We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Great hotel!”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Savings
Ranked #5 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Moss
1 review
““Great hotel!””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel for our visit to NYC in July 2014 and come back to Norway early in august.
From the greeting at the entrance to checkout six days later, it was a perfect visit.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast was first class with a choice that would cater for anyone and a nice touch was every afternoon the was cheese and wine available on a help you self basis plus there was coffee and biscuit available throughout the day. There was always a young clever lady in the reading room during breakfast that kept items well stocked and tables clean. She was also very willing to get anything you may need. It was the same during the evening wine & cheese reception.
Whenever we visit NYC we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Very fine room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    401
    62
    15
    11
See reviews for
564
904
126
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I've stayed in dozens of hotels in NYC and this was the worst quality sleep I can recall. We stayed overnight and can only guess by the stellar reviews that must have been given the worst room in the house, for if all rooms were like 203, The Giraffe is AWFUL!! Our room was tiny, mattress was cheap and hard, the pillows terrible & armchairs flimsy and too cheap & awkward for an average person to sit in. The toilet ran so loud and often that I was forced to turned off the water connection during the night to get some sleep!!! Even the remote was defective.
Staff were friendly but uninformed about simple matters like how much it would cost to clean a pair of jeans & other routine hotel related questions.
The elevator was ridiculously slow and while the continental breakfast was quite good, it was OVERSOLD as 'free breakfast', thus our disappointment when we went expecting bacon, eggs & hash browns. We should have asked for a refund for the room cost was just not justified.

Room Tip: Avoid room 203 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiraffe, General Manager at Hotel Giraffe, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Erika,

I am truly devastated to read that you found your stay at our hotel so disappointing. We certainly strive to ensure every guest enjoys a comfortable and relaxing experience and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address each of your observations starting with items we feel we can correct right away.

Although our own website clearly states that we serve a complimentary a Continental breakfast buffet, as does our booking engine, I indeed found many online travel websites where it is generically promoted as a ‘free breakfast’. We always want our guests to be aware of exactly what they are reserving and would never want to ‘oversell’ our signature amenities.
We do not have quite as much control over the way the other websites such as Expedia describe it, but since we believe you booked through Expedia, we are now in communication with all the major online travel agencies, sharing with them your perspective on the importance of specifying that it is a Continental Breakfast. For other readers who are interested in the breakfast specifics, please feel free to read our website which states: Offerings include oatmeal with berries, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, fresh fruit salad and whole fruits, assorted croissants, mini-muffins, scones, Danishes and pastries, bagels with cream cheese, peanut butter, preserves and butter, fresh orange and cranberry juice, assorted cereals, coffee and assorted teas. Our guests are also welcome to have a guest, friend or family member join them for breakfast, with our compliments. By the way, that is also the case with our 3 hour complimentary wine and cheese reception each evening.

I am sorry that our Guest Service Agents did not have the answer to the dry cleaning pricing question that you were looking for. You question is actually far more rare than it would seem; not any one of us can remember being asked that before. Nevertheless, getting a list from the dry cleaners and having it available for quick reference is a very practical idea we can implement immediately, and we thank you for letting us know. After reading your comments, myself and the entire staff have also reviewed our service standards and expectations. I can tell you with full confidence that the team has redoubled their commitment to address any type of inquiry or request with the greatest of care no matter how great or how small.

I am also so sorry to hear you were uncomfortable with the bed. I went up to see the room with a few of our managers to see if something was wrong and it actually felt fine for us, but we are not dismissing your feelings. Surely every traveler has different comfort levels. That is why we place on every bed our Sleep Essentials Menu, which offers complimentary options such as foam mattress toppers, memory foam pillows, Sleep Phones and satin eye masks to help customize each guest’s experience. We have actually just recently changed the presentation of these options so that they are more visible to guests upon their arrival. Perhaps you stayed with us before the new bolder presentation was created and somehow missed the bedding options available to you. By the way, these options are available on our booking engine when you book via our own website. I can only say that we want all our guests to be happy and comfortable and we would have gladly worked with you to find the combination of mattress toppers and pillows that made you feel more at home. We are always open to suggestions on this, so if you could share with me any specific bedding amenity you would have liked to enjoy during your stay, we would be glad to consider adding it to our options.

While I do not know the dates of your stay, I have reported your notes on the water connection and the remote control to our Chief Engineer who checked the room with me today for any issues that may have occurred during your stay. It is not complaint we have recently on record previous to this review. We did not find any issues in the room while we were inspecting it, but perhaps the issue was already resolved.

Once again, we are deeply saddened by your disappointment. I would welcome a chance to speak with you directly to learn more from your experience and to see if another room or one of our other hotels would suit your preferences better. As for room sizes, the queen bedded room you booked is 280 square feet as stated on our website, which I feel is a very respectable size hotel room in New York, and additionally offers a little Juliet Balcony, but please know that if you prefer a larger room, our other room types are indeed larger and in fact, one third of our accommodations are one bedroom suites ranging from 385-435 square feet. You can see virtual tours of the rooms and suites right here on TripAdvisor along with photos taken by travelers themselves, so you can get an excellent idea of what we offer before you decide. If you would like to take some time with me to select something more to your taste, we would be thrilled to show you the full level of service and comfort we have build our reputation on. You can reach me at peter@hotelgiraffe.com.

Sincerely,
Peter Velk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Giraffe for 4 nights this past July. We loved staying here. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We loved the continental breakfast and the wine/cheese every afternoon was great after a day of exploring the city. This hotel is in a perfect location within walking distance to the Empire State building and the flat iron district. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We've just had a wonderful few days at the Giraffe and can't praise it highly enough. The room was immaculate and beautifully clean and the beds were really comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly. The complementary breakfast and cheese and wine were just the icing on the cake. We found the location handy for the Empire State Building and for the 4/5/6 subway lines. Very highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

A simple no nonsense friendly hotel in mid town (near Flatiron). Great wine and cheese from 5-8pm and great continental breakfast served in the lobby. Very friendly staff esp Gabi serving the above. Irving on the door also v helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakskov, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

If you want views, bacon, bad service or poor location: find another hotel. If you want really good atmosphere, perfect service, nice breakfast, cozy "wine and dine" afternoons, spacy rooms: choose this hotel. Really recommendable at all levels.

Room Tip: Get a room towards 26th Street for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Nearly everything about this hotel was perfect, but the best thing was the friendly and helpful staff. Located centrally within walking distance of the Flat Iron, Empire State and Times square the hotel is relatively small and has a nice personal touch. The complimentary breakfast and cheese and wine buffet in the evening are a real bonus. A special mention has to go to the catering team and concierge, especially Gabi and Cody who stood out amongst a very strong team. I recommend this hotel to couples and families alike.

Room Tip: This is central New York so all rooms will be a little noisy, but the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.