We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - had everything we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 458 Hotels in New York City
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent - had everything we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our second stay at this hotel and we have found that it has everything we need. It's location is close to TImes Square and round the corner from Fifth Avenue. Macy's is a Stones throw away.
Staff are helpful, the concierge knowledgeable and the rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished. We stayed on the 12th floor and it was quiet .
Breakfast is more than adequate - a good choice of tea, coffee, fruit juices, yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit, bagels, pastries and muffins.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    996
    192
    51
    34
See reviews for
446
1,298
99
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Cannot recommend this hotel enough have visited others but would always choose this one if available, nice rooms, great location walking distance for shopping, main attractions and shows. Very helpful Concierge. Free continental breakfast in morning and coffee available all say. Excellent look forward to visiting again next year.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

In the ideal location from which to explore this fantastic city. I stayed here last week with my wife and daughter and don't have one word of complaint.

Positives are the rooms which are all you would need for a city break, the breakfast which is more than ample, with the choice of a hot breakfast for a small supplement of 6 dollars and the gum and roof terrace which has clear views of the Empire State Building . You are two minutes from Maceys and have the underground/subway at the end of the block. As bases go this is ideal and you won't be disappointed.
I don't have any negatives but the fact that the rooms don't have baths is a small point to note.

Room Tip: The higher the room the quieter you will find it at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Antrim, N. Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in this hotel back in September and only getting to review it now.On arrival we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite which was lovely spotlessly clean and very comfortable .it was a short stroll to Macy's ,Empire State Building ,and Fifth avenue and 10min walk toTimes Sq. So excellent location .The views of the Empire State Building from the roof top bar were amazing.the staff were friendly and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was a bonus would definitely recommend it and would stay here again when we return to New York.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester,new york
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed here many times. All the rooms have been updated with new linens, spreads, pillows etc. now upscale. Coffee/tea 24/7 so most rooms do not have/ need a coffeemaker. Rooms are quiet. Typical breakfast- yogurt, juice, cereals, that and huge bagels. Bananas, apples and oranges are offered. James, the concierge, was most helpful. Very close to Herald a Square-subway, Macy's and Lord and Taylor.. Empire State Bldg. Is just a block away.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not a very fancy hotel, but it had everything we needed! Free wifi, a very good bed and it was very clean. The location is great. Close to everything you need. The staff was very service minded and nice. We will definitely come back and stay here!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a bad experience with a 'posh' hotel in NY so when we returned a few days later we stayed in The Metro. At check-in the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was quite basic but spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The location was perfect and the rooftop bar a fantastic area. I will definitely return on a future visit to NY.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#131 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.