We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Central Park and Subway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astor on the Park

Save Saved
You added Astor on the Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astor on the Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #358 of 453 Hotels in New York City
MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Convenient to Central Park and Subway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you’re looking for a clean, convenient and economical hotel, you may want to check this one out. By no means is it fancy, but it is located just a few blocks from the C train that takes you downtown to where lots of action takes place. I didn’t get to explore Central Park (literally across the street) or the surrounding neighborhood too much. However, I felt safe walking to/from the subway at night. It is located in a quiet Upper West Side neighborhood – within walking distance to Harlem. It is not near Times Square, the Theater District or any of the more popular tourist attractions. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I went with a friend for the long July 4th weekend and they told us exactly where to go for the best view of the fireworks and suggested a great neighborhood deli to get snacks. I would definitely stay there again, even on a solo trip.

Room Tip: Hotel has typical NYC size rooms - very small with a view of "the building next door". I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    395
    326
    131
    95
See reviews for
173
400
63
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It's basically in Central Park and pretty close to the Subway (should you feel game enough, keep hand sanitizer handy!)

No park views, small room, friendly staff, no free wifi (you have to pay $10 and its mediocre at best) - the worst part is a lack of a fridge in the room, would have been great to keep some water bottles etc cool.

Does everything a basic hotel needs to, not like you're going to be spending your whole holiday in the room anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

On arrival at midnight in the new york rain the hotel seemed pretty far away for the new york we expected. However the sun shone after a good sleep and we realised we were on the west side of central park with a good view of central manhattan.
Hotel is basic but just what you need in my opinion. Comfy clean and great shower.
No services in the hotel really. Just the room and some vending machines. Staff ok.
All in all. A great time in new york with a base which was good enough and at a budget price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A hotel that is across the street from Central Park. A good value in New York City. The people that work there are friendly and nice.
It reminds of a European hotel. Small elevators and rooms. Needed help to know how to get the shower head to work.
The room only has about 10 TV channels. The reception isn't good.
Only 1 key for the room.
They allowed us to check in early. Very good with answering our questions.
Not a hotel that I am used too. If you want a good value in Central Park, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a quiet friendly place we needed. Friendly staff and good location. The subway is nearby. Rooms are small but this is expected in NYC. We had to switch to a different room due to noisy air conditioning, the staff were happy to offer a better one. Would stay here again unless Ritz or Roosevelt can match the rate :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel was clean and tidy all be it a little basic. The position is fantastic; just on the edge of Central Park; close to the metro and we were even able to attend a free concert at the local cathedral around the corner put on by the New York Philharmonic orchestra. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: the rooms on the higher floors have balconies which might be quite nice. We had a lower floor. Bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just been there for a few days ago for a couples of days visit. Booked the room through hotwire (for around 160usd/night) and this could possibly be the biggest mistake I've done.

The hotel itself was small and fairly runned-down, located in end of upper west side. The room DOES NOT include free wifi (10 bucks a day!) and is much below average. the only upside with this place is the distance to Central park and subway. Dont expect anything more than that..and no, I'm definitely not going back to Astor after this stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Astor on the Park 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.