We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in NY from Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sweet Savings
Ranked #5 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First time in NY from Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in the hotel having travelled from Australia to attend a conference in Philadelphia. We took the opportunity to stay (first time) in NY and see the sites. The hotel facilities and all staff were terrific. Nothing was too much trouble for all of the staff and management we dealt with. Any future trip we will certainly be wanting to stay at the Giraffe again ... 10/10 !!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,625
    380
    60
    14
    11
See reviews for
537
857
124
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel exemplifies NYC style and class. Convenient location (walking distance to Madison Square Garden and Penn Station) not far from Empire State Building and of course hundreds of restaurants and bars...don't forget 2nd Ave Deli.

Staff were friendly and professional. The rooms were a bit small but that's fine with me!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

booked The Giraffe for my birthday treat to me, and couldnt have made a better choice! Attentive staff, spotlessly clean, couldnt have been more helpful, free breakfast every morning, free bottled water daily, wine and cheese in the evening to socialise with other guuests if you wanted to, room service amazing. Could go on and on, but think youve guessed I had an amazing experience with them. Worth every penny

Room Tip: hotel on a busy intersection, so not applicable. This is New York, no quiet areas Statue of Liberty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband stays at Hotel Giraffe every time he visits NY and the children and I join him every October. The hotel is in a great position, a quick walk to lots of good restaurants and shopping. The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful. The girls at breakfast (which is a very good choice of fruit, yoghurt, eggs, bagels, pastries, cereals and more) are really lovely, always smiling and ready to help with coffee, toast or anything you ask. The complimentary cheese and wine every evening in the lobby is an incredibly generous touch, very relaxing and a great way to start your evening. Rooms are spacious and clean, beds are comfortable and bathrooms are excellent. Cannot fault this hotel and the cheerful staff serving dinner from room service during Hurricane Sandy were great! The power went out and we were left with no water but the information and help as we made arrangements to leave the hotel the following day was faultless. I highly recommend this hotel even through a natural disaster!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We chose the Giraffe as it was within walking distance from my daughter's apartment. We were treated royally for the week we stayed. I would highly recommend Hotel Giraffe to anyone wanting to feel like they are living in New York.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our Thanksgiving(family of four) visit in New York City was made even better by the Hotel Giraffe. All the positive reviews were right on target. This was our last stop on an eight day tour of colleges along the east coast. Needless to say, we were tired and my husband and I were ready for some R & R. Our first night at the hotel, we went to our room and a bottle of wine and chocolates were waiting as a welcome gift! When we decided last minute to go see a show, the concierge gave us a great website and we were able to get tickets just 2 hours before show for a great price (8 rows from the stage!!)
The beds were very comfortable, rooms were quiet and we had a balcony so we could crack the door for some cold,fresh air at night. It was fabulous! The wine and champagne in the lobby in the evening is a real plus! Breakfast in the morning was delicious and I loved having espresso and cappuccino whenever we came in from a day of touring. The Hotel Giraffe staff really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, relaxed, and feel special! We will definitely stay there next time we are in the city!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

While we had lived near NYC for thirty years we were not familiar with this Park Ave. S. area. We chose this hotel because it was convenient for business. We were more than pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the neighborhood. We loved the quiet lobby with lots of places to relax, read the paper or have a cup of complimentary coffee or glass of wine in the evening. The furnishings are tasteful and well maintained in both the lobby and the guest rooms. We had a queen room with ample space, a well appointed bathroom and even a balcony. The staff is friendly and professional. We enjoyed returning to this lovely, comfortable hotel each evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.