We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK WITH 'TRIP' AND SAVE
Ranked #5 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

I found the Hotel Giraffe through this site and based on the awesome reviews, I decided to give it a try. The hotel was very nice. We loved the fact that the doors in the room open to a small balcony. The breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day. The girls working the breakfast remembered how I took my coffee, which I thought was great. The only complaint that I have and keep in mind I am a complete bed snob, is that I thought the bed was very hard. If this hotel had the comfy beds that I have found at other nice hotels, I would rate this as my favorite hotel by far. If you are not a princess and the pea kind of girl, you will love this place. I loved it regardless. Be sure to check out the rooftop terrace. We ate at Dos Caminos which is attached to the hotel and thought it was the best mexican we have ever had. The guacamole was to die for. Also try Tabla if you enjoy Indian.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,997
    456
    67
    15
    11
See reviews for
677
1,035
144
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed 5 nights in Giraffe and enjoyed our stay. Hotel location was good, if you prefer something else than just a tourist populated area. Area seemed to be very safe and not too busy: we were able to sleep our nights, although you could hear the traffic noise, but that's New York, I guess. Our queen-bedroom was surprisingly spacious and very clean. Only small minus we can think is the views from the room windows, or merely the lack of the views. Breakfast room was home-like and staff serving it very friendly. Staff overall was helpful and friendly. - We definatelly woud recommend this hotel for people looking for an elegant and peaceful stay in New York!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I don't have a bad thing to say about this hotel.
Great location? Check. Right near Madison Square Park and the flatiron district.
Finely appointed rooms? Check. Great decor, granite surfaces, comfy beds.
Free breakfast? Check. Delicious, and graciously served by smiling hotel employees.
Lack of street noise? Check. Even on the 3rd floor, I never heard a thing.
Free wi-fi? Check.
Attentive and polite staff? Check.
I could go on and on, but you get the point. I'm loathe to write this positive review--I don't want the hotel to become too popular and ruin my future fun!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed at the Giraffe over Memorial Day weekend. The hotel is very nice--not outstanding,, but very nice. The so-called Queen Deluxe room is a bit small, but comfortable. The location is great--walking distance to Union Square to the south and Grand Central for subway connections to the north. The hotel has a continental breakfast and wine and cheese event daily, which are really nice. Even though the hotel was full there seemed to be plenty of seating and no shortage of food. Service requests were filled quickly, which is always a pleasure. All in all, I would recommend the Giraffe and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Giraffe in December 08 for 10days, with my parents.
We were in a suite. The service was really good, the room was spacious. My parents slept in the double room in the suite, while I slept in the sofa bed (ok the matress was not great, but was ok for me) for 3 the suite was perfect.
We loved the breakfast and the cheese and wine in the evening, during the week day there was a pianist. This hotel is a bit retro in its decoration which is so charming.

The staff was always friendly (maybe one of the staff at the cheese and wine evenings could have smile a bit more :()

But overall our experience was really good, I will come back there

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

On arrival after 4pm our room still wasn't ready so we had to sit around for housekeeping to finish - not ideal after a long flight.

Room itself was lovely - very large, bonus that you could open the French windows to get fresh air in - or even cool drinks out on the small balcony. Room was very clean and well set out. Heating/ air con all worked really well. No good views just looking into another building.

Found the staff to be chatty & helpful...

Only a handful of rooms per landing which made for a quiet stay! As no through passing traffic of people like in other hotels that have long corridors.

Hotel offers a turndown service of chocs, your music put on and bottled water replaced - although the free water was a bit hit or miss in being replaced.

The free Wi-Fi was excellent full use of this was made for checking out local places for dinner and attractions in town. Hotel also offered free use of a laptop and printer in the lobby area.

The hotel is in a chic part of town and although the street is rather busy with a higher floored room it couldn't be heard. Lots of locals out walking their pedigree dogs. Carbon monoxide detectors along with the normal fire ones - good to see both types of alarms in the room.

Easy walking distance to the subway station or walk able to Times Sq - just across the block from the Flatiron building and nice little park area. Nearby is curry hill with lots of good places to eat esp. vegetarian’s options.

Breakfast was free - continental style - bagels, eggs, toast, pastries, cereal and choices of coffees, juices & teas all self service. The hotel also held wine & cheers most evenings which was also free along with some piano music.

Lobby very small but nice - marble throughout - this also doubles as the breakfast area in the morning. Few local papers are put out for guests to read.

Stayed here for 5 nights in Feb '09 - this cost £1,100 a bit pricey considering there was no on site pool - not even at the gym club they give passes out to. All in all I would say a 9/10 for this hotel. Would like to see some better deals done to get guests in as staff we spoke to said they were running an almost empty hotel and were on the look out for tourists.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Giraffe for a long weekend in New York back in April. Although I'd booked a superior room, I arrived extremely late in the evening and ended up with a small suite on the eight floor. For NYC, the room was huge, with high ceilings and a real feeling of space. I also took a peek at a superior room and that was pretty sizeable too.

Staff were friendly and the free breakfast and evening drinks were very welcome. The hotel is independent and well maintained; service is good and the staff welcoming. The only minus point was a dinner reservation made by the front desk - wrong time, wrong restaurant and not confirmed with a note under my door or a phone call. But this was a small point on an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

Location is good, close to the subway and the flat iron building. I'd defintely recommend this for anyone looking for a cosy, charming hotel with high standards of service. The roof terrace is a bonus too.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,999 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,614 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#13 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,705 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.