We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astor on the Park

Save Saved
You added Astor on the Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astor on the Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #356 of 449 hotels in New York City
swindon,uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A budget hotel but great staff and clean rooms. Decor in the room was basic but comfortable. Ideal hotel for those on a budget.

The hotel is on Central Park West and 106th, so it is quite a way up on the park but take a walk down Central Park West and enjoy the sites or catch the train from 103rd.

I enjoyed my stay here, it was warm, comfortable and I felt safe, couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    381
    313
    127
    92
See reviews for
166
384
59
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here in Oct 2012. The hotel is basic but eveything you need for a sightseeing holiday where you don't spend time in your room. The room was basic but this is reflected in the price. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom clean and functional. The hotel is right across from Central Park and our room was overlooking the park. The subway is two blocks down and very easy to navigate. There is a fantastic cafe two blocks north which looks a little run down but has fantastic breakfasts and free wifi (and an ATM). Our room was cleaned every day, fresh towels, clean linens etc. The information folder in the room is really helpful, definitely worth taking the time to read. If you walk two blocks west there are great bars, pubs, restaurants,pizza joints along Amsterdam, worth the walk. Prices here are much more wallet friendly than the tourist bars downtown. This hotel is ideal for anyone wanting a nice hotel in a safe area without paying through the nose. The staff are helpful and we always felt safe walking to the subway, pubs, deli's etc. There is no safe in the room, no tea/coffee making facilities or fridge/mini-bar but this is to be expected in a no-frills hotel. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom but it is not the best. We found this hotel to be everything we needed. Would we stay here again? Probably not but that is purely because now we've done the 5 day tourist blitz holiday (where your hotel room is purely to leave your luggage and to sleep at night after an exhausting day of sighseeing!) next time would be a more leisurely visit so we would look to stay somewhere closer to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I went to New York for our two year anniversary. We booked a room at the Astor for the 3 nights, because of the price deal we found ($189 for all three nights on hotwire) do yourself a favor and pay a little more for something nicer.
The main problem was the noise that started up at midnight on our first night. This was the 6th floor. It sounded like something (or someone) was hitting a metal pipe with a hammer right above our room in the ceiling. It was loud and wouldn't stop. About 1:30 we had enough.
I went downstairs to the front desk and asked the two guys working about what the noise was. One of the men was on his personal phone and turned his back to me. The other man had a crappy attitude and seemed bothered I was addressing him about the noise. He said he knew about the noise, which was boiler pipes clanging together. I told him they should fix it, or they're going to lose business - and his response was that's the noise had been an issue for years and the management wouldn't fix it! (I hope that the Astor management/owner read this. At this point I had to request another room because the man didn't bother to offer it. - So we moved in the middle of the night to the first floor, which was quiet, but small as a closet and nasty, looked like a hooker stop off. - We were suppose to stay two more nights but checked out in the morning - and went to the Gershwin (which was great!) - I hope Hotwire refunds our $ for the 2 nights we didn't stay! (..to read more see my next review.. ran outta room)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were here for three days and two nights for a quick birthday trip. All in all, it's a perfectly fine place to stay if you're not looking for luxury and plan to spend most of your time out of the room.

The good:
The staff was very kind and helpful. They let us store our luggage for a few hours between checkout and when we had to leave for the airport.
We arrived a few hours before check-in and our room was already prepared.
We had a room overlooking the park and you cannot beat the proximity to the park itself.
No bed bugs! The room showed some signs of wear and tear but the bed was overall clean enough.
Nothing to do with the hotel but we met a couple of very sweet ladies from Ireland who were leaving as we were checking in and they gave us their week-long Metro Cards that still had a couple of days left. So sweet!
The room was small, as expected, but they still managed to fit a few drawers, a small armoir, and a desk and chair in there.

The not so good:
There is one small elevator for everyone including the staff so you may wait a few minutes only to have the doors open to reveal a housekeeper taking out a floor's worth of garbage.
I feel like this is my complaint everywhere I go but there were not enough outlets. We had one phone charging on the floor under the window (only available outlet) and one in the bathroom. You may find it worthwhile to throw a small power strip or something in your bag to make things easier.

As far as the location is concerned it's right by the park, which is great, but pretty far north and in the evening it's fairly quiet since it felt like a more residential neighborhood. You'll need to take the subway a lot. If you have a smartphone I highly recommend buying the "CityTransit" app - it has maps and line info and we used it constantly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in mid December, It is a fair way up Central Park near the Cathedral. The only problem we had was with the taxi drivers, they hated driving that far out, I guess all the fares are in Manhatten. Hotel basic, but am led to believe that hotels in New York for this time of year are horrendously expensive. In any event, was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was spotless, I am a clean freak and was really pleased. The staff couldn't do enough, they were helpful, informative, friendly, everything you could hope for, they booked the minibus back to the hotel for us and it collected us from the hotel to Newark $45. We had a cab when we arrived at it was double. We were really pleased and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days and i must say the best part about this hotel is the staff. They were extremely accommodating, welcoming and helpful during our entire stay. The hotel is located right across from Central Park which is a big plus and looks soo cute from the outside.
However the inside is another story.

There really isn't much of a lobby but there is more sitting space downstairs in the basement area where the computers are located (however there is NO free wi-fi). The hotel is very small with a very petit apartment type feel. There is only one elevator which can fit at the most 2-3 ppl and can be veryy slow!!.

The rooms... Extremely small and fits literally just the 2 beds, and has barely any walking room. I think our heater was leaking because the floor was wet on a constant bases. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was veryy clean. The cleaning lady.. I think she prob did a full clean of the room every other day b/c it was obvious that certain days she just came in and made the bed.

Anytime we called front desk for towels, ice, help with the heater, extra glasses, etc, they were always happy with a positive attitude and willing to help.

All in all we really didn't mind the tight squeeze and lack of services because we really were just there to have somewhere to sleep, shower and get dressed. Overall it was an enjoyable stay because it was clean and the staff really made us feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went to Astor on the Park Dec 8th 2012 for 3 nights stay.The Hotel is located North part of Central Park on the west side between 106th - 107th street facing the park.The hotel is very basic and need of updating especially the interior as it is a bit drab and dated.The room is small but clean and has the basics, tv bath/shower but no tea/coffee facilities ,there is no bar or any drink / eating facilities within hotel.
The price for room was very cheap compare to other hotels more nearer to Midtown where the shops ,Times Square ,Rockerfella's etc are located so you need to either take Cab ( $10-15 ) or subway ($2.25 one price anywhere) to get to there .
We only used the room for sleeping really left at 8am and got back about midnight so room was ok as we spent very little time in the room.
Would I go back to this hotel ,the answer is No as it is to far from all the sites we wanted to see ,would I recommend this hotel to friends again No .I woukld recommend people to stay in hotel more south of Central Park .

Room Tip: Room facing Park but get higher level to over look all of Park ,quite during night . Recomend that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Astor on the Park 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.