We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I booked this hotel and stayed mid March, it is excellent, the staff are all brilliant, the location is ideal close to subway which we used a lot so easy. The breakfast was very good and the Metro Grill restaurant was very goos so we ate there most nights. Would not hesitate booking your stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,473
    1,055
    206
    52
    34
See reviews for
479
1,410
104
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed for 10 nights in Premium queen room, rooms were in excellent condition, staff were very friendly and helpful, in particular the porters & doormen. The contintental breakfast was a life saver early in the mornings. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday, and it was great. the hotel,is Art Deco style, rooms very comfortable with fridge with cold drinks. the Metro Grill was really good,we ate there most days as food so nice and we didn't have to trek around looking for restaurant. Breakfast was included and it was fine, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, pastries and giant muffins. The staff in hotel and the grill were excellent. the hotel is a very good location, near to Macy's, Empire State Building, grand Central station plus the other main ones too. Definitely would go back to hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great place, excellent staff... professional and friendly, great food, clean and tidy. Big comfortable bed... Within walking distance to lots of places - Time Square, Madame Tussauds, hard Rock Cafe. Beautiful view of the Empire State building from the roof top terrace. Short cab ride to the Rockefeller Center. Best little irish bar a couple of doors down. loved everything!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a 6 night stay at Hotel Metro. One of our main reasons for our trip to NYC was to watch the New York Knicks ( NBA basketball) at Madison Square Gardens, and this hotel is just a 5 minute walk away.

Our first night we had a room at the front of the hotel it was Saturday night and rather noisy, we requested a room change, which was quickly worked out by the helpful reception desk.

The hotel has free wifi and complimentary breakfast( a useful saving). New York hotel rooms tend to be smaller than elsewhere but our room was more than adequate.

It should be mentioned that there is a subway station at the end of the road ( 34th Street Herald Square) and an excellent Irish Pub Sports Bar about a few yards down the road. For those who plan to spend their time shopping in NYC, Macy's is no more than a 2 minute walk.

On our final day the hotel was happy to store our luggage so we could make the most of our time. All in all I'd have no hesitation in booking the Hotel Metro on. Future trips to NYC.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Great hotel in perfect location. Rooms are good size and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially doorman.
Constant access to coffee was great after a long day sight seeing. Would definitely stay here again .

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor by lift and never heard any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very well run, clean and comfortable hotel in an incredibly convenient location. The breakfast is just right - simple and tasty, but doesn't eat into your day. Coffee on tap all day is a bonus. We had a double attached to a double double for our daughters and both rooms were spacious with huge TVs, a massive walk in shower, and view of the Empire State Building. Can't really fault this place, and would highly recommend it for a short break in New York.

Room Tip: The higher the better - New York is a very noisy city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#48 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.