We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best place to Stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK WITH 'TRIP' AND SAVE
Ranked #5 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best place to Stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Giraffe upgraded our room when we arrived. The room was very clean and well decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The doorman was very friendly. The front desk staff were helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The restaurant on site was excellent. the lobby was comfortable and they always had refreshments available. This hotel is probably the best value in New york

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,966
    449
    65
    15
    11
See reviews for
660
1,018
144
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We returned to New York for the March Break holiday having enjoyed warm weather and a great stay at the Kimpton Eventi last year. Although the weather let us down this time the Giraffe was in line with our high expectations. We were in an 11th floor two queen room with balcony which was smart, modern and more than big enough for a family of 3. There is still no escape from the New York street noise but we got used to it and we heard nothing from adjacent rooms on the floor (more important to me). We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, which offered nice fresh fruit and excellent mini-pastries in a civilized atmosphere. The informal wine and cheese evenings,with a nice balance of tourists and business people, were a joy with a glass or two of prosecco to help wind down after a busy day.Overall I would return for either business or pleasure as I find the boutique hotels to be so much more personal and homely compared to the cookie cutter chains. Finally, yes we did prefer this to the Eventi, okay it was further from Macy's/Time Square but the added touches such as the breakfast and the lighter, larger bedrooms made the difference. A good selection of restaurants not to far away, Eataly -good luck getting in, Molly's in Gramercy - best and most authentic pub in North America in my opinion and Bread and Tulips in the hotel, which did a good pizza and offered excellent value with the hotel discount. Enjoy !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The good points...
Staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. The complimentary continental breakfast is adequate and the Cheese and Wine in the evening is a nice touch. Complimentary coffee and cookies 24 hours a day is also good. The room was an average double size, ok for two people. Good location (unless you are here over the St Patricks Day weekend and the whole of the US Army is camped over the road and practicing from 3am-7am!). About 25 minutes walk from Times Square and 15 minutes to Empire State Building and Macy's.

The not so good points...
It is rather noisy outside 24 hours a day (army or not) but I guess it would be worse if we were closer to Times Square. The electrics in our room were slightly dodgy with my Wife getting a shock at one point! Holes in bed sheets and quilt covers. Shower was a bit limp and shower curtains are just not right in any hotel!

Overall a pleasant stay but probably won't come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Not many rooms to choose from as this is a very small hotel. The higher the better o get away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Staff was very helpful and the hotel itself was beautiful. We hung out in the upstairs garden quite a bit and took advantage of the free breakfasts. Amazing location as well. close to a lot of attractions

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed one night at the end of our stay. We booked two interconnecting rooms with balconies to accommodate 2 adults and 2 teenagers. They did a great deal on the rooms in the end because there had been a misunderstanding about an email enquiry I had made before booking, for which they apologised promptly and offered a discount on the rooms.
The rooms were clean, well appointed and spacious. The service was excellent and we loved the drinks and nibbles in the early evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sophisticated and cozy hotel—it’s rare to stay somewhere that has both of these qualities. The staff is warm and inviting, always greeting you with a smile. The small attentions to detail are captured at this establishment—complimentary continental breakfast, a phone call to confirm your reservation, and a phone call to your room after check-in to make sure all is well are just a few examples. The balcony suite was lovely—the layout, furnishings, décor, and Juliet balcony combine together to create a comfortable and unique room. Charming “find” in NYC—can’t wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Once again we'd like to extend a huge thank-you to Trip Advisor for leading us to a fantastic hotel. Although I used to live in Manhattan, that was many years ago, and my knowledge of current New York City hotels is nonexistent. So my husband and I turned to Trip Advisor and booked the Hotel Giraffe.

Every lovely thing that people express regarding this hotel is absolutely correct. The Hotel Giraffe is beautiful, comfortable, clean, and convenient. It is luxurious without being pretentious, modern without being minimalist. The wine and cheese at 5pm is a treat, breakfast is above adequate and tasty. The lounge/dining area is full of dark wood, large windows, and a lot of light. The staff is attentive and pleasant. Our room, while facing Park Avenue, was still very quiet. And the bed was ridiculously comfortable.

Many reviewers have mentioned how easy it is to access a taxi from the Giraffe's location.
I'd like to add that Manhattan public transit is also easily accessed from the hotel and generally runs very well. Bus stops in all directions are within a block or two. You can use:
http://tripplanner.mta.info/MyTrip/ui_web/customplanner/tripplanner.aspx
to customize your trip. As well, from the Hotel Giraffe, you are within walking distance to many interesting cultural locations and venues.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Giraffe and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,958 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,563 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#6 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.