We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here. Too many better options” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Central Park West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Central Park West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023-4103 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #374 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Indy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't stay here. Too many better options”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

PROS
Good location for Central Park (72nd St) and AMNH. Close to B and C subway.
No insects or rodents seen.
A/C worked well, but noisy.
Internet service was great
Lots of hot water

CONS
VERY limited breakfast items and poorly done. No jelly, no cream cheese, no bananas, no apples, one day no knives or pepper. Only one waffle iron. One day opened late. Last day nothing ready on time; then cold watery eggs and 10 minutes later luke warm sausage; no pastry or rolls. Coffee late too and ran out quickly.
Room - no clock radio, no chair, no desk
Bathroom - toilet practically under the small sink. Knees hit plumbing, could not bend forward or left to wipe, shower curtain too short so water on the floor every time.

Room Tip: Stay some where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    283
    214
    113
    108
See reviews for
123
318
68
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in January this year for 5 nights. Was a decent enough hotel. Was on the 12 floor which when there is someone who hates lifts aint good. Room was small but cosy and was clean. Had no key for the safe but was sorted out quickly. Walked into Time Sq for the 1st few days but getting a taxi back was cheap enough and the subway was located a block down nice and easy.

Had breakfast there once wasnt great but ok. Maybe would stay closer to Time Sq but wouldnt have a problem staying there again and the Wifi worked well which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location of the hotel is good enough, Central Park and the metro are around the corner.
The rooms are tiny, only one bedside table, no space for a chair! No shelf in the bathroom to place objects.
Warning: the magnetic key works some day. If one comes home late, repair-man will not be available ...
The breakfast is very poor: there are not enough seats (20 chairs for a 12 floor hotel), from 7:10 we have to wait, or bring a plate to the room; no teas after 1 day, egg patties are inedible, no longer yoghurt or jams or fruit juice after 3 days !
In consolation, the room is cleaned daily, towels are replaced, and the staff is quite friendly.
In conclusion, avoid it if possible!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Spruce Grove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for four days. Loved it!
Good value , very close to Central park , close to subways restaurants and markets. Safe and clean snuggled on a residential street of classic brownstones.
The building is old . 1940 I guessed but in great shape. Has a small slowish elevator... no big waits though.
The rooms are smallish with small bathrooms but that's how they built things back then and we were more than comfortable.
The small breakfast room was small but we never had to wait and the breakfast was good .
Helpfull front staff. Pleasant late night staff . Good value . No complaints! We will stay again!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letart, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was very clean breakfast was included & was great not just bagels & coffee. Great walking distance to many great spots in NYC! Definitely would stay again. Only complaint was needing clean towels we ended up getting ourselves. It was great girls BFF trip! Have visited NYC for years but first time at this hotel. Overall GREAT!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located on the southwest side of Central Park. Subway stations are a short walk away. I booked a king bed room since I heard the other rooms were tiny. Bathroom is very small. The bed was comfortable and bedding was clean, however I do not think the carpet was vacuumed during our entire stay. I had dropped a small shelled sunflower seed and it stayed there the entire 5 days. The hallways and stairwells were also quite dirty -- there were used shopping bags left there during our entire stay.

Our room was very cold, especially when we slept. We thought the heater was not working and someone came to look at it when we left for the day, but it got no warmer. The reason was the windows were not sealed very well and there was quite a draft.

The breakfast room was very small but had hot items like eggs, bacon, and sausage; but only if you got there early. We arrived one morning at 9:00 AM for breakfast and there were no more scrambled eggs, barely any bread left, etc. We were told by the lady looking after the breakfast there would be no more food put out that day.

We paid over $700 US for four nights -- yes I realize this is New York, but for that price I expected a bit more.

Room Tip: Choose a king-size room otherwise you will feel quite cramped. The elevator is small and slow so ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was small, the furniture was well past its prime, the AC window unit plug didn't reach the outlet, there was no "in room" thermostat and the heat continued to run all night (even though it was already very warm in the room), the heat when it came up was very loud. That being said, the location is great - and really, what do you think you'll get in Manhattan for less than $150 a night? Considering price and location, it was satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Central Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Central Park West

Address: 31 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Central Park West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Central Park West is conveniently located on the Upper West Side of Manhattan at 31 West 71st Street. Approximately 1/2 block from Central Park at Strawberry Fields entrance. The Hotel is close to 5 major subway lines (C/B&1/2/3)making most all of New York City's major attractions easily accessible. Other notable landmarks in the general area include the Natural History Museum, Shopping on Broadway, World Class Dining Establishments, CNN, Lincoln Center, and the Julliard School of Music. The Hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood making it a safe and relaxing area to return to at the end of the busy day in the city. Below we have noted basic descriptions of our 4 major room types in order to help you make a more informed decision on which room will better suite your needs while experiencing the greatest city in the world for business or leisure. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! And as always we look forward to having your back! Sincerely, Andrew Brogdon General Manager ND/Double Room: (1)ONE Full Size Bed:Our smallest and best value room, ideal for singles or couples traveling light. Max Occupancy 2 Adults. NQ/ Queen Room: (1) Queen Size Bed: The queen room offers a larger bed and increased floor space for a little extra storage. Ideal for couples and singles for multiple day stays. Max Occupancy 2 Adults NK/ King Room (1) King Size Bed: Our larges and most spacious room offering either a work desk or a bistro table and two chairs. The King Room is ideal for long term stays and business travelers needs that extra space to stay caught up at the office. Max Occupancy 3 Adults with the Addition of a Rollaway Bed (Rollaway Beds are by request only and only if available) Extra$ per night Charge. NDT/Double Twin Room (1)Full Size bed and (1)Twin Sized Bed.The Double Twin Room is ideal for families needing guaranteed accommodations for 3 people and Ideal for Long Term Stays for 2 people providing extra storage areas if the Twin Bed is not used. Max Occupancy 3 Adults. Note: Due to Local Laws and Regulations Rollaway beds can only be placed in King Rooms when available. There is an extra per night charge for use of the rollaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Central Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Central Park West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
Central Park West Comfort Inn
New York City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Central Park West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.