The room was clean, nice and the staff was super friendly. They offer free breakfast and wine and cheese from 5-8 nightly except for Sunday. What more can you ask for. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We spent two weeks in New York right before Christmas. We had a one bedroom suite and a queen room, which accommodated our family of five nicely. The Hotel Giraffe is part of the HK Hotels group, which quite rightly occupies four of the top five Hotels in New York spots on TripAdvisor. They are small, boutique hotels with a wonderful concept: clean, elegant rooms, a small lobby, and a pleasant lounge area where they serve the included breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese. Rather than spending money on impressive lobbies and fancy bars and restaurants, HK Hotels provides exactly what you need for a comfortable, homey experience. They provide access to a nearby fitness club, which is a far better facility than most hotel fitness rooms. We've stayed at the Casablanca and the Library previously, and when we couldn't book either of those we decided to try the Giraffe. It didn't disappoint. It's location is further south than the others, (not so close to Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza, etc.) but we found this an advantage because it was a quieter neighborhood and closer to Union Square, Soho, Little Italy etc. Also very close to the subway, so easy to get anywhere. Staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. The decor was nice (didn't have quite as much character as the Casablanca). Occasionally they even had a pianist playing during wine and cheese. All in all an entirely pleasant experience. We will always stay at HK Hotels when we come to New York.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Great hotel shame it didn't have tea and coffee making facility's in the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

All the other comments on this hotel are right. This hotel was the best that we have stayed in Manhattan and the service was extraordinary. From the minute we arrived at the hotel we were treated like we were in a 5-star hotel. The front desk also acts as a concierge and they were able to secure us reservations to one of Manhattan's most-popular (and hard to get in to) restaurants. Also, the LOCATION of the hotel is great. The subway is a five-minute walk and there are plenty of restaurants and bars in the general vicinity. They also offer FREE wireless internet (which is fast) and they also have a FREE European-style breakfast which was to die for. If we do travel back again, we are definitely staying here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.