We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming Hotel in very convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Martinique on Broadway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Martinique on Broadway to your Saves list
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #193 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Bandar Seri Begawan
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Underwhelming Hotel in very convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My one night stay at Radisson Martinique after a long flight from Singapore, was to say the least underwhelming. From the unimpressive hotel entrance, to the public areas which are in great need of an overhaul and refurbishment. Service was patchy, and a far cry from the service slogan of the Radisson hotels "Yes I can". When I asked to borrow a power adapter for my mobile phone charger, I was told Housekeeping did not have any, and I could buy from the lobby shop.
The room I got on the 18th floor was decent enough, but this is definitely at best a 4 star hotel in need of sprucing up
However, if its location you are after, there is much to commend this hotel: just next door to subway, on same street as bustling Korea town, minutes away from Empire State Building and NY largest Department Store MACYs

Room Tip: This hotel has over 500 rooms so many must be small dark and pokey. Choose a room on the upper level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    879
    303
    115
    90
See reviews for
696
507
142
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I got this bidding a discount website didnt know what to expect. An old hotel (Landmark) but impeccibly restored. The room was somewhat small(not tiny) but very-up-to date, bathroom stocked with upscale amenties The staff was very pleasant. It's on a very busy street packed exclusively with Korean restaurants.....not an issue for me but a VERY busy street. In all I was very satified with my experience. Definitely got my money's worth.

Room Tip: Low floors likely to be a bit noisy...I stayed near the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Hotels location is possibly the best thing. Its right on the Broadway just next to the Herald Square subway station in Korea Town. Its less than 10 minutes waling distance away from Penn Station and Empire State Building and also very close to Times Square. there are some good parks nearby and also the subway connects to almost all parts of the city. We were able to go to Central Park and Brooklyn Bridge with no necessary changes. The staff is very welcoming and professional. Check in and check out was quick and smooth. All other staff members in the Housekeeping and Front of the house staff were friendly.
We had a twin double room and while the room was spacious (for New York) the toilet was tiny and we mean tiny. for a family room we could not fit two of us and if one was using the toilet then the other could not pass to to to the bath or shower. the room itself was very comfortable and the Kruig coffee maker was a nice touch. free WIFI was provided for free. We had a room only option and would not be able to comment on hotels breakfast but there are around 3 eating options - Brassierie Petit Poulet, Martinique Cafe, and a Korean Restaurant. we had dinner in the Brassieria and it was an alright experience but the the lunch in the cafe was ruined by over eager table cleaners. there were about 4/ 5 of them who just kept coming to the table and trying to take our unfinished plates away. we heard that the Korean restaurant was an award winner but we dint get a change to dine there. Instead we tried some places outside. there is an excellent Bakery by the name of Tous Les Jour who dees great sandwiches, there is also Hanok Food Gallery for some inexpensive korean and other oriental food from various stall holders. there are some good breakfast places (we tried the bakery again and also a place on the corner which i think was called the speedys where you pay for buffet by weight but with great options eg lots of fruit and yoghurt as well as the usual fare).
there is not a lot to do in the hotel for kids abut once outside there is plenty of open spaces and parks nearby. i would recommend this hotel for a short stay and for the location but get the feeling that with some research and luck there might be better option specially for a bit more kid friendly place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked this hotel when our existing booking in another hotel had gone belly up due to liquidation! We were travelling to NYC as we both turned 30 a few months previous. We told the hotel of this the week we were due to arrive and they arranged an upgrade before we had even arrived there. On arriving , we were delayed for hours with flights etc and arrived about 7 hours later than planned. So we were wrecked at this stage. How delighted were we when we got to our room on the 17th floor. Our executive room on the penthouse floor was massive, we were used to small NYC hotel rooms so anything bigger than this would have been welcomed. What we got was brilliant, massive couch / lounge area with couch and armchairs, big flat screen tv , king size bed and lots of floor space and looking out at Empire State Building. And we also arrived to two birthday cakes waiting for us in our room. A lovely touch after a very long day.

We also got free breakfast included which was very good as very big choice. Had something different every day and quite easy to have a healthy breakfast. We also got two complimentary drinks every day in the bar which we didn't expect. Rooms were cleaned and made up on a daily basis and ice machine just outside.

We got a call from Lorrie during the week to make sure everything was going ok with us and to see if they could help us in any other way. Something else which was a lovely touch.

Location was unreal, walked most places and just around corner from Macy's, what else could I ask for.

Yes the lift was slow but being on the 17th floor in that wonderful room we didn't care in the slightest. A small price to pay.

Thank you Radisson Martinique for a wonderful birthday and stay, customer service was second to none and I can't speak highly enough of you. Ye made our stay a memorable one. I was even contacted a few days after I got home to make sure we were pleased with our stay. Will definitely return and recommend you to family and friends.

Eileen & Ger

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

First of all, the location of the hotel is very convenient. It is literally just next to Macy's so an ideal spot if you wish to go shopping. The Empire State Building is also just round the corner. It is located in Korea Town so loads of spots to get food if you fancy Asian food. Actually, the location is so good that I ended up walking to all the attractions I was planning to see.

As for the hotel itself, it does feel a bit swampy. You can tell the building is not brand new and might need some refurbishment. I stayed on one of the top floors and the lifts were so slow that sometimes it would take a longer while to reach my room. The room would sometimes smell funny but I'm guessing that's because the building was quite old. I wouldn't recommend breakfasts as they were very fatty and not very tasty (far different to what I was used to after travelling in Europe).

Overall, I still think it wasn't a bad hotel Going to New York it is all about the location and this hotel definitely ticks this box. However, don't expect a very high standard or spacious rooms.

Room Tip: Top floors tend to be more quiet than the bottom ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is New York. Think Europe. Tight spaces are a norm, so your room will be small - especially the bathroom. The friendliness of staff was good. The hotel restaurant was decent, but wouldn't recommend. There are other better and cheaper places to eat around the location. The gym was good (new looking).
The walls are thin, could hear the neighbors flushing and showering. The ice machine could be hear down the hall. However this is New York.
The bathroom smelt of urine when we entered. Leave a tip and a note for housekeeping for extra service - they deserve it.
Occasionally there a complimentary apples in the lobby that were brilliant. It almost offsets all the negatives.

Room Tip: Choose a higher level preferably facing the 33rd street is you don't want views or noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nothing. Martinique Radisson is Fake Radisson. This hotel is actually not Radisson. All guest rooms look like Holiday Inn or Clarion. Authentic Radisson usually provide Sleep Number beds or top quality beds. There is a huge issue with access to free internet and elevators. Poor quality wifi and poor quality room decor. There is a lack of creativity and innovative design that may leave us unforgettable memory or experience. Nothing wow!
There they usually turn their rooms temperature to morgue level temperature. We had HORRIPILATION!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraWilliams, Manager at Radisson Martinique on Broadway, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Greetings from the Radisson Martinique,

It was disappointing to learn of your less than satisfying stay.

Guest sleep quality is very important to us. As a brand, Radisson has moved away from Sleep Number beds to offer a more traditional mattress option. Within the past month, most of our Sleep Numbers have been replaced with the Radisson brand approved Simmons Evernew Pillow-top mattresses. While we still offer a select few Sleep Number’s most will be eliminated by the end of 2013. Along with these changes, we are also in the process of adding photography, additional in-room lighting, and new hallway carpeting through-out the property.

Regarding your room temperature, each guest has full control over their thermostat. A room should only feel like a morgue if that is your preference, never if it is unwanted. We are attempting to locate your room to review our system. Since we record the temperature within each room and maintain the history, we are able to isolate problem units and make any necessary adjustments needed.

I am truly sorry you were uncomfortable during your visit. If you wish to discuss any additional details of your stay, please contact any of our Front Office Managers, available 24-Hours a day.
Sincerely,

Tara Williams
Radisson Martinique Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Radisson Martinique on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Martinique on Broadway

Address: 49 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Family Hotel in New York City
#151 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Martinique on Broadway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with French Renaissance exterior & traditional interior, housed in building dating from 1897. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Radisson Martinique on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Martinique On Broadway Hotel New York City
Radisson Martinique Broadway
Radisson Hotel New York City
Radisson Martinique Hotel
Radisson New York City
New York City Radisson
Radisson Martinique New York
Radisson Manhattan
Holiday Inn Martinique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Martinique on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.