We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Martinique on Broadway

Save Saved
You added Radisson Martinique on Broadway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 15%
Ranked #217 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Rather than stay close to the airports while travelling through New York, we elected to go into the city. We have not used this property previously, but found it highly suitable as it was close to major attractions and stores. The greeting was polite and highly professional, and the room was a "deluxe" room and extremely well appointed and fixtured. All staff we came in contact with, from the doorman to the housekeeper were keen to make sure we had a nice stay. There was NO noise, and traffic to and from the airports was not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    627
    227
    101
    72
See reviews for
495
351
113
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

I stayed 7 days in this hotel. I paid about $ 250 for 3 people in the same room. I made payment advance, and received vouchers to be presented at the front desk at the time of check-in.

I will try to put as much information as possible for everyone. Also took some pictures to illustrate better.

Room: The room is not large, it's normal size. They do not have a policy of 3 twin beds. I was upset because I made the reservation (agency travel) for three single beds, which did not exist. The room is ideal for maximum 2 persons. Three or more, will be very tight.

Important Notice: Don't have minibar inside the room. On each floor has a machine selling beverages and water, the cost for $ 3 each.

Bed: Very comfortable. Excellent. Bed Linen & Quilts very soft. Wonderful.

Bathroom: It is also not big, but it is a reasonable size. Egyptian Towels for optimal absorption. Shower it's very good too. It has a hairdryer, cap, free soaps and shampoos. Inside the bathroom, has a coffee machine with 3 sachets of coffee, replenished daily.

TV Room: I had difficulties to make it work. has over 15 channels in HDTV, and is 32 inches.

Phone Room: 1-800 For phones, they only charge 0.50 cents per call, not per minute. Have public phones in the hotel lobby.

Maid: In my room, I didn't locked nothing and nothing missing. In my case, was highly reliable. Always I arrived the room was very well-done, and was not touched in private items.

BellBoys: They are very professional and efficient. If you get to the hotel too early for check-in, leave your luggages with them and get off to tour the city until the time of check-in. Your luggages will be safe in an private room, without access for guests. Do not forget give tips for them. For a taxi, you can talk with them too, that they will provide the same time.

Safe: Don't have inside the room, just at the front desk. But it is individual.

Reception: Many here, write bad reviews of the front desk. But, what you pay, you receive 100%. If you want a plus, something unusual, hardly chances of you get. They do not get a smile on your face for free. I want to mention that everything, what I needed and paid, I received, and nothing more that this. Just that you paid and nothing more.

Business Center: It has 7 computers with free Internet in the hotel lobby. Have printer for free too. Are 15 minutes for each guest. But are busy all the time. Just sit, wait, and done.

Location: Sensational. Has absolutely everything around the hotel. Stores, Deli's, Fast Food (All Brands), Shopping, and much more. It has an entrance/exit of 34 Herald Square station, 10 meters from the door of the Hotel. Simply amazing that.

Times Square: 20 minutes walking. It is only one metro station to came (34th to 42th) It's easy and practical to go to any Times time of day or night. I think was so far, but I was wrong. It is near the hotel. Trust me. I came back walking from Rockefeller Center (51th) to the hotel without tiring. That's why I say the perfect location of Hotel.

Security: In Manhattan, security is very high. Do not you feel insecure any second. Cops on every street. You can walk to Metro and walking in safe in Manhattan any time. I do not guarantee outside Manhattan, like the Bronx, Harlem, Queens. In Manhattan, you're protected 24 hours a day.

Taxi: There's in front the Hotel. Are $ 50 to go to JFK.

Check-In: Really is 16:00. I got the 15:30, but I think that was luck. Check-Out is 11:00.

Breakfest: My reservation, had not included the breakfast. The cost is $ 15 per person. In region of the Hotel, there are many options for taking a breakfest, good, and priced well over down if you compare with the Hotel. It has all the Fast Foods at the corner of 5th. Avenue. Delhi's had a lot too. And have the Speed's Deli, on corner from the hotel, which serves Breackfest, Lunch and Dinner. Food very good and cheap.

Information: In this Hotel,have a lot of airline crews. I saw KLM, Swiss, and others. I saw too, a large groups of Brazilians. It's very commom big brazilian groups. I'm talking of groups of 20 or 30 people. These groups arrive and depart daily. If you have the misfortune to find them during check-in can cause problems, and consider some delay to ckeck-in or another question.

I recommend this hotel to everyone.

I hope this review helps someone.
Cheers

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMartinique, Online Marketing Specialist at Radisson Martinique on Broadway, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Thank you for your comprehensive review of the Radisson Martinique. We appreciate your comments and are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Just a quick note to let you know that since your stay in March, we have added a personal safe to each room so that guests no longer need to utilize the front desk safe. Again, thank you for your review and we hope that when you visit New York City again, you will choose the Radisson Martinique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

This hotel is located around the block from the Empire States Building and within walking distance to Macy's, Times Square and other attractions. An entrance to the subway is literally right outside the door - right outside! There are hundreds of restaurants and shopping all over the place.

It's not right in the middle of the Times Square actions, but Times Square is only two subway stops away and a relatively short walk.

I was most impressed with the room. It was a very large room for Manhattan. It was clean. All you really care about in Manhattan is a clean, quiet room because you intend to spend most of your time out and about.

I plan on staying at this hotel whenever I come back.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Great location close to the Empire State building and also the Metro system.
Easy to get around from the hotel all the tourist areas eaily accessed from the area and Macys a 2 min walk for all that important shopping
Hotel clean and tidy rooms like most New York hotels of an adequte size ideal for the sight seeing but quite noisey due to its central location
Recepti,on staff did their job but didnt put themselves out when we arrived e.g. when we booked in staff provided us with keys and no friendly greeting or directions as to where to find lifts etc very unusual for the US where service with a smile is the norm .
Perhaps the management need to do some customer service training as the front desk is your first experience of this hotel.
Bell boys etc were the opposite very helpful and friendly
I would receommend this hotel to anyone including family as the hotel is good value for money but would warn them that reception is not a good first impression

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Have to agree with nearly eveyone, the staff are so off, we took the attitude that it was better than the other place we had been stopping at in NY and we tried not to care about the ignorant staff. We are going to stay there again later this year and again will ignore the rude staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I travelled to NY and stayed in the Radisson Martinque for 3 nights in February with 2 family members to shop, we booked one room and i have to say the price was excellent for the location, i would definitely stay there again, yes the rooms were small and we had a view of a wall but who cares when you are in NY, we were only in the room at night to sleep. The room and bed linen were clean and that is all the mattered to us. The location is ideal, subway outside, macys around the corner as well and Gap, American Eagle, Zara etc. The resaurant was lovely, very reasonable for breakfast, i reccomend the "eggs any style with bacon"!! It was great to have free internet access in the lobby area aswell. Check in and check out was very quick and easy also. Also on West 35th St, there is a lovely bar and grill called Brendans, very reasonable and does gorgeous food for lunch and dinner. The TV in our room didnt work but apparently this was because of the weather and satelitte on the roof as there was heavy snow during our stay. Overall i would recommend this hotel for people who wish to explore NY and are not looking for a fancy 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

The hotel itself was lovely and in a fantastic location for exploring New York, but the rooms were extremely tired (and small) with limited facilities for the price... and that was with a free upgrade to a junior suite! The attached diner served great food and the staff were very friendly. The view was a bit disappointing (from our room at least)

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Martinique on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Martinique on Broadway

Address: 49 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#150 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Martinique on Broadway 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with French Renaissance exterior & traditional interior, housed in building dating from 1897. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Martinique on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Martinique On Broadway Hotel New York City
Radisson Martinique Broadway
Radisson Hotel New York City
Radisson Martinique Hotel
Radisson New York City
New York City Radisson
Radisson Martinique New York
Radisson Manhattan
Holiday Inn Martinique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Martinique on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.