We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant and understated, with a genuine hospitality ethos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Savings
Ranked #5 of 459 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“elegant and understated, with a genuine hospitality ethos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

So refreshing to stay at a hotel where hospitality is really the keyword: complimentary wifi, aperitif in the evening and breakfast in the morning all on the house -- and with a smile. The hotel has an amazing location just a few blocks from Union square, on Park Avenue. The rooftop terrace on a sunny day is spectacular and in the evenings very romantic. The balcony from the queen room on the 11th floor where we stayed gave a lovely view of city life underneath while being relatively quiet at night. Understated and elegant rooms, at first I thought the hotel wouldn't me my style, but my first impression was completely overturned during the stay. This hotel will grow on you so much you will be heartbroken to leave. Helpful, professional and un-intrusive staff. Highly recommended, especially if you can find a last minute deal on it.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, if possible to minimise traffic noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    401
    62
    15
    11
See reviews for
564
904
126
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at he Hotel Giraffe. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. Loved the wine in the lobby in the evening, and coffee and breakfast in the morning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

In the words of my mother " if you don't have anything nice to say, then don't sat anything at all", and it is with this matra that i write my first review.

The hotel is beyond excellent for the price you pay, having travelled to New York many times, this hotel is by far the best value for money I have ever stayed in. The staff were exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful.
Even though me and my cousins left the room in an absolute pigsty, we came back everyday to find it looking like a palace. This is above and beyond what is expected of any housekeeper and we can only apologise for out untidiness.
The location is superb and the breakfast and evening snacks are a pleasant extra.

Once again I would like to thank all the staff for a incredible stay and wonderful experience for my cousins birthday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just back from a great week in New York staying at the giraffe. Lovely hotel, good location , would definitely recommend. Breakfast set us up for the day. Location allows you set off in any direction. Check out the restaurant down stairs .

Room Tip: Enjoy a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Sophisticated but comfortable, Giraffe hotel provides a wonderful basis to explore New York. The lobby is an inviting and lovely place to eat breakfast and savor a cup of coffee while watching the city before venturing out on your own. The hotel staff is effective but not warm. The rooms are good sized by NY standards. The evening wine and cheese is also worth attending. The locale is centralized but you will have a fair walk to the theater district or to lower Manhattan. There are restaurants nearby and its far enough away from Times Square madness to allow you to enjoy NYC at its best. We loved the piano in the lobby and in the evenings they had live music. A real treat!

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here over Independance Day in 2012. we had a family room with two double beds. We really could not fault this hotel and the staff were incredibly helpful. The location suited us as it was just that bit less hectic!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nice hotel with ok service. The receptionists and the door-men are very young and not as formal as the staff at many other hotels. For me (lady 55 years old) this was a bit hard to get used to.
Big rooms with nice beds. Walking-distance to Union Square. Park Avenue is a very calm street down here. You sleep well, but you have to walk some blocks to find shops and restaurants.
A breakfast is served in the lobby every morning, and there is a wine-reception every afternoon. Both free of charge.
Good italien restaurant in the basement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.