We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“FAB!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2006

After many months of searching for a hotel, I came across this website and settled on this hotel. THANK GOODNESS!! For the money this hotel is lovely, excellent location, good service, fab breakfast, we had a huge room with 2 double beds. We ate in the hotel on our last night as the snow was too deep to go out! We found the food, despite a rather select menu to be very good value and the service was great. We also went to the Marriot revolving bar and found the drinks to be very over priced and the service terrible. I would not advise anyone to go there.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    997
    192
    51
    34
See reviews for
447
1,301
99
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2006

We have just returned from our first visit to New York and the Hotel Metro is a great place to stay.
It is only 10 minutes walk from Times Square, 1 minute from Fifth Ave, and about 100 yards from Marcy’s.
The staff at the hotel are really friendly and helpful and the complementary breakfast is lovely.
When we go back to New York (which is soon i hope as it is a most wonderful city to visit!)we will definitely be staying at the Metro!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

Booked this through lastminute and to be honest it was ideal... great location... great staff... really clean and a pleasure to stay.
The whole nyc thing is not about the hotel but this will offer an excellent standard without breaking the bank... and your right in the middle of it! Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2006

We stayed at the Metro from 20-24 Jan 2006 and had a fabulous time. Check in was quick and easy, the room, while not large was adequate for our needs. There was an in room fridge, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and the heater was effective but quiet. the bed was really comfortable and when we asked reception for some extra pillows they arrived within minutes. The shower was excellent with really good water pressure and constant hot water. The room was cleaned and made up to a high standard every day

The complimentary breakfast is really good, it is an 'all you can eat' buffet of cerals, toast, bagels, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, pastries, croissants, tea coffee and juices and it really sets you up for the day. There is also complimentary tea and coffee served all day

The location can not be beaten, 1 block from the ESB, 1 minute from Herad square and Maceys and a 5-10 minute walk to Times Square.

Thanks to all the staff at he Hotel Metro for a lovely stay at your hotel, we would defiantely return

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2006

I stayed at the Metro at the end of November 05 while on a 4 day shopping trip with my mother. The location of the hotel could not be better. One street away from the Empire State Building and Macy's just down the street.....Excellent! Also, with the subway literally a minute's walk away at the corner of the street, you could be at your next destination within minutes.
The hotel itself was above average for what is classed as a 2/3 star hotel. We paid a little bit extra to stay in a double deluxe room, which was a great size, with two comfy double beds and plenty of room for our luggage, and all our extra shopping bags!
The decor in the lobby was lovely - I really liked the art deco style. The free breakfast (bagels/cereal/muffins/toast/fruit/yoghurt/danish pastry) was fantastic too - and really set you up for a day of sightseeing and shopping! And the all day free tea/coffee was great aswell.
Overall we were delighted with our stay in the Metro. The hotel staff were always friendly, pleasant and very helpful with any queries we had. I would undoubtedly stay at the Hotel Metro again, and have already recommended it to several friends!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Metro for a week in January 2005 for our honeymoon and to be honest, there wasn't another hotel we'd have rather stayed at unless we had a bottomless pit of money, then the Plaza or Waldorf would've been nice.

We had a penthouse suite on the top floor which was comfortable and warm, but not quite what I would consider a suite. It did have the advantage of being down the corridor from the roof terrace, which has a fantastic view of the Empire State Building and overlooks Macy's.

A 'help yourself' bagel, pastry and muffin breakfast included in the price is good and coffee on tap 24/7 was a blessing. We didn't use the restaurant or bar so I couldn't comment on them other than they looked nice. The other facility we bypassed was the gym - just too exhausted after all the sightseeing.

Renovations on the lower floors and, at the end of our stay, the lounge, didn't really cause us any problems as we were out most of the time. The only real problem we did encounter was a blocked toilet, but this was fixed immediately and efficiently. We found the staff a little abrupt but again, we were out so much this didn't really bother us.

What really makes this hotel is it's location. Situated on West 34th between 5th Avenue and Broadway it's within touching distance of Macy's (which has a fantastic restaurant in the basement) and Herald Square, a 2 minute walk to the Empire State Building and a 10 minute amble to Madison Square Gardens, the Flatiron, the Chrysler Building and Times Square, to name but a few. We walked pretty much everywhere due to it's location. Central Park is a 30 minute walk up 5th Ave, taking in the Rockefeller Centre and some fantastic shops on the way. A bus from Herald Square will take you down Broadway to Battery Park via Union Square, Greenwich Village, Noho, Soho, Little Italy and the Financial District. For swifter travel there's a subway station at Herald Square, and Penn Station and Grand Central are both a short walk away.

For those wanting luxury and finesse this hotel wouldn't be a good choice, but if you want a fantastic location and an inclusive breakfast for not a lot of money, Hotel Metro is ideal.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

I was really pleased with this hotel. It is in a great location, 2 mins from Macys, and the Empire State Building a stones throw away (great view from the roof terrace). When we first arrived the room we was given was really tiny, we could'nt even get into the wardrobe, but when I asked for a change of room there was no problem and we was given a larger one. The staff were very helpful and friendly, even giving me an umbrella when it was raining. Tea and coffee are avaliable all day, and the continental breakfast is served until 11-30am. Maybe the rooms could do with a little 'cheering up' but it would not put me off staying there again. There is a large T.V in the room with at least 20 channels, and the rooms are cleaned and towels changed daily. They will store your luggage for you of you have a late check out.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.