We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in the Hotel Metro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Rotherham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in the Hotel Metro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have just returned from a five night stay in New York and stayed at The Hotel Metro on 35th Street. Fabulous location for all the sights. We were upgraded upon our arrival as it was my 50th birthday present. We were on the 3rd floor and our hotel room looked straight out at the Empire State Building! The room was big, warm and clean with really comfortable beds. We used the lounge for breakfast every morning which was good value, lovely staff and it certainly set us up for the busy days ahead.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York for its location. I would also recommend getting a New York Pass, it saved us a fortune. You must see Lion King on Broad Way, it’s excellent!!!
Our trip was wonderful and I would love to return one day. We would certainly come back to this hotel! A big, big Thank You to all the Metro staff

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    994
    192
    51
    34
See reviews for
444
1,296
99
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Excellent location and really comfortable hotel. Loved the art deco styling. We were upgraded from a twin bed to twin with double bed so our room was palatial by NY standards and the beds really comfortable. Found the heating in the room a little hit and miss and a bit noisey and the lack of tea coffee making facilities was a little disappointing but as these where readily available downstairs it wasn't a problem. The staff at this hotel are really helpful and if you are there during the warmer months theres a great roof top bar with fantastic views of the Empire State Building (sadly wasn't open when we visited). Breakfast is continental style but theres plenty of choice and everything is nice and fresh. Enjoyed a couple of cocktails in the hotel bar on our last night and again very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, Nr Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife & I recently visited New York for the first time, as a retirement present from her employers of the last 29 years (approx.). We were there for 4 nights and the location of the hotel could not have been bettered. It is situated approx. 100 yards from Maceys store and there were numerous good quality restaurants and bars within walking distance, (Barneys across the road was one that we used on a couple of occasions). Apart from the free continental breakfast, we declined from eating in the hotel, so were unable to judge that aspect, however the staff were very friendly and helpful and there was a rooftop gallery which offered excellent views of the Empire State Building which was also in close proximity. If we return to New York, we would certainly consider returning to this establishment as it ideally placed for both the Uptown and Downtown tours, the hotel was very clean and our room on the first floor was very comfortable. Tip: breakfast area gets very busy, so try to get down before 9.00.

Room Tip: I am led to believe that the rooms on the 11th floor are fantastic, unfortunately none were availabl...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was our first trip to New York and could not fault the hotel in anyway. The staff were great, the room was just what we needed clean, just the right size and they mini fridge was good.
The breakfast was more than we expected and kept us going all day and there was more than enough choice to choose from. The Metro Grill for lunch and dinner was really good and served a fab glass of white wine to relax after a long day!!!!!!!!
Location PERFECT :-) subway at the end of the street, MACYS round the corner, Empire State building 5 min walk and about 10 minutes walk to the Times Square.
Would not hesitate to recommend and will definitely be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you can get rooms on the higher floors the better - but not recommended to use the stairs all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

First visit to New York so was very pleased with the hotel, fantastic location, very comfortable room, the whole hotel was very clean, great Art Deco style interior, all the staff were very helpfull, food was well presented, breakfast was great and bar area very nice. We stayed for 3 nights,also free safe in room was a nice touch, normaly have to pay for this and free room to store luggage on your last day, priceless, we will be booking this hotel next time for our future visits to New York, cant wait

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for the fourth time this year. We love coming here and we hope to use this hotel again next year as long as the airline company have it on their list. We do hope so. Thank you to the staff. No complaints whatsoever and such a great location.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Check-in was easy & quick. The room was spacious & well decorated with a good sized bathroom. The complimentary breakfast was an added bonus. Very close to Macy's and only a 10 min walk from time square. Would definitely stay here again when visiting New York.

Tip: the breakfast area does get very busy so if you're an early riser best get down prior to 8:30am

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.