We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, even for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Central Park West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Central Park West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023-4103 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #374 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Poor, even for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We paid for a double room but were clearly squished into one of the tiniest rooms they had. No room for cases, no wardrobe, bed pushed to the wall so had to climb over partner to get out of bed. Tiny breakfast room so had to stand eating breakfast most mornings. The location is ok subway a 5 min walk away (but there are subs everywhere) Central Park 2 mins away. The beds were comfy though, but they didn't have sheets on the duvet and there was blood stains on it. There was also hair and chewing gum on the floor. Pretty poor really, good job we didn't stay in the room for long, but I would expect a clean room even for the price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Emma S,


My apologies that your stay was not pleasurable. We will be undergoing a renovation and hope that once done you will want to consider staying with us again.

Take care,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    283
    214
    113
    108
See reviews for
123
318
68
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Good location close to subway and Central Park. Overpriced hotels considering the low overall standard. Very comfortable beds, though. Breakfast included, but of rather low standard. I would not rekommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Lina M,

Thank you for you comments this gives us something to strive for. My apologies that your stay was not to your liking. We are even more committed to make it better moving forward.

Take Care,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Upon arrival found overall appearance of room as dark, dingy and dirty. Bathroom floor, tub surround and tub floor were dirty in appearance, worn as were bedroom walls, moulding and carpet. Carpet looks as though it was vacuumed in forever and there was an unpleasant odor in room upon arrival. Furniture, specifically chairs at table, were filthy and stained. Chairs should be thrown out along with carpeting. My companion used sanitary wipes to clean all countertops and remove layer of dust/dirt. Should have checked out, but desperately needed a place for the night. Walls and moulding, etc were scratched, dirty and falling apart. Top sheet on bed (noticed the day we left, otherwise would have told front desk, just couldn't wait to get out) had old blood stains which were dried and apparently washed. Sheet should never have been reused. Spent a lot of money for one night stay and would NEVER go back or recommend to ANYONE! Will lodge complaint on various social media sources who recommend the hotel. Cannot believe the room is offered for rent for the night. On the positive side, the location is great, across from Central Park and around the corner from the Dakotas. Another note, the staff was very friendly and pleasant!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, or look at room before you stay...if possible. I would rather stay somewhere e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Amdrella,

My sincerest apologies that you did not find the accomadations to your liking. We try very hard to meet all of guest needs. We fell very short of the goal. The hotel is due for a renovation hopefully you will be back then.

Take Care,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you're looking for a place near Central Park but don't want to break your budget, this Comfort Inn is fine. My wife and I stayed there for three days and, aside from a very s. mall room, thought it was fine. And considering all of the more costly alternatives, we thought it was quite a good place to stay. The location is great. The complimentary hot continental breakfast was a good way to start the day. Biggest downside was not having a fridge in the room (no space for it) AND no ice machines on the floors -- just one in the lobby. The small room worked for us but I can see where it might drive others away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Kommissarken,

It was great having you stay with us. New York can be expensive, it's good to know that we were able to give you great stay for a great price. We hope to see you again.

Take Care,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very late and went straight to our room. Although the room was clean and nice, it was quite small. However, the staff were friendly, we had a good night's sleep, and the breakfast was terrific! We will stay here again if we return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hello Ella_Jean 78,

It was our pleasure having you stay with us. Hope to see you again.

Take Care,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Working at a hotel, you can say that I judge quickly when visiting others. I loved my stay here! It was a small room but you really can't expect other wise while in the city. The front desk staff was always nice and helpful, always making recommendations and giving directions when needed. The hotel is in a perfect location. Close to the park as well as shops, banks and basically anything you'd need.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Emily P.

Thanks for the feedback. It 's great to know that we treated like you should be treated. Hope to you see you again.

Take Care,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My elderly aunt recently stayed at this hotel. The staff was extremely warm and accommodating. Everyone treated her with respect and kindness as if she were their own grandmother. I would highly recommend this hotel for the perfect neighborhood UWS location right off Central Park West, a few blocks to great shopping and restaurants on Columbus Avenue and a short walk to Lincoln Center and the Museum of Natural History. If you are looking for comfort and a quiet neighborhood feel at an affordable price, rather than a large impersonal hotel in busy midtown, this one's for you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Barbara620,

Thank you for comments. Taking care of your aunt was a great pleasure to me and the staff. She was family to us. We will miss her singing. :)

Take Care,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Central Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Central Park West

Address: 31 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Central Park West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Central Park West is conveniently located on the Upper West Side of Manhattan at 31 West 71st Street. Approximately 1/2 block from Central Park at Strawberry Fields entrance. The Hotel is close to 5 major subway lines (C/B&1/2/3)making most all of New York City's major attractions easily accessible. Other notable landmarks in the general area include the Natural History Museum, Shopping on Broadway, World Class Dining Establishments, CNN, Lincoln Center, and the Julliard School of Music. The Hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood making it a safe and relaxing area to return to at the end of the busy day in the city. Below we have noted basic descriptions of our 4 major room types in order to help you make a more informed decision on which room will better suite your needs while experiencing the greatest city in the world for business or leisure. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! And as always we look forward to having your back! Sincerely, Andrew Brogdon General Manager ND/Double Room: (1)ONE Full Size Bed:Our smallest and best value room, ideal for singles or couples traveling light. Max Occupancy 2 Adults. NQ/ Queen Room: (1) Queen Size Bed: The queen room offers a larger bed and increased floor space for a little extra storage. Ideal for couples and singles for multiple day stays. Max Occupancy 2 Adults NK/ King Room (1) King Size Bed: Our larges and most spacious room offering either a work desk or a bistro table and two chairs. The King Room is ideal for long term stays and business travelers needs that extra space to stay caught up at the office. Max Occupancy 3 Adults with the Addition of a Rollaway Bed (Rollaway Beds are by request only and only if available) Extra$ per night Charge. NDT/Double Twin Room (1)Full Size bed and (1)Twin Sized Bed.The Double Twin Room is ideal for families needing guaranteed accommodations for 3 people and Ideal for Long Term Stays for 2 people providing extra storage areas if the Twin Bed is not used. Max Occupancy 3 Adults. Note: Due to Local Laws and Regulations Rollaway beds can only be placed in King Rooms when available. There is an extra per night charge for use of the rollaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Central Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Central Park West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
Central Park West Comfort Inn
New York City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Central Park West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.