We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for NY break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sweet Savings & Freebies
Ranked #5 of 449 hotels in New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel for NY break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The giraffe is a great boutique hotel - excellent service with good sized rooms. Breakfast is relaxed with lovely pastries and bagels. The cheese and wine every evening was a great addition. The staff are really accommodating and happy to help with arranging car hire or recommending restaurants. We had a fantastic stay here over Christmas and would highly recommend .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,544
    368
    59
    13
    11
See reviews for
506
809
122
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We arrived at The Giraffe feeling slightly jaded after a long journey but were immediately impressed by the place. Very friendly and helpful staff and an immaculate room. Everyone asks for a room on a higher floor but we ended up on the 3rd. Don't worry, the noise from the street is massively reduced by the balcony doors and the nearby lift didn't disturb us at all. A visit to New York (if you want to soak it all up) means that you won't spend much time in your room but The Giraffe is a lovely oasis to recharge your batteries. The provision of a buffet breakfast was very welcome and allowed us to have at least one helathy meal each day! Cheese and wine in the afternoon was again a nice touch but we were on the move too much to take much advantage. Have a burger in The Shake Shack on the nearby square and enjoy a great pint (with excellent bar staff) at The Old Town Bar. There are loads of similar eating and drinking places around this area of NY and it really is a nice part of town. 100% recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just returned from our bi annual stay @ HG. Q what's not to like.

Positives: great location for uptown & downtown, managers reception with wonderful nibbles & unlimited wine (being Brit this is a huge appeal:-)), complimentary breakfast, fruit available all day, rooms comfy & quiet (last visit was 701) turn down service nice touch, fridge in room useful for 2 week stay, really accommodating staff & management (even offering to get hold of & buy robe for me on their US account!) customer service second to none, DVD collection available, relaxed atmosphere, pianist in evenings, unpretentious guests, free wifi, free access to NYSC, complimentary anniversary gift...the list is endless.

Negatives (difficult but here goes): agree with review below- tv nightmare to understand how to use (& we even used to live in Manhattan too) room temperature controls flick between hot & cold very easily, DVD collection needs updating, shame no longer films pay as go service as previously available, managers reception this time was so cold we would veer towards our suite earlier than intended and wish more gluten free options available at breakfast.

Notwithstanding this, this is the best hotel I have stayed in NYC we prefer over Chatwal, Embassy suites, Hilton etc. Its personable & boutique. Stayed originally at Casablanca but prefer HG location.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Park Ave relatively quiet but the higher up your room & not on main facing road means quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Giraffe from the 22nd to the 26th December. Our entire stay was perfect. We have two children, 4 & 7, and stayed in room 1101. The location is peaceful and convenient. Madison Square Park is just a short walk away, as is Flatiron, Empire State Building, Union Square Garden, a 24-hour Pharmacy for all of your family's needs. The room was immaculate and the living area with sofa bed & satellite TV for the children was perfect. The Subway is just over the road (downtown) and two blocks up the road next to McDonalds (uptown). When you're in a City with so much to do and with so many places to explore, all you want is a safe, clean, friendly, comfortable and economical place to stay; Hotel Giraffe fits that bill perfectly. One morning at around 4 am another hotel guest knocked on our door persistently by mistake, we informed the hotel and they diligently investigated and resolved the matter satisfactorily. On Boxing Day after we checked out the Concierge looked after our luggage for the day, so that we could continue to enjoy New York at our leisure; when we returned in the snow another concierge hailed us a taxi and duly loaded our luggage. Breakfast is simple but perfectly adequate and enjoyable. The evening cheese and wine is also lovely after a long day of walking. We really would recommend this Hotel highly. Please just don't book room 1101 for next Christmas! Thank you. Enjoy...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

No doubt this was an experience of a Lifetime. I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Kudos to the staff !!! The staff was welcoming. Ambience was very nice an food was good. I will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are a family of 4 and stayed for 4 nights at the HG just before christmas. The staff were very friendly, helpful and gave the hotel a personal touch not found in larger hotels. The complimentary breakfast and evening drinks were just what busy and tired travellers need to start and finish the day. The rooms were well appointed and of a high standard. For being a city hotel it was quiet. The free WI-FI is a bonus. Would definitely stay at Hotel Giraffe again and highly recommend it to any prospective traveller wanting accommodation in a midtown location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in NY for the price. The neighborhood is great. They serve a huge buffet continental breakfast every morning with fresh pastries, eggs, fruit, yogurt, coffee, etc and have a happy hour every evening with champagne, wine and a beautiful selection of cheeses, fruit, crackers and veggies. It's very clean and modern with free internet in the lobby and wifi in the room. They also have a turn down service. Really a treat to stay here. My fear is it will become too popular!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.