We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST bargain in New York City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sweet Savings
Ranked #5 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Summit, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“BEST bargain in New York City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

This is by far, the best bargain in the city. We frequently stay in Manhattan for long weekends, and this is by far the nicest hotel for the money. It is not a luxury hotel, no spa, no pool, no restaurant, no concierge, but it is a beautiful, NEW, very CLEAN, stylish boutique 12 story hotel. We had a suite, with a balcony that looked out on very noisy Park Ave. South. Great location, close to Chelsea, Union Square, the Flatiron District, the Meat Packing District and a nice walk down or uptown. 2 subway stops within one block and great restaurants surrounding. Our rate of $379. per night beats any other hotel in Manhattan for what the hotel includes. We had a 2 room suite, 2 televisions, one flat screen, complimentary bottles of water, umbrella, iron, safe, plush robes and slippers, complimentary wine and cheese in the early evening served in the lovely lobby w/ beautiful floral arrangements, and a free Continental breakfast, bagels, croissants, cereal, fruit, coffee, etc. Most hotels in the city are double that price. The service was young and efficient. We will stay at the Hotel Giraffe when we come into Manhattan for a weekend or extended stay! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Liked — Great location, cleanliness and stylish
  • Disliked — smallish bathroom, but didn't mind
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,630
    383
    60
    14
    11
See reviews for
537
859
124
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, U.K.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2007

Stayed at the Giraffe over New Year and loved it. The room could have been a little bigger, but the position and staff were excellent. By being in mid-town and opposite the subway we could get up and down town quickly, easily (& cheaply!).

The staff were always helpful and the room cleaned immaculately (although we did have to ask them to stop spraying the room with disgusting smelling room freshener). Breakfast was good , but uninspired and unvarying - although plenty of it, and the evening drinks in the reception were a particulalry pleasant way to start the evening.

Would definitely return.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and of reasonable size
  • Disliked — Could have slightly larger rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Great place for all of NY and many local restaurants open 24 hours
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

We have just returned from a New Years Eve trip to Manhattan and had a great experience at the Hotel Giraffe. We had a warm welcome and the room was finished to a high standard. The location was ideal for sight seeing, shopping and visiting the usual tourist attractions. Breakfast was good and the cheese and wine a bonus. Staff were helpful but not intrusive and we would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting this fascinating City.

  • Liked — Overall package
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Try Les Halles - great steaks just around the corner
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

This hotel is absolutely fabulous! We stayed here for 3 nights in December, and because we booked early got a great deal with the 3rd night free!

I contacted the hotel by email and explained that I was getting married in NY and was looking for a good room. On arrival in NY we visited the hotel and they could not have been more helpful. We were given a King room with balcony on the top (12th) floor. There were only 3 rooms on this floor and we were the only occupants. There is a gorgeous roof terrace here and no doubt in the summer this is quite busy but in December it was deserted so we had sole use of it! The weather was fab too, warm for us Scots!

There is complementary hot drinks available all day in the lounge and breakfast is included in the price. We were late down for breakfast and there was still plenty food available. Breakfast consists of mini cerial packs, bread rolls, jam, muffins.

The room was modern and comfortable, the bathroom was gorgeous. Robes and slippers and complementary bottled water provided. A maid turned down the bed every evening and left the radio on.

We will definately be going back to this hotel and have been recommending it to everyone!

  • Liked — Modern, friendly, intimate
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — The subway is handy for the hotel, buy a $10 or $20 card, you get extra credit ($12 and $24). Each journey is $2. Taxis are also cheap. Parks are a good place to Celeb spot. Transport to the airport is usually fairly easy, some of the minibus transfer companies are as cheap as using the MTA rail service!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

I just returned home from our stay at the hotel, and it was wonderful. The holiday season is the best time to visit NYC and the place to stay his Hotel Giraffe. My girlfriends and I enjoyed the trendy setting of the hotel and its youthful location. Service was great, friendly staff and a pleasant ambiance. I will be sure to visit again. Thank you for all your hospitality!

  • Liked — Service.
  • Disliked — Did not take advantage of the Concierge service.
  • Tips/Secrets — Take advantage of the concierges. (They are well trained)
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2006

I really liked our stay here. We were given a stay here as an engagement gift. The room was small but the decor was very modern and tasteful. Really nice flat screen TV (the front desk has a large selection on DVDs) and a very comfy bed. Bathroom was decent sized, had good water pressure and was very clean. Cool decor, granite countertops (I think). Small balcony but the view wasn't much. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

My name is John. I just returned to Camarillo, CA last week from a wonderful vacation in NYC. I have family on Long Island but I wanted to stay in Manhattan to get the full city experience. I would just like to say your staff was fantastic, and your rooms were quite comfortable. Rest assured, when I return next year to visit NY, I know where I will be making my reservations..thanks again!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.