We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I heart Giraffe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK WITH 'TRIP' AND SAVE
Ranked #5 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I heart Giraffe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Please don't look at the Giraffe because then I can't have it all to myself! Excellent location, beyond-gracious staff, comfortable and oversized-by-NY-standards rooms = high value given all of those assets. We love staying here and chose it for a couple of anniversary trips, our 14th the most recent on the last weekend of March. Gramercy neighborhood is super, great restaurants all around and right on subway.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,842
    432
    65
    15
    11
See reviews for
622
959
134
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The only negative about the hotel is I had just one night to stay here this time! I've been to NYC many times and this is by far the best hotel that I've stayed at there. It was clean, the staff were all super nice and helpful and it's in a great location, on Park and 26th. It's pretty close to at least a couple of subways.

They had complimentary fruit, muffins, cookies, water, and coffee in the afternoon. I wasn't there in the early evening, but I believe they have complimentary cheese in the late afternoon. I also checked out before breakfast, but I believe it too is complimentary.

The room was extremely large, especially for NYC standards and the amenities in the room were nice.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband and I had a delightful weekend at Hotel Giraffe. The staff was consistently helpful and gracious, offering assistance with things like filling our ice bucket or hailing a taxi, and pointing out the many wonderful features of the hotel like the complimentary wine and cheese hour and the discount at the affiliated restaurant, Bread & Tulips (which was delicious!). We also hosted a gathering of 20 friends in the bar at Bread & Tulips, and we were able to reserve the lounge area without paying any additional fees. Our room was beautiful and even had a small balcony. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joinville, SC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed with my wife at this hotel, which is well located, close to subway station. The staff is well trained and helpful. The breakfast is well served. The room and facilities are clean and comfortable.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronte, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Giraffe has become my standard hotel in New York. Functionally located on the 6 train line (that serves most the places I visit). Deeply friendly. Comfortable. Clean. Doesn't nickel-and-dime you with extra charges.

I have now spent about 30 nights there - and I have plenty of other options. Its almost home.

--

As a regular guests there are only two minuses. The area of New York is not the most fascinating and the elevators are slow - often very slow. But these are quibbles about a great establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms ending in 1. They are the suites on the quiet side. Rooms 801, 901, 1001, 1101 etc are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here on business March 27-29, 2014. The hotel staff has excellent and very attentive customer service. They anticipate or assist with every need. You don't experience service like that often. Great rooms with everything you need, nice chocolates at turn down service and great amenitites through the day (breakfast, coffee/snacks, wine/cheese reception), etc. Location is great too. Near everything, but tucked away on a quieter street.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

A perfect hotel! We went with our 3,5 yr old son and we all loved it. Perfect service. Relaxed surroundings. Perfect location. I really recommend it to everyone. We will come back next time we're in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Business Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.