We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good deal near central park considering NYC prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Central Park West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Central Park West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023-4103 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #366 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good deal near central park considering NYC prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I booked this on Booking.com - it was a great deal given NYC prices. For 2 people, near subway, near central park, including breakfast, we paid $240 a night - not cheap, but affordable.

The place is very small, and the room is basically a queen bed and about 2-3 feet around it to walk on 3 sides. The wash/bathroom is similarly minuscule. But it was clean, and relatively quiet

FREE internet working on all floors

Decent breakfast was included (coffee tea, make yourself waffles, eggs, some sausages, bread to toast, yogurt fruit, cereals and milk.

The elevator is slow but hey, we arent New Yorkers, we are on vacation and we have time

When we were there, people were practicing for the Boston marathon by running the NY Half marathon... I thought of those people a few days later,...

(I was there with my adult daughter .... )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    265
    197
    103
    100
See reviews for
114
291
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here last year and although it was great value, I definitely would have paid more for somewhere else if I had known what I would get. We knew before arriving that the room would be small but it was TINY and even though you don't spend too much time in it it gets really claustrophobic after a week. The bathroom was nearly as big as the bedroom though and everything was clean. Breakfast was quite good considering it was free but there's not enough seating so people ended up queuing at the lifts with their trays to eat it in their rooms. What really left a bad taste in our mouths though was at check out, when we were asked if we had used the in-room safe, and when we said we had we were told that would cost 10dollars! As the key was in the safe and we didn't have to ask them for it at reception and they had no way of knowing if we had actually used it or not, i thought this was a really sly way of making money, we could have easily said no. We also paid extra when booking online for wireless internet, only to find out that it was free for all rooms anyway. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first couple of floors so you won't be queuing for ages for the tiny el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and its very central to everything.Its in walking distance to all good restaurants.
The rooms in this hotel are small and the beds are comfy, but you don't spend much time in the room anyway. The breakfast is good.
The Staff are all really helpful and polite,i would recommend this hotel but its not 4 star remember you only get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The end rooms are a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We got a pretty good deal with this hotel. First surprise after the good price for NY standards was that the breakfast is included (haven't seen this in NY yet) and it's a good one! Eggs, breads, juice, coffee, yogurt, fruits, waffle, and more the only problem is the space so or you get early or lucky to get a table. The room was pretty ok, not very spacious specially if you have more than one luggage the bathroom also really tiny and not so clean for us (we find hair all over and wasn't ours). The staff was SUPER nice! Ahhh and Location it's GREAT! Just a few steps from Central Park, metro and many other good things! I definitely want to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was more than we expected.
The room was neatly, clean and the hotel was near by a lot of tourist sites.
The staff was very nice and helpful. The service was good.
The shower was good and also warm.
We had a very nice stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in in recent times and I stay in lots of hotels! I had the misfortune to need a hotel in Manhattan during the Easter weekend and prices were higher than usual, hence the need to book a budget hotel. Check in was fine and the two ladies on reception when I arrived could not have been more pleasant or helpful. However on Day 2 of my stay I discovered that the shower was not working and the male reception staff were less than helpful and their customer service skills are awful. The room was absolutely tiny even by NY standards, breakfast was a joke (no place to sit on each of the 3 days I was there and nothing works, the room in which breakfast is served is tiny). I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms are noisy, the elevator is inadequate and the bathroom was so small I could touch the opposite wall with my forehead whilst sitting in the loo - and I'm only 5'2"!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Central Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Central Park West

Address: 31 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Central Park West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Central Park West is conveniently located on the Upper West Side of Manhattan at 31 West 71st Street. Approximately 1/2 block from Central Park at Strawberry Fields entrance. The Hotel is close to 5 major subway lines (C/B&1/2/3)making most all of New York City's major attractions easily accessible. Other notable landmarks in the general area include the Natural History Museum, Shopping on Broadway, World Class Dining Establishments, CNN, Lincoln Center, and the Julliard School of Music. The Hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood making it a safe and relaxing area to return to at the end of the busy day in the city. Below we have noted basic descriptions of our 4 major room types in order to help you make a more informed decision on which room will better suite your needs while experiencing the greatest city in the world for business or leisure. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! And as always we look forward to having your back! Sincerely, Andrew Brogdon General Manager ND/Double Room: (1)ONE Full Size Bed:Our smallest and best value room, ideal for singles or couples traveling light. Max Occupancy 2 Adults. NQ/ Queen Room: (1) Queen Size Bed: The queen room offers a larger bed and increased floor space for a little extra storage. Ideal for couples and singles for multiple day stays. Max Occupancy 2 Adults NK/ King Room (1) King Size Bed: Our larges and most spacious room offering either a work desk or a bistro table and two chairs. The King Room is ideal for long term stays and business travelers needs that extra space to stay caught up at the office. Max Occupancy 3 Adults with the Addition of a Rollaway Bed (Rollaway Beds are by request only and only if available) Extra$ per night Charge. NDT/Double Twin Room (1)Full Size bed and (1)Twin Sized Bed.The Double Twin Room is ideal for families needing guaranteed accommodations for 3 people and Ideal for Long Term Stays for 2 people providing extra storage areas if the Twin Bed is not used. Max Occupancy 3 Adults. Note: Due to Local Laws and Regulations Rollaway beds can only be placed in King Rooms when available. There is an extra per night charge for use of the rollaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Central Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Central Park West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
Central Park West Comfort Inn
New York City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Central Park West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.