We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the life style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Giraffe to your Saves list
Hotel Giraffe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sweet Savings
Ranked #5 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the life style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

the hotel Giraffe is understated elegance. complimentary continental breakfast.,also a complimentary bottle of wine in your room.our room was lovely with large french doors leading to a faux balcony.the window had an electric shade.the bed was comfortable.we had a room across from the elevator. usually not the best place for sleep.but,it was very quiet.an indication of a class place with class patrons. in the evening there was complimentary wine and cheese tasting.the lobby is large with comfortable chairs.the staff is there for you. you will need to take the subway for places to see but, the area is a great place to just walk around.plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: all the room are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,707
    402
    62
    15
    11
See reviews for
565
906
126
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

.....don't take room 702 without checking the balcony door has been repaired. We just thought it was regular New York street noise until the last morning of a 10 night visit when I realised the door didn't seal correctly, which certainly gave us a few disturbed nights. A note to Peter Velk, the General Manager has had no response, which is disappointing when he emails to solicit a positive review here. But saying that, the hotel is great, the staff are great and the location is great. We stayed at the Casablanca last year which we also enjoyed.

Room Tip: Check the balcony doors seal OK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGiraffe, General Manager at Hotel Giraffe, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear chrisolum,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay at Hotel Giraffe. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our staff, as well as our sister property, the Casablanca Hotel. We would also like to thank you for bringing our attention to the seal on the balcony door in room 702. As New Yorkers who are more used to the urban background noises, this is something that could have easily gone unnoticed by our staff. We have already begun researching the best solution to repairing this seal, since providing a quiet and comfortable stay for our guests is something that we strive for. In regards to your note to me, I am very sorry to say that after searching for an email as well as a hand written note, I have not been able to locate a note from you. I would be very grateful if you could please let me know if this was a written note or an email, so I can determine where there could possibly be a glitch in my receiving messages, as I definitely do not want to miss messages such as yours. You can reach me at peter@hotelgiraffe.com, and thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention.

Sincerely,
Peter Velk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had a great time in NY and the Hotel Giraffe made our stay even better. The room was comfortable with quiet air conditioning and had everything we needed (including a much needed umbrella for the nightly downpours!). Evening drinks (complimentary) were served in the downstairs lobby accompanied by a piano player and snacks; this was welcome after a hard days sightseeing. NY is a very noisy and busy city, but the hotel is situated in a quiet spot (although I recommend you bring earplugs to drown out the noisy klaxons which you can't escape!). The staff are all friendly but not overbearing and are happy to help in any way they can. The hotel has several restaurants nearby including a good Mexican and fabulous steakhouse. All in all, a fantastic hotel and a wonderful city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

wounderful hotel. we stayed 2 1/2 weeks with our daughters 20 and 11 years old.
nice room
very good air-condition
very helpful staff
nice breakfast
very good location
near subway station
we will come back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed 11 days from Perth, Western Australia for my 40th birthday, trip of a lifetime! We chose this hotel as a friend had stayed the year before and the great rating on Tripadvisor. It did not disappoint. Room was good size by even australian standards, quiet, beautiful bathroom, great housekeeping, spotless and friendly, evening turn down and chocolates lovely. Loved the breakfast, high quality bagels, fruit salad, coffee etc., a serious bonus as we were ready to hit the streets each day straight from the hotel, no looking for food, papers were also devoured each morning. Wine and cheese in the evening so nice, staff so friendly and always smiling, like a little oasis from the busy streets and noise.
Only reason I didn't give this place 5 stars was a really little reason but important to me. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room and I do like my cup of tea in bed on holiday. The "hot water" for the tea downstairs was never hot enough, I like mine just boiled from the kettle. A minor negative especially as this was not unique for NY.
Overall an amazing holiday and an amazing hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in this hotel with our 12 years son for 8 nights. The location was great, in the middle of Manhattan. We used the yellow cabs to travel and it was very convinient.
The staff was nice and friendly. The room was average, a bit small, but clean. We liked the snacks in the bar each afternoon, was nice to sit and relax there before the second part of the day.
But... the noise!! The noise in the room during all night long was unbearable. Each family room has a large window on the Park avenue. You actually can't do nothing about that, the noise of cars, cabs, tracks, made our stay there at nights terrible.
So if you are not sensitive and can sleep in any condition- this is the hotel for you.
We would prefer a bit more quiet room next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My flight arrived 5 hours late and I had missed an important appointment. Hotel Giraffe made it all okay. This low key gem is just what the doctor ordered. The staff was welcoming and efficient. My king room was charming and very smartly laid out. Attention had most definitely been paid to the small details. The continental breakfast (incl. in the room charge) was quite good and the lobby/dining area was great for lingering over the Times. All told, Giraffe is my new favorite. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#6 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giraffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.