We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for an ensuite room in NY but poor standards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Central Park West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Central Park West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Central Park West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023-4103 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #374 of 464 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good price for an ensuite room in NY but poor standards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Chose this hotel as it had an offer and comes with an ensuite bathroom, Great location in Manhattan and close to the subway.
Hotel is small and with one tiny lift to cater around 20 floors isn't great. I had a Queen room which is adequate as I was travelling on my own; the room isn't the cleanest and the latch lock on the door was broken.
Breakfast is very basic with a small seating area at the back of the ground floor.
Note: Keycard loses it's data if comes to close contact to mobile phone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    283
    214
    113
    108
See reviews for
123
318
68
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The smell in the room was overpowering. Each pillow too smelt like it hadn't been changed in years. The carpet was extremely old and I could not wait to get out. There were no bath towels so I had to ring for them. Having requested towels and air fresher the staff delivered and were delightful about it but I will never stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

perth
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel at the start of september and was quite happy with my stay.
it's a good price, really close to everything. 100 metres from central park and a block and a half from the Number 1 subway line. I had a king size room, which was recommended by others on this site and if you want some extra room, i recommend it. i was happy with everything about my room and it was always clean. the staff at reception were alway friendly and happy to help. im not a breakfast person so i can't comment on the breakfast room.
i would definantly stay here again when i come back to New York.

Room Tip: book a king size room for more room. especially if your there for more than a couple days
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we chose a hotel on central park, convenient for shabbat! The rooms, being NYC are not huge but the bed was extremely comfortable, the staff were helpfull and very pleasant, they let us store our kosher food in the breakfast room (locked) refrigerator. The room was quiet and the bathroom was more than adequate,although the towels were a little worn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my partner visited New York in January we had booked this hotel because it was a good price and included breakfast which a lot of hotels in New York do not. Breakfast was really good - there was a waffle maker, plenty of cereals, fruit and yoghurts to choose from. The check in was very quick and the reception staff were very friendly, we had a room on the 8th floor the lift/elevator was quite slow but it was a lot easier than walking up all of the stairs! The room was a good size - the bed was nice and big, the wardrobe/closet was a good size, we managed to fit both suitcases in it and ALL of the shopping we did whilst there. The bathroom was basic but clean what else do you want? All you use the room is to sleep, every day we left at 9am and then got back at 11pm. We paid $5 for the safe in the room which was great as all of our money and passports etc were safe when we went out for the day. It is a 3 minute walk to Central Park - the entrance where John Lennon's memorial is, I would definately keep make sure you keep at least half a day free to wander round Central Park, the hotel is 2 stops away from the National History Museum which is a must see!

Room Tip: We booked through Thomas Cook so we didn't need to specify a non smoking room but they do still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmendingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The russian reception lady was very friendly and deserves a special praise.
The 2-bed room was absolutely micro size, the space outside of the beds gave little room for anything. But you get what you pay for, a decent night's sleep for little money 200+ including breakfast. The full "plastic" breakfast was included, but we really do not like it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I booked this hotel as it was the cheapest I could find in central Manhatten but I was concerned about some of the bad reviews I read including bedbugs, rude staff etc. I travelled alone for a city break so wanted somewhere fairly central.
When I arrived late one evening the staff were very pleasant and welcoming and checked me into a room on the 9th floor. When I got to the room it was tiny! It had a double bed, nightstand and some drawers with literally inches between them all. I couldn't lay my suitcase on the floor to open it. The window was tiny and I faced a wall – no view. I was tired from a long flight so showered and went to bed. In the morning I asked if I could be moved to a room at the front of the hotel as I was here for a week and I wasn’t going to be happy in a shoe box with no view. It wasn’t a problem at all, the moved me to a room on the 8th floor (801) which had ample floor space and 2 sets of windows with views of the pretty street below and the city skyline. The bed was comfortable and clean, great A/C unit, tv, free safe with its own key, etc. If I had any criticism it would be the tiny bathroom – but it was clean and did the job. Every day my room was made up and cleaned and new towels left.
Whenever I encountered any staff from reception to cleaners to handymen they all greeted me warmly and were helpful and polite.
The location of the hotel is fantastic! On a lovely small quiet street of brownstone houses, with central park literally a few feet in one direction and some great stores/restaurants a few feet the other direction. The subway is one block away and cabs are easy to pick up on the corner by the park. I felt safe walking round the area at night as a lone female.
I only once went to the breakfast room and it was tiny with an average selection of toast, coffee, fruit etc. Most days I walked to the corner to the café’s in the area or found a starbucks. But if you wanted the free breakfast I’m sure it would suffice.
Its not the poshest, swankiest, most modern hotel in New York but I loved my stay there and so if you are looking for a place for a city break then I recommend it. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Central Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Central Park West

Address: 31 West 71st Street, New York City, NY 10023-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Central Park West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Central Park West is conveniently located on the Upper West Side of Manhattan at 31 West 71st Street. Approximately 1/2 block from Central Park at Strawberry Fields entrance. The Hotel is close to 5 major subway lines (C/B&1/2/3)making most all of New York City's major attractions easily accessible. Other notable landmarks in the general area include the Natural History Museum, Shopping on Broadway, World Class Dining Establishments, CNN, Lincoln Center, and the Julliard School of Music. The Hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood making it a safe and relaxing area to return to at the end of the busy day in the city. Below we have noted basic descriptions of our 4 major room types in order to help you make a more informed decision on which room will better suite your needs while experiencing the greatest city in the world for business or leisure. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! And as always we look forward to having your back! Sincerely, Andrew Brogdon General Manager ND/Double Room: (1)ONE Full Size Bed:Our smallest and best value room, ideal for singles or couples traveling light. Max Occupancy 2 Adults. NQ/ Queen Room: (1) Queen Size Bed: The queen room offers a larger bed and increased floor space for a little extra storage. Ideal for couples and singles for multiple day stays. Max Occupancy 2 Adults NK/ King Room (1) King Size Bed: Our larges and most spacious room offering either a work desk or a bistro table and two chairs. The King Room is ideal for long term stays and business travelers needs that extra space to stay caught up at the office. Max Occupancy 3 Adults with the Addition of a Rollaway Bed (Rollaway Beds are by request only and only if available) Extra$ per night Charge. NDT/Double Twin Room (1)Full Size bed and (1)Twin Sized Bed.The Double Twin Room is ideal for families needing guaranteed accommodations for 3 people and Ideal for Long Term Stays for 2 people providing extra storage areas if the Twin Bed is not used. Max Occupancy 3 Adults. Note: Due to Local Laws and Regulations Rollaway beds can only be placed in King Rooms when available. There is an extra per night charge for use of the rollaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Central Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Central Park West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
Central Park West Comfort Inn
New York City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Central Park West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.