We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Giraffe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Savings
Ranked #5 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at the Giraffe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the Giraffe for one night and had a very nice stay. The really nice touch which the Giraffe did well was the breakfast selection in the morning which was very relaxed and also afternoon cheese and wine. Only negative was that lounge area was quite cold and a number of other people were still wrapped up. Saying that the food/drink quality was good and the staff were helpful and friendly.

We booked a standard double room and although it was clean and stylish, it was small with not a lot of space to move around, which we were slightly disappointed with. We were on a low floor and there was noise from the street but nevertheless had a good stay.

I would stay at the Giraffe again should we be in that part of NYC.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,702
    400
    62
    15
    11
See reviews for
564
903
126
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I come to NYC 2 to 3 times per year and usually stay a week at a time and I am always looking for a Hotel that feels like home. This is the place!!! The rooms are just the right size with a very comfortable bed, nice sheets and excellent pillows. The bathroom has everything you could possibly need and was very well kept. The wifi was very good and the breakfast was simple but to the point. However, the best part of my visit was the excellent service by the staff that were always willing to assist and help with a huge smile on their face.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Location is excellent: very close to 28th st subway station which can take directly up to Downtown Financial District (Wall St. or Ground Zero) or in the opposite direction to Grand Central Station or Central Park (Metropolitan Museum) Area is safe and nice looking - real New York, not like touristy Time Sq, walking distance to Madison Sq or Union Sq We managed to walk from the hotel to Time Sq in 20 min
Hotel is very cosy with rooms of a descent size (for New York), clean, very well equipped. Corner suite with a balcony is a real gem with views over Park Ave Windows do have double glazing and good sound proofness, so we have not mentioned any serious disturbing street noise (anyway its New York) Bed was quite firm but very very comfortable (which was perfect for us but one can request a softer mattress topper)
Other good points:
good complimentary continental breakfast (in NY they can charge you 20-40USD for a breakfast): boiled eggs, fruit salad, toasts and pastries, corn flakes with milk, fruit and juices
complimentary coffee, tea and pastries all day through
5-8 pm complimentary wine and snacks with live piano (sometimes) very convinient to have a bite and relax in the lobby after daily tourist 'runs' through the city
rooftop terrace (actually no views but very nice and cosy small area for a coffee with a cigarret if you smoke)
Compared to other options definitely this hotel deserves its high ranking in tripadvisor, would come there again

Room Tip: Corner suite with balcony at 9th floors was wonderful, our first suite without balcony on the same f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aynho, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was my first ever visit to the US and I had booked the hotel as a surprise birthday treat for my boyfriend. The hotel was great, we had a spacious room with a little balcony and complimentary bottles of water. The location was great and within walking distance of the Flatiron building, Madison Square Park within a few more blocks you can get to Empire State building and Macys.

We loved the fact we had access to free wifi, coffee and biscuits 24/7, fab breakfast which included fresh fruit, bagels, croissants, pastry, hard boiled eggs, cereal, OJ, and different types of coffee drink.

The real asset were the staff, in particular Simona who was so lovely and pointed out some really great places to visit and things to do, as well as Mike who was able to give some great place to get food. They both made us feel so welcomed and because of the attentive service generally by all the staff, I will definitely come back and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

So unlike Manhattan, So good...
This hotel does not have doormen in fancy uniform, nor a Lobby that looks like the living room of the rich and famous. What it has are very comfortable and cozy rooms (We had a balcony! in Manhattan!), great atmosphere and the best service we ever got in Manhattan: always smiling, always attentive.
It is not located at the centre of things, but it is mere 200m from a metro station.
Great hotel. Will definitley go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I really like all their hotels, but Library hotel and Giraffe are my favourite. Good comfortable beds, very good service everywhere in the hotel.

Breakfast very limited, but the cheese and wine afternoon offer is really a nice gesture and good as a break from busy NYC.

I stayed in a suite, I can't recommend it enough.

Looking forward to be back.

Room Tip: Go for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our stay with Hotel Giraffe was more than we could have expected. All of the staff is welcoming and the hotel itself was beautiful. The morning started with a full breakfast included for all the guests that left us full for most of the day! If you need a snack or a quick coffee pick me up, they have an espresso machine and pastries available all day, and to top it off every evening you can join them for their complimentary wine and cheese reception.

The atmosphere was relaxed and the beds were comfortable! We both had to get some work done while we were in NYC so we appreciated the free WIFI at the hotel. The location allowed us to walk to most places or jump on the nearby train if we were going further.

We would definitely recommend Hotel Giraffe if you are visiting NYC, they will spoil you during your stay so much you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.