We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In New York For the Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK WITH 'TRIP' AND SAVE
Ranked #5 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
1 review
“Best Hotel In New York For the Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Hands down, this is my favorite hotel in New York. I recently stayed at the Hotel Giraffe for a second time, and it simply proved that my prior experience was no fluke. The staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful; the rooms are clean, well-appointed and (with their high ceilings) don't feel like your typically-cramped NYC hotel; and the available extras, like a continental breakfast, simply make the Giraffe and incredible value. My only concern is that the secret will get out and I'll no longer be able to get a room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,961
    448
    65
    15
    11
See reviews for
660
1,014
144
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield, england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stayed at the Giraffe early March and what a find. We were originally going to stay in Times Square but are we glad we didn't. I won't go into massive detail because the other reviewes have said it all. The location was perfect, room spot on and very clean, good breakfast and excellent choice of cheese and wine the one night we tried it. Staff couldn't do enough for you and even printed out some theatre tickets for us. This was our first stay in New York and the hotel's location was perfect for all the touristy stuff and for some excellent restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend to friends (and have already to one who is staying in September) and would stay again on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

A wonderful find - the hotel is as good as previous reviews indicate. We have just returned after a 5 night stay at the Hotel Giraffe. The service was superb, nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were courteous and eager to help throughout our stay. The room was slightly on the small side, but that was a minor thing, outweighed by the cleanliness; qualityof bedding, and general standard of amenities. iin addition to fluffy bathrobes and slippers, there were evena few well chosen books for us to read.
The location was good,an easy subway ride to Times Square and several good restaurants within short walking distance.
All in all an excellent choice -would we stay there again?Absolutely!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

After doing a lot of research months in advance we finally settled on Hotel Giraffe. We found the price very reasonable considering its "tripadvisor Top 10 status". Why stay in somewhere not so great, when you can stay at this amazing hotel for the same price?

Even though we were only there for the night we felt very welcome on arrival. The service was fantastic and friendly. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. We were there to visit an office in Union Square, so the location was ideal. The breakfast was ample and top quality, a really lovely start to the day.

Our shuttle driver had never heard of the hotel and as much as i'd love to spread the word, i hope it remains a hidden gem that continues to offer fantastic value accommodation with top notch service. Other hotels in New York should take note.

We will definitely be returning on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I just retruned home from NYC and can't say enough great things about the Hotel Giraffe. From the moment we pulled up to the front door to the moment we left the hotel the staff were top notch. The rooms are very clean and the continental breakfast is more than enough for anyone to start their day. I will be back in NYC and after this stay I will be staying at the Hotel Giraffe. Great Hotel and Great Staff.

P.S. Jose your directions to the closest gas station were bang on.....thank you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Just home from 6 nights in NYC. Giraffe is simply outstanding. Location, service, room size, breakfast, staff - all just incredible. I left a necklace in the hotel safe and they were so good about arranging it's safe return to me. We got engaged in NYC and stayed in hotel 2 years ago so we when we decided to return for a late honeymoon the only hotel we had in mind was Giraffe. Looked at other places but knew we'd always compare to Giraffe and it's simply unbeatable. On our arrival the manager sent up a lovely bottle of Prosecco as a wedding gift. We are going to return again in Sept (fingers crossed) and hope Giraffe has availability given the fact it's becoming so well known & popular!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

What a great find. This was one of the finest hotels that we have visited in over 40 years of travel. The staff was excellent. They were not only courteous, but knowledgeable and very helpful. The hotel felt brand new with excellent furnishings and ambiance. We kept looking for something negative to report on this wonderful hotel, but could not find any negative items.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,955 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,070 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#13 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#7 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.