We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed in the Metro for 4 nights in at the start of July. Its a nice central hotel, 2 mins, if that, from Macy's Department store.

The staff are lovely and really helpful and the rooms are nice. The rooftop terrace is beautiful, with an amazing view of the Empire State building. I didn't realise that it had one until I had arrived. Its that nice that I have asked if I could have my wedding ceremony up there.

I ate in the Metro Grill a few times and really enjoyed my meals. I will definitely be looking to stay in the Hotel Metro again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    930
    188
    50
    33
See reviews for
413
1208
96
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Metro for two nights and we enjoyed the full length of our stay. Located near the Macys and Empire State Building, Hotel Metro is the perfect place to say in Midtown. It's clean, affordable and includes a bagel/muffin breakfast (no meats or eggs). The staff kept our luggage for us on our last day which was super convenient. We parked in the garage less than a block away and got a discount since we were hotel guests (we paid $54 for two days). We would highly recommend this place!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just came back from a 4 night stay here.Perfect location to get everywhere we walked to all the main attractions no problem.The complimentary breakfast sold this Hotel to us and it was great to start the busy day ahead.Lots of choice for a continental breakfast and I could see you could also pay for a cooked breakfast if u wanted.The terrace and the view of the Empire State was lovely especially for a little drink in the night time.Concierge was so helpful more so than the front desk and recommend a lovely Thai restaurant called pure was amazing honestly the best meal I had in ages! It was on 9th avenue where there was also lots of other restaurants a bit cheaper than 5th and 7th.This restaurant was on 51st street honestly anyone in to Thai food I would highly recommend this! The room was quite basic wasn't anything special but was so convenient and the bed was so comfortable we had the best sleep every night.Would stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed a week in July 2014. Everything worked pretty well for us. They kindly upgraded our room, handled any requests well and the foyer staff were very nice.

A good feature of this hotel is the two internal stairways throughout the hotel. This means it's very easy to get between floors without having to wait for a lift. Quite handy if you're on a high floor and want to get to the roof top terrace or if you're on a low floor and want to go out.

The roof top space is quite nice. It's always open. The Empire State Building looms nearby which is kinda cool. Be very wary of buying drinks up there though - the prices are very high! (I think the bar is open approx 5pm to 10pm Monday - Saturday).

Some of my friends at Hotel Metro booked queen rooms and their space was tiny. Not much room other than the bed. Don't expect spacious accom unless you're prepared to pay for a 'suite'.

Distance to the subway (34th St Herald Sq) is only around 150 metres. The mid town location makes it very handy for lots of the tourists destinations (eg. Macy's, Empire State Building, Times Sq, Broadway).

There nearby bars are quite average. Mostly Irish type bars and pretty boring. Brandan's bar across the street pours particularly flat draft beer - yuk!

Overall, we had no problems at Hotel Metro. Nothing too great, nothing really bad either.

Room Tip: I suggest a high level room so you have easy access to the roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great location close to many sites...excellent view of Empire State from roof top. Staff were very helpful...the concierge Glenn was terrific helping me get my lost bag back. Great breakfast. Bathrooms were lovely and rooms spacious (we had 2 bedroom apartment). Loved our stay. This is my third visit to New York since 1996 and it just gets better and better!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I booked this hotel because it had a family room which could accommodate myself and 2 friends.
The hotel was flawlessly clean, well decorated, the room size was generous and the two bedrooms, bathroom and little fridge / sink area in the hall worked well. The elevators were clean and always working (something you don't always get), the location was AMAZING, a 2 minute walk down to Macy's - plenty of bars and restaurants around, subway entrance near by and an easy walk to Times Square where many tours pick up. Besides the perfect NY location (and reasonable price for what it was) - the real jewel of the hotel is the rooftop bar. The roof has a clear view of the empire state which is impressive in the day and amazing at night.

Check in and out was easy and painless, the doorman was friendly and on point and happy to hail a cab when needed.

Unusually, I have not a single negative to mention about this hotel and strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a great location, decent price and beautiful view in New York City.

Room Tip: facing away from the street. my room was facing away and was a little more quiet than the room my tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here 5th-11th july. Our room was teeny tiny and basic (as expected in NYC) but very clean and shower was great. We viewed it as a room we would only be in for sleep in so didn't need anything fancy - plenty more things to spend your $$$ on in NYC.

Breakfast was fine, great given that it was included. Nice bagels and muffins.

We never really used concierge services. He did get us a price for tickets to see Rocky on broadway - $199 each....got them at tkts for $75 each.

Rooftop bar was a bit of a disappointment from what we had seen online, not open on a sunday (day we arrived) and i never enjoy a wine in a small plastic cup. ( you can get plastic wine glasses) It was pricey but we didn't mind too much. We did however quite enjoy sitting up there on our way home to our room each night. View might not be the best in NY as one reviewer suggested - however we really enjoyed sitting in the shadow of the empire at night and seeing what colour she was lit up as....which when we were there reflected the colours of the independence day and then each of the world cup finalists on the day they won their semi!!

we would stay again! location is good and doormen and reception staff are lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.