We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel in the middle of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sweet Savings
Ranked #5 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great small hotel in the middle of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I stayed with a friend for 5 nights. The room was lovely and clean. Having the roof top garden was great - it was nice to have a place to sit outside in the middle of the city. The hotel was well situated, near a subway station where you could go either up or down town. The breakfasts were an added bonus. Great selection to choose from and there was tea, coffee and juice available 24 hours a day. The cheese and wine in the evening were great. This was served monday - Saturday 5.30pm - 8.30pm. You could either sit in reception lounge area with this or take it up to the rooftop garden. The room rates are not cheap but you do get a lot of extras thrown in. If I am back in New York I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,653
    387
    61
    14
    11
See reviews for
542
876
126
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

My wife & I spent the last 6 nights of our NE USA holiday at the Giraffe. We had spent 3 days in NYC in August so we (sort of) knew our way around the city. We found the Giraffe to be head & shoulders better than our previous hotel. The lobby was light & airy and the staff on our arrival filled us in on all the particulars of the hotel whilst offering us a cup of tea / coffee/ cold drink. Our room was quite large but wasn't blessed with a great view (across 26th St) but we aren't in NYC to get a view from the hotel room. The king bed was very comfortable, providing us with our best sleeping in 3 weeks. The bathroom was spacious & well-stocked with towels & toiletries. Breakfast provided us with more than enough food and the afternoon drinks & nibbles were a nice touch prior to the evenings' events.
Local restaurants are aplenty. Nearby is the Indian neighbourhood (you can smell the food from blocks away) with excellent and cheap meals. For a cab fare, Meat Packing and Soho is well worth exploring.
To get around the city, the subway is but two blocks away. Uptown / downtown on the green #6; across Madison Ave Park is the yellow #N/R to Times Sq and beyond.
We particularly enjoyed the ambience of a small modern hotel amonst the hustle and bustle of New York City. Management has thought of all the luxuries a 21st century traveller needs - eg. an ipod dock in the room, coffee & tea 24/7 in the lobby and free wifi - without having to shout it from the rooftops. So impressed by our find, we have already suggested to friends to book for later this year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

My Husband and I stayed at the Hotel for 2 nights prior to our cruise. We arrived at the Hotel about 3pm and were made very welcome. The porter took us to our room which was large, tastefully furnished and very clean. The bathroom was large and very well appointed. We loved the Juliet Balcony overlooking Park Avenue. The Breakfast was a pleasant surprise, lots of lovely fresh bread and rolls, fruit, cereals and more, also tea & coffee was served which was also available all day. After a long day sightseeing, we arrived back at the Hotel to a restful lounge where we were served a cold glass of wine with lots of lovely nibbles, cheese, biscuits, nuts, etc. If you didn't want wine you could choose cold soft drinks, tea or coffee. We took our drink and nibbles up to the roof terrace which was something very special. A very calm and restful Hotel.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we were staying for longer.
Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

The rooms are small, but beautifully designed with ample closets, work spaces and storage. Bedside clock radio has MPG slot, sleep music and sleep sounds. Fun! Located near several subway lines and buses, easy to get around the city. And great restaurants are near-by. Good breakfasts are included, as well as evening wine and cheese and snacks. Coffee and juice and biscotti and a fruit bowl are available all day in the lobby. Very gracious service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Stayed here while attending the US Open and really enjoyed the Giraffe. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location near Madison Square Park is convenient but not too busy, so it was relatively quiet and easy to sleep. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I particularly appreciated the complimentary breakfast in the morning and wine and appetizers in the evening, not to mention complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel.
Didn't bother me, but note the hotel does not have full room service, but you can order through two local hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Definitely a very nice hotel that is a decent value. Rooms are nicely sized and stylishly appointed. Beds are very comfortable. The Ipod dock saves you from lugging around a bunch of icrap. The high quality full automatic espresso/cappucino maker in the lobby at your disposal is a very nice touch. The continental breakfast was better than most, with very friendly service. The check and bellstaff were all very courteous.
Unfortunately they no longer have a bar up in the rooftop garden. I suppose you could bring your own up there, but somehow that's not the same. It took 3 calls and more than 30 minutes to get a bucket of ice brought up - I don't know what that was all about,. It would have been one thing if they had told us they're shorthanded for half an hour or so, but instead we were told that it was on its way up - which just wasn;t so. Finally there was a big hole in the fitted sheet in our room. So definitely a few quality misses. Closing the rooftop bar definitelly takes away from the allure of the place as well - we were really looking forward to that unique feature.
So, definitely stay at the Hotel Giraffe, but be prepared for some surprising quality misses.

Oh, and if you like Mexican, Dos Caminos around the corner on Park Avenue was really excellent. The Short Rib on soft tacos was just fantastic - the perfect balance of flavors and perfectly prepared meat. And the Cadillac margaritas were perfectly mixed. Combining fine dining with Mexican cuisine and mixology makes for a great dinner with friends. Excellent and friendly service helped as well. Dos Caminos was a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiraffe, General Manager at Hotel Giraffe, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear WestHartford_CTDal,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor.com. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed our hotel overall, particularly the size of our sleeping rooms and our staff. Thank you for also pointing out these places where we can improve our service.

I am simply mortified that it took 30 minutes for you to get your ice that you requested. After reading your review, we have revised our procedures regarding guest requests, to help us better track our response time and ensure requests are handled in a prompt manner. We pride ourselves at Hotel Giraffe on outstanding, attentive service, and this is a matter that we are taking very seriously.

In regards to finding a hole in your fitted sheet, I would like you to know that since your comment, our housekeeping department has gone through all of our sheets to ensure that they maintain the flawless standard we strive for.

I noticed that you were also disappointed with a lack of a rooftop bar. Many people enjoy the roof garden as a quiet haven to relax and unwind. Guests are welcome to bring up refreshments from our complimentary wine and cheese receptions or from room service. There are however several rooftop bars in the area we can recommend to our guests, including 230 Fifth Avenue just two blocks away which is a favorite of Hotel Giraffe guests. We are delighted to let you know, however, we are in discussions with bar operators which may possibly lead to proving bar service again upstairs for next spring and summer.

I sincerely hope that Hotel Giraffe will have the honor of welcoming you again. Please feel free to contact me directly at peter@hotelgiraffe.com, for assistance in booking your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

My daughter and I arrived tired after a transatlantic flight and were met by efficient, courteous, friendly staff and a much appreciated cup of tea! This was the sign of things to come.............from advice on restaurants,buses to Washington DC,shows on Broadway, taxi services to the airport, it was all there and delivered with a smile! Our suite was very comfortable with very polite housekeeping staff seeing to our every need.
On the day we checked out , our bags were stored all day and even later into the evening for my daughter who was staying on in New York with friends. We were even invited to take a glass of wine while I waited for my taxi to the airport.
Did I mention the lovely breakfast? served each morning in the lobby? or the wine and cheese reception held each evening with a wonderful array of cheese, vegetables, crackers and of course a glass of red /white / or sparkling wine?
A most enjoybale trip, a wonderful hotel which I have recommended to several friends since my return, some of whom have booked to stay there already!.I have even booked my husband for a night the end of Sept enroute to Norfolk, so he too can enjoy the Giraffe!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.