We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect New York Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Metro to your Saves list
Hotel Metro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect New York Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Hotel Metro. The rooms were lovely after a hard day's walking and shopping, the bed beautifully firm and the bathroom simple but full of everything you need to freshen up. The Hotel itself is in a perfect location for everything New York. Broadway is two blocks up, 5th Avenue shopping one block down, Grand Central is a ten minute walk, you're close to the metro on 33rd to get either uptown or downtown and there are abundant diners, cafe's and bars surrounding the hotel. Best of all was the roof-top terrace and bar. It is overlooked by the Empire State Building and the view of it (especially at night) is glorious. What surprised us the most was the free 'continental' breakfast: toast, marmalade, bagels, muffins, fruit and cereal were all available as well as the obligitory coffee and juice.
Best of all was the service. This was a trip for our combined 50th birthdays and the hotel went out of their way to leave a small present and a card in the room wishing us many happy returns. Whenever we asked a question the staff were always friendly,courteous and willing to help. If (no, when) we return it will definitely be to the Hotel Metro.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,342
    996
    192
    51
    34
See reviews for
446
1,299
99
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was lovely and in a great location. We got a good price through booking.com. although at first it appeared we were getting a room with a double bed (for my husband and myself!); didn't know hotels even used that size bed anymore. Was told via email that there were no rooms with queen/king beds available. however, when we checked in, we were told "we are being upgraded to a king". Room was very nice. not too small, considering it is NYC. The only complaint is that the free breakfast is pretty bad! Carbs and disgusting coffee. Had some yogurts and fruit, although only had yogurt with fake sugars and/or fat. and only had full-fat milk to use on cereal. The second morning we went out to a wonderful place (a french bakery in Korea town)....will post that review .

Room Tip: we asked for a room "in the back"; which looked out at the backs of other buildings; but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I would recommend this hotel... The outside of the building is lovely also the reception area is beautiful... Rooms were a little tired but lovely size only real moan would be the air con was a little noisy. Staff were always helpful. Breakfast was included in the stay and was more than sufficient to get you set for a day of sight seeing.

Excellent location for all round sight seeing in New York would highly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recommend this hotel highly. We picked it for its art deco credentials and will definitely use it again. The building is very handsome. A little tired perhaps in places, but thats what you get with a period buidling. Extremely clean and tidy. Staff were friendly (not always the case in New York we quickly found!) and efficient, and not 'in your face'. Breakfast was plentiful, but the down side was a limited choice and very carb-heavy. Air con was very noisy and impossible to leave on at night, which was a problem, as it was 35 degrees when we arrived, but we opened the window and that helped.
The roof top terrace is a must-see, both by day and by night - we took some great photos of the streets and the Empire State Building.
Location is just about perfect. Close to Times Square without being right in the madness, very close to Macys, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building. Get a street map and you can walk over all of Manhattan if you are so inclined (we walked to Battery Park and back one day).
When you check out, if you have most of the day to use before going to the airport, you can store your bags at the hotel for collection later, which was much appreciated.
We had a fabulous holiday and this hotel definitely contributed to that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for my husband's 50th and could not have picked a better location. It is mid town on 35th Street slap bang between 5th Avenue and Broadway. The Empire State Building is on the next street and out hotel room looked directly onto it which was stunning lit up at night. The hotel also has a roof top bar and terrace with spectacular views of the Empire State.

We walked almost everywhere simply to enjoy the views rather than being stuck in a taxi or the subway. The city is so congested with traffic that we found it quicker to walk, certainly during peak times of day. Times Square was only 10 mins as was Maddison Square Gardens and shopping on 5th Avenue. Grand Central Station and the Chrysler Building were only 15 mins (and we weren't walking at a huge pace!) we also walked to the Flat Iron District and on to Greenwich Village which was lovely and again only took about 20 mins.

The hotel itself is in the Art Deco style with the elevators, mirrors, lamps etc. everything was spotlessly clean and the hotel provide maps and are very helpful with information. We had paid a little extra to book Premier Queen rooms which was worth the money as they were slightly larger and had wonderful coffee and tea making machine in room plus a fridge with complimentary water and soft drinks. Also they are on a higher level - we were on the 9th floor so you are higher up from the street noise. Our room also provided Gilchrist & Soames shampoo, conditioner, soaps and body creams plus fresh sheets and towels every day. The hotel staff work very hard to keep everything lovely for the guests.

Breakfast was included in our deal and was worth the money as it meant not having to go out and find somewhere which eats in to valuable sightseeing time. There were at least 6 different types of bagel to choose from plus toast, jams, cereals, muffins, pastries, yoghurts, fresh fruit, fruit juices, tea and coffee. These were replenished constantly. As we were up early and out of the hotel by 7.45am we rarely saw many other people, however on the one morning we had a lie in and went for breakfast at 8.30am it was incredibly busy - still enough tables but queues for the toasters etc., so you need to be up and out early. Everything in New York seems to open early. We were in the Empire State for 8.10am and had the views without the queues but by the time we came down 2 hrs later, the queues were already backing up.

We can also recommend the NY City Tours with the hop on, hop off buses. They do different routes around different districts and are very informative. We stayed on the main one taking in lower Manhattan and this then gave us a good feel of where things were located and what to go back and see on foot. The tour guides are incredibly witty and knowledgeable so you end up finding out a lot of facts you may not have known.

Our only complaint if you can even call it a complaint is the traffic noise. Because we were at the front of the hotel we obviously had the stunning view of Empire State but were woken almost every night at about 3am with the refuse lorries clearing the street debris and rubbish sacks from the pavements. The hotel may be double glazed but not sound proofed! Apart from that we were extremely happy with the location and facilities of this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend. We would most certainly consider staying there again next time we visit NYC. The hotel rates are reasonable but it just happened that we visited at peak time and in the middle of the United Nations Assembly when all hotel rooms seemed to be at a premium! Also the price of drinks in NYC was high compared to UK prices. You can buy beer at certain outlets but not wine - this can only be purchased from a liquor store - there is one reasonably close by near Macey's. The hotel do not mind you having this in your room and the fridge came in handy. They also supply ice on the penthouse floor.

There are plenty of eating places within walking distance of the hotel but if you fancy going further afield, a taxi was in the region of $6-$7 to get you approx 15 blocks in either direction.

We cannot wait to return, it was truly wonderful.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are worth the extra few dollars per night as higher up from street noise and a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Over the past five years myself twice, my wife five times and my daughter four times have stayed at the Hotel Metro and on our latest trip from August 28th to September 11th we booked a King sized room for my wife an I for the first week and as we had booked a Premier Double Double for my wife and daughter for the second week they kindly upgraded us to the premier room so that my wife would not have to move rooms. We had excellent service from all the staff especially to my wife, as i left on the 3rd and my daughter didn't arrive until the 4th.
Being absolutely honest we would not stay in any other hotel in New York as the rooms are spotless, the beds so!! comfortable and it is central to all the main shopping and close to all transport links for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on 11th and 12th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were in NYC from September 16-19, 2013 and we had our socks blown off by Team Hotel Metro. From initial outreach by phone to their website's "Contact Us" I chose their email option and immediately got a response from Mr. Frank Troy, who proceeded to answer all of my questions and concerns about early arrival, etc. While he couldn't honestly guarantee an early arrival check-in we could drop our baggage and start experiencing NYC he said. On our arrival, from the doorman, Matthew to Dana at the front desk, the seamless, best guest relations experience continued, when we were allowed to check in to an upgraded Premiere suite on the 11th floor, it was awesome, and shortly thereafter our housekeeper knocked on the door with a goody bag of sodas and water for our room. The complimentary breakfast is no ordinary, day-old bagel and dried cream cheese and call it a continental breakfast type, but well stocked, fresh items, beverages. And the staff in the breakfast room were constantly present, cleaning and assisting. The staff in the bar area were magnificent, and the hotel was spotless throughout and couldn't be in a more perfect location in midtown, close to transportation in any direction. Am I a future return guest, you bet!

Room Tip: I can't imagine getting a bad room in this hotel. There is construction going on but noise was d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#131 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.