We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Astor on the Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Astor on the Park to your Saves list
Astor on the Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #374 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We're used to staying in basic hotels, but the room we were given at the Astor was depressing. The walls are scuffed, the fictures and fittings loo rather beaten up. The room was on the fourth floor it looked out over the park, but the windows were so dirty this wasn't much of an advantage. The a/c unit was badly fitted into the window and was so noisy that we couldn't leave it on at night. The bed was large, clean and comfortable and the room wasn't as small as some we've stayed in in American cities. The bathroom was the high point, clean and modern. However as another reviewer has commented the hot water can be issue, I scalded myself when it suddenly went from warm to very hot. The cleanliness of the room overall was fine, but the carpet was very dirty. The Astor is a long way from anywhere decent to eat, unless you want basic fast food, the exception is the local deli a block or so north which does decent breakfasts and Turkish food in the evening. The hotel is close to the subway and it's easy to get downtown, that and the proximity to Central Park are the main plus points. I get the strong impression that there's a real mix of rooms at the Astor, looking at some of the photos posted here it could be a different hotel to the one we stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    424
    363
    142
    117
See reviews for
191
449
73
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I obtained a fantastic rate for at this hotel a short stay in New York. I had stayed here before and knew what to expect. Location right on Central Park, 3 blocks walk to the subway. It takes about 20 minutes to get to midtown. Staff are helpful. But the hotel is tired and in great need of refurbishment. As a place to lay your head, fine. No in-house breakfast facility, but there is a deli inn the same block.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you’re looking for a clean, convenient and economical hotel, you may want to check this one out. By no means is it fancy, but it is located just a few blocks from the C train that takes you downtown to where lots of action takes place. I didn’t get to explore Central Park (literally across the street) or the surrounding neighborhood too much. However, I felt safe walking to/from the subway at night. It is located in a quiet Upper West Side neighborhood – within walking distance to Harlem. It is not near Times Square, the Theater District or any of the more popular tourist attractions. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I went with a friend for the long July 4th weekend and they told us exactly where to go for the best view of the fireworks and suggested a great neighborhood deli to get snacks. I would definitely stay there again, even on a solo trip.

Room Tip: Hotel has typical NYC size rooms - very small with a view of "the building next door". I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It's basically in Central Park and pretty close to the Subway (should you feel game enough, keep hand sanitizer handy!)

No park views, small room, friendly staff, no free wifi (you have to pay $10 and its mediocre at best) - the worst part is a lack of a fridge in the room, would have been great to keep some water bottles etc cool.

Does everything a basic hotel needs to, not like you're going to be spending your whole holiday in the room anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at midnight in the new york rain the hotel seemed pretty far away for the new york we expected. However the sun shone after a good sleep and we realised we were on the west side of central park with a good view of central manhattan.
Hotel is basic but just what you need in my opinion. Comfy clean and great shower.
No services in the hotel really. Just the room and some vending machines. Staff ok.
All in all. A great time in new york with a base which was good enough and at a budget price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

A hotel that is across the street from Central Park. A good value in New York City. The people that work there are friendly and nice.
It reminds of a European hotel. Small elevators and rooms. Needed help to know how to get the shower head to work.
The room only has about 10 TV channels. The reception isn't good.
Only 1 key for the room.
They allowed us to check in early. Very good with answering our questions.
Not a hotel that I am used too. If you want a good value in Central Park, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a quiet friendly place we needed. Friendly staff and good location. The subway is nearby. Rooms are small but this is expected in NYC. We had to switch to a different room due to noisy air conditioning, the staff were happy to offer a better one. Would stay here again unless Ritz or Roosevelt can match the rate :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.