We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astor on the Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astor on the Park to your Saves list
Astor on the Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #370 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and it was not as bad as everyone made out. I read the reviews before we arrived so I suppose it prepared me for the worst but I was pleasantly surprised. We got clean bedding and towels every day and had hot running water day and night. The staff are friendly and are willing to help with any questions you might have. The deli on the corner was an added bonus and again they were very friendly (bit of advice if you are looking to buy rose wine go to a liquor store about 4 streets up as its alot cheaper). Like a previous review said there are alot of good restaurants near the liquor store - the Indian was superb as was a place called Henrys. If you are into Jazz there is a place called Smoke which has live Jazz plus you get dinner for $29.99 we had a fantastic night and the food was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again as I would rather use the money I saved from a more expensive hotel to enjoy myself. The only cons were the air conditioning was loud but we just turned off our radiator and didn't use it plus it can be noisy at night but it would be the same if you stayed in a hotel more central. There are so many sights to see that you are hardly in your hotel so what is the point of paying over the odds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    407
    352
    135
    108
See reviews for
183
423
66
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is in need of some TLC or just good maintenance but it is clean and we were happy to use it as a base for sightseeing in New York. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The view from our 10th floor Central Park room was lovely and made up for inside.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I've just returned from 5 days in NY with my Mum, and 4 nights staying at this hotel. I really cannot understand why it has been given such bad reviews. The price you pay when booking this hotel indicates that it's not 5* luxury but it's nothing like the terrible reviews it has had. On arrival the doorman came out of the hotel and wouldn't let us carry our bags in - he then started chatting about our visit with us. The lady on reception let us check in early and she was so nice.

Our room was basic but clean, with two double beds. The bathroom was also clean with a decent size bath and a very hot shower. There was complimentary shower gel/soaps etc. The maid came in and cleaned every day. There was plenty of wardrobe/storage space too. To be honest, for the amount of time spent in a NY hotel room then it really doesn't need to be spectacular.

The hotel is literally on Central Park's doorstep - first foot out of the hotel door and the park is right across the road. The subway is 2 blocks away so easy within walking distance and I didn't feel at all unsafe using it.

I would recommend a small restaurant called Fredericks which is to the left of the hotel and about 5/6 blocks away, crossing a couple of busy roads. We found it by accident and I'm glad we did - It has very friendly staff and the food is lovely (so is the prosecco if you've had a long day walking and need a refreshment).

I would go back to this hotel if I'm ever fortunate enough to return to NY for a third visit. I genuinely don't think it deserves some of it's negative comments. If you want more money to spend on sight-seeing/food/beverages then the Astor suits just fine

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for five nights, at a rate of about 1/3 of what everything hotel in Manhattan would cost. Our room was small but clean with a good bath and hot water and a huge bed. We liked the proximity to the subway and the bus from the airport. We also liked walking to Park West, the little Turkish place a block away in the morning for our coffee and a friendly visit with the owner.
So it's not fancy at all, but if you are in New York and just need a basic place to sleep and shower I would recommend this place as a good way to save money on lodging. It is very conveniently located to the subway. You can take the bus from LaGuardia for a few dollars and walk to the hotel from the bus stop.
There are other much nicer places to stay In Manhattan, but for the price we payed and the money we saved, i will stay here again. If you want frills, a fancy lobby, a bar, room service, etc, don't stay here. Pay $300/night and stay elsewhere.
.

Room Tip: The other reviewers said to ask for a room with a view of the park, which we did. The views aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in (that is considering that I am used to staying in hostels). The room smelt bad, there was constant noise coming from the plumbing and the interior of the room was extremely old and a bit dirty. We paid 500 USD for 3 nights and were extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. We were initially booked into room 711 but were disgusted with it. The bathroom floor was dirty and the basin cracked. The room smelt damp and musty and overlooked what looked like a junkyard. The bedroom furniture was broken and the carpet was filthy.The room was too small, which we could have lived with if not for all the other faults. We didnt stop and complained to the front desk. She initially said we couldnt be moved but when I insisted she said she would move us to a family room. We then moved to room 1011 which was bigger with a kingsize bed and single bed and overlooked central park. However, the main bed had a metal pole sticking out of the bottom covered by a valence sheet which I cut my leg on. The carpet again was dirty and the room had a musty smell. The windows were filthy and blinds were broken. We couldnt open the windows and the air con unit was very noisy. However, the bathroom was clean but very small. We figured this was as good as it was gonna get shirt of checking out completely and going somewhere else, so we stayed. The lift was painfully slow and tiny (you couldnt fit more than 4 people in it at a squeeze) we went to use the stairs but they were dangerius with no handrails and some steps were cracked.

The hotel is close to the subway and there are a few nice restarants and convenience stores withina few blocks about a ten minute walk.

However, as a couple in our early 40s we found this hotel to be totally inadequate. We were expecting it to be akin to maybe a travelodge or premir travel inn, but found it to be more like a dirty hostel.

I would not stay here again. If you can afford it, pay a little more for something clean and more comfotable.

Room Tip: If yiu have to stay here, avoid room 711 at all cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

it is a normal hotel of new york.
Small rooms, but the beds are enormous and comfortable. the position is strategic because near to the metro and in front of central park. I have slept in this hotel for 5 nights, in a very cold period and unfortunately there was a problem to the heating the last 2 nights.
the laborer is kind and helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astor on the Park 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.