We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Central Park West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Central Park West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023-4103 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #367 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just the job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here during our week stay in NYC, and it was GREAT. The room suited our needs, breakfast provided the basic but good food to set us up for the day, and the staff were helpful. The location was ideal for the touring of all the major sites and connection to the subway was near. Early morning walks in CP are highly recommended, especially as a cure to jet lag.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear WayneB23,

We are very happy that your enjoyed your time with us. You're right Central Park is ideal for long walks.

Thanks again for choosing the Comfort Inn Central Park West. Hope to see you again.

Take Care,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    265
    197
    103
    100
See reviews for
114
291
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and our two grown up children spent four nights at this hotel.We loved the location,it was quieter and a twenty minute stroll to Times Square.The staff couldn't locate us on the same floor at check in but offered us the choice to move the following day.We were given two rooms on the 5th floor which was great for us,we could walk or take the lift.One of the rooms was small but we were hardly in it so it didn't matter.Breakfast was served in a small dining room but we were able to take tea,coffee etc to our room if we wanted.A nice choice of fruit, yogurt, toast,egg sausage etc and the very popular waffles could set you up for a few hours!The shower was hot and the towels changed every day. Large television in rooms to catch up on the news when in and free internet was a bonus.We would definitely return,we had an amazing time!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Juliegy05,

We are delighted that you and your family were able to enjoy the peace and quiet that our location has to offer. We will always go above and beyond to ensure you are enjoying you stay.

Thank for your comments. Hope to see you and your family on your next visit.

Take Care,
Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Comfort Inn is very conveniently located just across from the John Lennon Memorial in Central Park, and a pleasant walk across the Park takes you right to Park Ave. and 5th. Since it is located in a side street away from heavy traffic it is actually rather quiet. The rooms are small but clean, the bathroom is similar. Breakfast is adequate for a hotel in this category, and the WI-FI in the lobby worked all right. Hotel staff was very helpful and took good care of us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello German_Retiree,

Thank you so much for your comments. Our location is priceless. Near great sites and quiet enough so that you sleep with ease.

Hope to see you again,

Take Care,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was my first ever holiday and a 30th birthday present. I will certainly choose the same hotel again.

So first things get the negatives sorted......

the WI-FI it works fine in the lobby area but not really elsewhere in the hotel. Its not a bother though, walk to places, use the maps!!!

the breakfast - amazing and plentiful. Do go early before 8am or expect to wait for a table like the other reviews mention. But hey its NYC! get up early it is such scrumptious sausages and egg, muffins, donuts, toast, yogurts, waffles, fruit, boiled eggs and more! If you are on a budget this is for you. You will not go hungry! Best bit about breakfast is the lovely flavoured oatmeals, english muffins and the waffle maker with blueberries!

The lift = okay so the hotel is one hundred years old!! there is only one and you will have to wait at times! Use the stairs! its good exercise! enough said!

So....this hotel is lovely!!! The manger Nicole organised a lovely surprise on arrival saving me time.her and everyone were so friendly, helpful and put us at ease and just brilliantly accommodating. The room was perfect, cosy mostly reminding us of home and the bathroom great! I loved the shower and the mini toiletries save you bring out there. Fresh clean room everyday and nice dry towels and even tided up for us a couple times thank you!!!

The lobby area was great with comfy seats to plan our day and reception always to help us plan things. The hotel location was literally right next to central park and 72nd street subway easy access to everything. Quiet hotel too and lovely temperature you could use the air con if you wanted too. Big tv in the room and coffee tea maker.

I have to say that you could not get better for your money and you use the hotel easily as a base for everything to do and walk to. We know already that when we come back to NYC we will not even look at another hotel, Comfort Inn is for us and would recommend it to anyone on a budget, quick trip to John Jay, Fordman or NYU.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

Natasha and Bill

Room Tip: Ask for a room 901. perfect size and quiet, cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear OdinUK2013,

Hope your birthday in New York was a blast. It was our pleasure to have you celebrating your day with us. The location can't be beat and yes we have a staff that will go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy every moment.

Hope to see you soon.

Cheers,
Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The rooms at the Comfort Inn were lovely and great for the price. The staff were friendly and the location is perfect- right opposite Central Park, about a 15 minute walk from Times Square and a couple of minutes walk from the nearest Subway station.

I do have a few quibbles though. The free wifi worked occasionally on my husband’s iPhone- but only in the lobby and only for a few minutes. It didn’t work in our room (on the 5th floor) and didn’t work at all on my android phone. If you wanted to use the lobby PC, it was at a cost of $1 per minute, so not worth it- so much for the ‘internet access included’!

The breakfast was basic but just what we needed to start the day- sausages, eggs, cereal, fruit, muffins and even a fresh waffle maker was provided, with very tasty blueberry waffle mix. But the room was far too small. We got a seat when we got up real early one day, but anytime after 8am and you can expect to either be sharing a table with strangers, eating whilst standing up, taking your food into the lobby or waiting in a queue until a table becomes available. Considering this hotel has 14 floors, the B&B sized breakfast room wasn’t at all adequate in size, thus making breakfast a somewhat rushed affair.

Overall, this hotel is worth the price, providing a great location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. But if (like me) you like to start your holidays with a relaxing breakfast, you can forget that and certainly don’t stop here if you need to rely on wifi. Although wifi is (theoretically) available at a lot of public places- it doesn’t work at half of them for more than a few minutes, very strange, so it would be better to stop somewhere with more reliable access.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Ikkleruby,

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. My humble apologies for the spotty WIFI we are correcting matter. As much as we would like to have a bigger breakfast room with an 100 year old building it is some what limiting. We thank you for your patience.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and make us strive to do better.

Take Care,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This may be a central location but for the standard offered - overpriced and appalling value. Have stayed in hotels around the world and this ranks almost bottom of list.
Rooms very small, cramped, dark & dingy. Bathroom minute. A/C excessively noisy and not used as sleep impossible. Ventilation in room non-existent. Filthy & worn carpets. Bed ok but a small double(4 feet 6 ins) with one side up against wall .Hotel lobby a disgrace. Armchairs have split upholstery. In need of a deep clean. Single cramped elevator. Restaurant for breakfast was unhygienic and appearance of food unappetising. Desperately needs a complete redecoration throughout entire hotel. Staff clearly not interested in guests (though working in such a vile environment not surprising). I can find nothing to commend this apology for a hotel it is a compete misnomer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Angela N.

My sincerest apologies that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay. We are schedule to renovate the property, sorry it was not when you visited. Hopefully you will reconsider us then.

Take Care,

Charlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Chose because of location to Central Park and within easy acess to other sightseeing stops. I read rooms were small so no surprise. The room was clean with nice bedding and double pillows. The bathroom seemed clean but had a musty smell. Cleaning staff was pleasant and changed towels daily. Desk staff ok, but did not offer to correct an issue with the booking of the size of room we were to occupy. We booked through a resort group so to desk staff it was not their problem. Being in New York and space limited and costly, I had to ignore the fact we were in a smaller room than reserved. Breakfast was your usual breakfast spread for a Comfort Inn which was a plus you did not have to go out for that meal. Restaurants in the area that were in walking distance were expensive. You were close to the Subways. You also walked to the end of the block to hail a cab. No parking do not rent a car. Elevator was slow, then again you were in an older hotel building. The three nights booked served our purpose for being in New York City.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPW M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Central Park West, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear CactusCaro,

It's always great to read when our guest truly have enjoyed themselves at our hotel. I know the housekeeping staff will be delighted with your compliment. New York can be an expensive trip if you don't budget properly. Our complimentary breakfast allows for the spending to be done on other enjoyable things.

We do hope to see you again.

Take Care,

Charlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Central Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Central Park West

Address: 31 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Central Park West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Central Park West is conveniently located on the Upper West Side of Manhattan at 31 West 71st Street. Approximately 1/2 block from Central Park at Strawberry Fields entrance. The Hotel is close to 5 major subway lines (C/B&1/2/3)making most all of New York City's major attractions easily accessible. Other notable landmarks in the general area include the Natural History Museum, Shopping on Broadway, World Class Dining Establishments, CNN, Lincoln Center, and the Julliard School of Music. The Hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood making it a safe and relaxing area to return to at the end of the busy day in the city. Below we have noted basic descriptions of our 4 major room types in order to help you make a more informed decision on which room will better suite your needs while experiencing the greatest city in the world for business or leisure. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! And as always we look forward to having your back! Sincerely, Andrew Brogdon General Manager ND/Double Room: (1)ONE Full Size Bed:Our smallest and best value room, ideal for singles or couples traveling light. Max Occupancy 2 Adults. NQ/ Queen Room: (1) Queen Size Bed: The queen room offers a larger bed and increased floor space for a little extra storage. Ideal for couples and singles for multiple day stays. Max Occupancy 2 Adults NK/ King Room (1) King Size Bed: Our larges and most spacious room offering either a work desk or a bistro table and two chairs. The King Room is ideal for long term stays and business travelers needs that extra space to stay caught up at the office. Max Occupancy 3 Adults with the Addition of a Rollaway Bed (Rollaway Beds are by request only and only if available) Extra$ per night Charge. NDT/Double Twin Room (1)Full Size bed and (1)Twin Sized Bed.The Double Twin Room is ideal for families needing guaranteed accommodations for 3 people and Ideal for Long Term Stays for 2 people providing extra storage areas if the Twin Bed is not used. Max Occupancy 3 Adults. Note: Due to Local Laws and Regulations Rollaway beds can only be placed in King Rooms when available. There is an extra per night charge for use of the rollaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Central Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Central Park West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
Central Park West Comfort Inn
New York City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Central Park West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.