We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a home away from home in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Savings
Ranked #5 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a home away from home in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

In all my travels I have never come across a warmer, friendlier, attentive hotel than Giraffe. 24/7 coffee cheese snacks and drinks free and a chocolate on my pillow!! And it's all done in a comfortable environment!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    401
    62
    15
    11
See reviews for
564
904
126
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Hotel Giraffe was a splurge for us, but well worth it! The staff was great, especially JR & Chris at the front desk who patiently helped me review how to get where, made arrangements for me and looked up a laundry. The ladies at the morning breakfast took such great care of us, preparing a beautiful tray when we ate upstairs one day. Loved the wine and cheese in the evening! We had a 2 bed balcony suite and enjoyed being able to look out at all the activity. Nightly turndown service was great - it was a pleasure to come back to a room that was lit softly with music playing. Location was great for all of our adventures - within a few blocks of two different subway lines. Make sure to ask the front desk for the NYC Concierge map and you will easily be able to find your way around Manhattan on your own.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Okay, here is an honest review:
I lived in New York for a decade, and I have traveled to New York for at least one week per year for the last eleven years. I have stayed at more than a few hotels. The Giraffe has the biggest sink area, the strongest water pressure and some of the nicest staff I have ever experienced. It felt like home away from home. It is efficient and clean. The towels are thick. And the service is attentive.
We stayed in Room 706, a King Suite, with our 9 and 14-y-o kids, and it was exceptionally comfortable. The other reviews are correct. Book now.

Room Tip: 706, a King Balcony Suite, has two large closets, two TVs, an excellent bathroom and a large sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel staff are great, service was excellent. They where very helpful with questions and any extra arrangements that we requested including tickets to shows, and car service from and to the airport. Rooms are clean, bed was comfortable, all the little things are included in the room, and a couple of extra's such as comp. water bottles each day, wine and cheese in lobby everyday, a good selection for breakfast, and a full coffee bar in lobby.
The hotel is located a bit south of Time Square, but if you mind walking a bit, it is an excellent choice.
The only draw back was the restaurant located in the hotel. It is not actually part of the hotel, but you can access it from the hotel elevator. The food is okay, not great, service is okay, but not great. You receive a 20% discount as a guest, but they add an 18% service charge, without advising you. But don't let this spoil your choice, there are plenty of places to eat in New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I cannot say enough positive things about Hotel Giraffe. The hotel itself was small and beautiful. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast and wine/cheese reception was incredibly convenient and also delicious. The price was also unbeatable for NYC. I will definitely be returning to Hotel Giraffe in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights in a king suite and could not have been happier with the choice. Room was nicely laid out and everything was top quality. An example: the door to the bathroom was solid wood with a large panel of privacy glass. The included continental breakfast was a great option as was the afternoon wine and cheese. The staff was professional, friendly and obviously into taking care of guests. The location was ideal for our weekend plans. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Go for the suite if it fits your budget. One person can sleep late while the other reads the paper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Lovely hotel, extremely friendly staff. The location is very convenient for people planning to visit Broadway shows, as the hotel is just a couple of blocks away from Madison Square Park and the yellow NQR line, which you pick up in Times Square. Bread and Tulips has excellent food in a casual setting. The breakfast options each morning are just what you need -- cereals, pastries, oatmeal, fruit -- and the late afternoon wine bar is a great way to relax after a long day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.