We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Savings & Freebies
Ranked #5 of 451 hotels in New York City
Orlando, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Visited from UK, stayed at hotel for 8 nights last week of May. Location was great, very close to various subway stations for easy access to whole of New York City and beyond whilst being away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square. Free breakfast and Wine/Cheese evening very nice touch however a little repetitive, some variety would make this even better. Free WI-FI throughout the building was a definitely plus, great download speed and never lost connection and all in room amenities were great (fridge provided free of charge etc). Room and bathroom good size for family of three however queen size beds little smaller than expected TV channel were extensive to allow for rest after long day seeing the sights. Some city noise could be heard from the eighth floor but nothing to worry about. Complimentary hot/cold drinks and snacks available all day as well. Staff were courteous and helpful and provided any information when we needed it and even helped my son find a game website on their free to use guest laptop in the lobby which could also be used for printing out tickets and airline passes again all free of charge. Only downside was the hotel is expensive (as with most NYC hotels), however if we find a deal to reduce the cost, we would absolutely stay here again without hesitation!

Room Tip: ring up before you stay to get a fridge in your room, very helpful on sunny days for a nice cold bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,567
    374
    59
    13
    11
See reviews for
515
823
123
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

A late review, but wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay here. Lovely room, and so nice to have a balcony view in the city. Great neighbourhood to be in, and not noisy at all. Excellent service from the staff of course.

The best part was to have a breakfast in the morning and the cheese and wine in the evening, unusual in the US and much appreciated. It was good to have something to eat before setting off for a days sightseeing, and great to relax in the evening with a glass of wine after a hard day hitting the shops.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Two adults and two teenagers fitted in the two double bed room fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great location for our stay in NY, after a stressful drive into the city with my companion, we could not have been more graciously greeted, and the wine hour was a real plus! Rooms were small and it was very pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

After some time searching other hotels we returned to The Giraffe five years after our initial visit. The location in Midtown is perfect if you want to be in the hustle and bustle of everything. The hotel is now located in the up and coming area of Nomad with its excellent restaurants. Staff as always consistently courteous, helpful and professional. The café staff warm and welcoming and the breakfast tasty and plentiful. The evening wine and cheese with pianist always a treat. The room with balcony was very large, fantastic bed for a very fussy couple, views on to Park Avenue South and toward Madison Square Garden. Excellent facilities, immaculate level of comfort and cleanliness.
The cost does reflect the quality of the hotel, with added tax did exceed £2,000 for seven nights, a little steep but absolutely no complaints otherwise. We have stayed in a number of hotels in New York, this is a favourite.

Room Tip: Front facing, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Booked this on the basis of reviews and was very pleased. So nice to have a room that is actually larger than the bed so you can move around a bit (we had a king size room) and the bathroom is pretty decent too. Staff were helpful and courteous, although they seemed to resort to google for most specific questions - which I suppose is better than guessing? Cheese and wine and nibbles in the evening is a nice touch. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for six nights and had a great visit. Room was spacious and the service was efficient but also very relaxed. Great area for bars and restaurants - recommend The Grey Bar on 26th at Broadway. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I booked this hotel based on it's TripAdvisor rating and reviews and was not disappointed. Having been I can completely understand why this place is so highly rated. It's not much to look at from the front, not what you'd call a landmark building but the WOW factor really happens when you step instead.

This hotel has some of the friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever come across. Nothing was too much trouble and you were always greeted with a sincere smile, with staff often pre-empting how they could help you - be it carrying your luggage, hailing you a cab or just filling up your water glass.

Our room was lovely, spacious and clean. The free wi-fi worked really well. Yes there's a little noise to be heard outside at night but you are in the centre of one of the busiest cities in the world - what do you expect? The sound-proofing is pretty good, my sleep wasn't disturbed and I am a light sleeper. The location is excellent, you're in the centre of everything and nothing is really too much of a walk - if you bring comfortable shoes! The neighbourhood is completely safe, we felt perfectly happy walking around at night.

The complimentary breakfast was lovely, though very busy, sometimes hard to find a seat but the hotel did bring out extra tables to try and help this. Wine and cheese at night was fabulous and so welcome after a long day walking around the city. Good quality wine too!

We really couldn't have had a better experience at Hotel Giraffe and if I ever return to NYC, I will be making sure I stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.